We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Helios Costa Tropical
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Almunecar
Certificate of Excellence
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Helios in Feb this year as we have done so 8 times before. The Hotel is situated right on the sea front and an easy walk along the front to the Town of Almunecar, a deligtful friendly town. The Hotel rooms and areas are clean and spacious and the staff are friendly, especialy the games organiser. Meals are all buffet not exactly 5 star but adequate.
The Hotel is very reasonably priced and I would say good value for money,

Room Tip: All rooms have side view overlooking the sea, depends if you want sun in the morning or afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank royandwendy503838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    295
    126
    22
    15
See reviews for
201
454
41
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kendal
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Better than just alright really. Good clean rooms. Staff mostly indifferent except one receptionist, (Herminia?) who was very welcoming. Breakfast was a strange experience though as literally no member of staff spoke or even acknowledged customer existence. Thankfully, I am well travelled and knew what to expect of a breakfast buffet but if this was a new experience, I think it would feel very uncomfortable. Breakfast was available until 10.15 but at 9.20 they started to clear away the drinks, leaving only one coffee area open, despite the fact that the dining room was full. I speak Spanish and asked for more cups but the head waiter looked straight through me and asked one of the others to fill them. He didn't even make eye contact. We saw similar experiences repeated several times. Very strange!
Otherwise fine. A place to stay for a couple of nights. I wouldn't want to spend my holiday there.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank ekykkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Nice hotel, staff were the friendliest people I have had the pleasure of meeting. Wide selection of food. Quiet and no hassle. What you need in a holiday!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlazinDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks in the hotel, on a SAGA break. Firstly I should state that 90% of the staff are first class, friendly and very helpful.Ill start with the Hotel itself, The Hotel is very clean, and our room was spacious and light. The beds unfortunately are almost akin to sleeping on pool tables. The structure of the hotel, with an atrium from floor to tenth floor,and the hollow brick wall construction, doesnt help the noise carrying. This is the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in.Most hights I was convinced someone was actually using our bathroom. With the greatest respect to the spanish people, they do not seem to possess the ability to speak quietly, I had reason to call reception three times, twice due to a couple arguing in the next room, and once because of what rounded like a flemenco dancer practising in the room above us. Now to the restaurant. If youre with SAGA, you will be expected to share a table with another couple,whether you know them or not, and stay on that table for the length of your stay. My wife and I refused as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. It was 7 days before we were allocated a table in the main restaurant. On another point, one of the waiters expected us to use the same cutlery for each course!!. On to the food, There was a grill chef most nights with a choice of fresh grilled fish or meat, excellent quality, but the vegetables were seriously overcooked, the soup was usually tasteless. Weekends are when the hotel fills up with clients, mostly Spanish, this makes for a good atmosphere, as they are in general polite and friendly, although be aware, they will tend to get better service from the waiters, maybe this is a language thing I dont know. All in all, a Clean spacious and friendly, but VERY Noisy hotel

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the less you will hear peoples waste water flushing down the cavity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Steelbonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Just come back from a weeks stay in the Helios Hotel Almunecar. We did not have any complaints whatsoever the Hotel was very comfortable, good food, and friendly staff. This Hotel is an ideal spot for people who like to walk as you have a very long promenade both ways, Hotel right on the sea front with all amenities near, local bus to Nerja worth a visit. We had music & dancing every night. We met some great people and at the end of the week we were like a small family. We would like to thank the guests who made our holiday a success. I recommend this hotel and will be returning. It does not pay to take any notice of the bad reviews - Joanne Anglesey Decr 2011

Room Tip: We were in a corner room high situated on the sea front with fantastic view of the whole of the bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Joanniereader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We decided to try Saga for the first time and booked for a week in December at the Helios. We found that the hotel was generally pretty good, staff were very friendly and the room was clean, large and comfortable. The hotel was not full at this time of year and so there were no problems with queueing for meals or drinks. The food was generally average, there was not a huge selection but you could normally find something to eat. The Gala dinner was an exception, really very good food. Hotel facilities are quite reasonable, the heated outdoor pool is a bonus in the Winter. Entertainment was limited to a couple of nights live music but may well be better in the high season. The guests, both British and Spanish, tended to be of an older age group, so there was not much problem with rowdy behaviour or noise.

Almunecar itself is a very nice resort, with good promenades and some interesting shops in the old town. We found that every bar that we visited would give you tapas with each beer ordered, although this may change in the more busy periods. There did not seem to be many facilities for the younger age group.

We were quite impressed with the Saga rep, Moses. who was very helpful and took everyone who wanted to go on a short orientation tour of the town, which is very useful if you are a first time visitor. We went on the tours to Frigiliana, Lecrin Valley and Orgiva. The first two were very good but we found that Orgiva was very disappointing and would not recommend that tour.

Saga offer excursions to Granada, but you must choose either the Alhambra or the City, you can't do both on one trip. We decided to go to Granada by public transport and found that it was quite easy. The Almunecar bus station is about 30 minutes walk from the hotel or you can catch a local bus outside the hotel to get to the bus station. The bus to Granada took approximately 1 hour 15 minutes and cost 7 euros each way. When we got to Granada we got a taxi to the Alhambra for about 9 euros and at that time of year had no problem getting tickets. There is a bus from the Alhambra that will take you to the town centre after your visit.

All in all we found that it was a very enjoyable holiday and a good hotel (and the weather was great as well). We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a quiet winter break.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank mikec58Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I was very disappointed with my holiday here after reading the mainly good reports on TripAdvisor. I have marked it as average as the Staff were always friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and pleasant. What spoilt it for myself and my partner was the eating facilities. If you did not arrive at the dining room, which was always buffet service, within minutes of them opening most of the food would be gone with no more being available when requested. If you were fortunate to get food on your plate, you then had the problem of finding a free table as there was no reserved seating. On the third day my partner and I ended up eating at a table full of dirty dishes and trays which none of the staff seemed to have time to clear. We decided enough was enough and despite having paid for a half board package holiday, we chose to eat out in the little restaurants dotted around the hotel, till the end of our stay. If the dining room problems could be overcome it would be a wonderful Hotel to stay in as it is right opposite the beach, with lovely views and many good facilities and within walking distance of the town and all it had to offer.

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view but make sure it looks out to sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Roland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almunecar hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#12 of 24 in Almunecar
1,291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
2.7 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#4 of 24 in Almunecar
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sol Los Fenicios
Sol Los Fenicios
#2 of 5 in La Herradura
359 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bahia Tropical Hotel
Bahia Tropical Hotel
#7 of 24 in Almunecar
637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria Playa
Hotel Victoria Playa
#8 of 24 in Almunecar
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helios Costa Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helios Costa Tropical

Property: Helios Costa Tropical
Address: Paseo de San Cristobal, 12, 18690, Almunecar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Almunecar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Almunecar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Helios Costa Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Helios Costa Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helios Costa Tropical Almunecar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing