We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exceptional Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Helios Costa Tropical
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Almunecar
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Exceptional Hotel”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I`ve just got back from two weeks at this hotel with Saga. We were lucky with the weather (18 - 22 C in December !) and with this excellent hotel. My room was quiet, very clean, the bed was comfortable, the food was really good - a plentiful buffet with lots of variety. The level walk into Almunecar takes 15 minutes and is delightful. As a solo traveller I felt perfectly safe here and will certainly hope to return. The hotel provides a range of activities for those who wish to be entertained. I particularly enjoyed the Spanish dancing and the cultural and historical talks. People come back to this place and this hotel year after year. I can understand why.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 650Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    279
    123
    21
    13
See reviews for
188
420
37
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

A lovely clean & modern hotel paid extra for a sea view room well worth it the only thing to let it down was the food nice freshly made soups & deserts but main courses we're let down by being Luke warm also using instant mash breakfast not much better cold bacon beans sausage scrambled egg & mushrooms although some nice fresh fruit & warm croissants.We would stay again but maybe eat out .

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a perfect situation, near to town (15 minute stroll along a very pleasant promenade) and with excellent sea views. The sunsets from the west facing rooms were just amazing but those rooms only get sun in the late afternoon. The rooms very but are clean, comfortably furnished and very pleasant. The heating, when eventually put on, was very efficient in the evening, less so in the morning. The t.v. has BBC1 and 2 and ITV1,3 and 4.
As has already been mentioned by others, the hotel really lets itself down with the evening meal. There are two sittings and allocated tables which means that you could be seated with less than congenial company and would be afraid to ask to change because of the head waiter's attitude which seemed to be that he could run the restaurant perfectly well if it weren't for the inconvenience of customers! More Fawlty than Manuel. His bad-temperedness seems to have infected the rest of the waiting staff who, with the exception of one young woman and a Saturday waiter, were unsmiling and surly. There were actual rows between the staff during meals! You'd mind less if the food were better but, with a couple of exceptions, it was very bland and often unappetizingly presented. It was also frequently mis-labelled. There was nothing for vegetarians unless they eat fish. At lunch a buffet is available at extra cost but there are very good cafes near-by.

Having grumbled about that, I plan to return as the area really is very pleasant with the chance to visit Malaga, Ronda, Granada and some wonderful countryside trips to the National Park and towns like Competa. But next time I shall use the hotel as a B and B - my package was cheap enough - and try some of the tempting local restaurants in the evenings.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peregrine_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Excellent position for accessing restaurants and bars. Receptionist spoke English. Checking in was easy. Parking is free at the side of the hotel in October. Our room, 411, had a view of the sea, spacious with ample storage space. The bathroom was modern with two deep drawers under the basin for storage. Bath was difficult because the shower screen was the sort that didn't open at the right place to get at the bath taps. The swimming pool area looked very clean and inviting.

One of the reviewers has described breakfast like a holiday camp. Absolutely. There is plenty to eat, particularly if you like pastries and bread. There is a separate hot food area.

Overall this is a very pleasant hotel to stay in. Saga recommends this hotel which explains the age profile. Don't expect everyone to be tucked up in bed by 10.00 pm because they certainly are not!

Almunecar has an excellent variety of restaurants and bars. No-one bothers whether you just want a drink or a meal if you occupy a table. Most waiters speak some English.

Room Tip: Those with sea views are definitely worth paying a bit extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Henri10_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

What a lovely hotel. I have stayed in 4 * hotels not a patch on this.
Just a warning though, this is a Spanish resort for Spanish people, not many speak english so brush up on your basics, although there is a gentleman on reception in the mornings ( don't think he is Spanish) that will help with anything.
It was definitely worth paying for a sea view room, fabulous. Massive balcony with table and chairs plus sun loungers. We had room 607, room 606 looked even bigger.
No kettle, so take your own.
The food was continental but we never starved, you are in Spain after all.
The sea front is busy in the evenings with people out strolling. Drink prices cheap although avoid the one about 200m to the left of hotel, young man serves, next door to chippy. Everyone charges around 4 euro for 2 beers, he charges 8!!!. He only got us the once.
Red wine great and the supermarket around the back of the hotel you can get great Rioja for €2.65. Result
All I all great holiday

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waldrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Chose this hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and we are very pleased with our choice. Hotel is clean and bed comfortable, our room was 804 and I would recommend this room as we have a lovely view of the sea over the road and a large balcony with 2 sun beds and table & chairs. The bathroom has good sized walk in shower & clean towels daily, pleased to have a fridge but wardrobe is very small. All guests seem to be Spanish but us, but that's ok with us. Breakfasts are busy but there is a small dining room off the main area which is much nicer and quieter. We hired a car and parked it in the underground car park over the road & bought a card for a week's parking - you need to obtain the card from the attendant who is only scheduled to be there between 9.30-13.30 but the reality is that you need to telephone the emergency tel no for him to appear & he doesn't speak English so be prepared. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Would recommend room 804 as it has walk in shower and large balcony with sea view, certainly worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyholidays090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

After finding our first choice Hotel fully booked we looked at this as an alternative but were not disappointed. The position was excellent, close to the centre of town and the busy promenade, directly overlloking the beach which was a 2 minute walk.
The room was a good size with all facilities available (although wifi didn't work too well in the room). It was clean and tidy, with good levels of fixtures and fittings. The mattress was somewhat soft so didn't get a great nights sleep.
The restaurant was a bit like a holiday camp at breakfast with many people to negotiate to get to the food, which was typical mass production fare, and some a bit too greasy.
The Hotel was full of Spanish people on their holiday weekend break, so the high numbers may have impacted the experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almunecar hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#12 of 24 in Almunecar
1,249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
2.7 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#4 of 24 in Almunecar
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sol Los Fenicios
Sol Los Fenicios
#2 of 5 in La Herradura
351 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bahia Tropical Hotel
Bahia Tropical Hotel
#7 of 24 in Almunecar
616 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Caleta Bay
La Caleta Bay
#1 of 5 in La Herradura
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helios Costa Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helios Costa Tropical

Property: Helios Costa Tropical
Address: Paseo de San Cristobal, 12, 18690, Almunecar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Almunecar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Almunecar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Helios Costa Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, HRS, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Helios Costa Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helios Costa Tropical Almunecar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing