We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in an unspoilt corner of Almunecar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bahia Tropical Hotel
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Almunecar
Cork
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in an unspoilt corner of Almunecar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as part of a "Travel Department" group on a half board basis. The rooms face the pool and across the road is a small unspoilt beach. The area is quiet (this was April) but within 4-5 minutes walk there is the promenade which brings you right into Almunecar town, this takes from 35-45 minutes. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful and the food is excellent with a good choice. Wine was included with our evening meal and we decided not to have an evening meal on one occasion so we were able to have lunch on our departure day instead and wine was also supplied with that. Be careful if you have a car because there are parking restrictions in place and the signs about these are not very clear and The area is patrolled regularly, so be warned!!! A bus leaves from close to the hotel for the centre costing one euro. Tea/coffee and snacks are quite reasonably priced in the area. I would certainly return to the hotel and Almunecar.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MelmicCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    244
    138
    37
    24
See reviews for
278
176
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Blanca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

Stayed here as our base on our coach trip to Granada and Gibraltar. Hotel located by small beach which was lovely, rooms/beds large and comfortable. Buffet for breakfast and evening meals .. evening meal choice was pork, pork and more pork!!

3 different live entertainment acts on the nights we stayed there. Major complaint was the bar staff treated English speaking people as 2nd class citizens - example: my husband was buying a round of 8 drinks (spirits and beer) and half way through the order, a Spaniard interrupted and ordered 4 coffees .. the bar person stopped our order and make the coffees and delivered to their table at the other end of the room. When my husband protested he just got a shrug of the shoulders!! No tip for this bar person!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reject80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

We used Bahia Tropical as our base to visit other places in Andalucia, like Granada (must see Alhambra), Sierra Nevada, and Nerja (must see the caves). Almuñécar is OK, but one day is enough to see it.
Food in this hotel was good overall, with a fine range of choices. Reception could have more information available for guests on tours and places to visit.
Helpful and nice staff. No problem in finding a free parking place nearby, altough parking in front of the hotel is a blue zone one (paid...).
Just a downside (not hotel's fault): The sewer in the street close to the hotel ran freely, in open air, to the beach, just some metres below...
Despite that, this hotel can be a very good option, very quiet, and the pool in fantastic (with access to handicaps, something you don't see often...)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EgrojSneif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2007

Stayed in January for short break of 4 days. The good bits:
Excellent rooms
The Bad bits:

Its winter - I booked this hotel as it had indoor pool and gym - It is closed MOST of the times you want to use it - like evenings / mornings and sunday. So if you want it for this - go else where. I didnt mind paying the extra - but for nothing....

Food. Never eat here.
I eat the steak - it was rare - really rare and was reheated (of course I didnt know this at time) - spend a day in bed with food poisoning.

When they finish serving in the self service - they clear away everything even though you are still eating - How Rude.

So in a word - very bad

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank Robert_Murch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Almunecar hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2006

I have to say that I find the hotels in this part of Spain to all be much of a muchness. They all say that they're four star but I really don't think they are. This place, like many of the others:
- was very clean
- had a huge dining room where everything was buffet (dinner and - breakfast)
had large bedrooms

It's also very close to the beach.

However, I found the beds on the hard side and I'm not sure how long I could eat that buffet food.

The swimming pool looked nice - although it was a little too coldto try it when we went in November.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed - too hard
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mark121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almunecar hotels
2.2 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 25 in Almunecar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
2.2 mi away
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#3 of 25 in Almunecar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#13 of 25 in Almunecar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar
Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar
#12 of 25 in Almunecar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia de Almunecar
Hotel Bahia de Almunecar
#14 of 25 in Almunecar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Tropical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Tropical Hotel

Property: Bahia Tropical Hotel
Address: Paseo Del Tesorillo, Playa Del Pozuelo, Almunecar, 18690, Almunecar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Almunecar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Almunecar
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Almunecar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Tropical Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia Tropical Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bahia Tropical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing