We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hungry and lonely”

Pena Escrita Natural Park
Ranked #19 of 50 things to do in Almunecar
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hungry and lonely”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

If the animals had enough or proper food, this zoo would be a great attraction. It is situated high up in the Sierra at the end of a spectacular 11km drive to the north of Almunecar. Take some fresh fruit and/or vegetables and when no one is looking, feed the other inhabitants. Do NOT give them junk food or salt or sugar etc. Do NOT feed them pink and white oleander or its leaves,it is poisonous. One of the bears was painstakingly fishing dead yellow leaves out of the water and eating them. A family discussing this thought the bear was drinking water. Another bear sniffed at what appeared to be pig's ears in the feeding area. I had forgotten to dispose of my rubbish bag and still had it with me. I lobbed all the rind from a piel de sapo melon into the cage, the bears gladly ate the pieces then looked up at me. The bears are intelligent unlike the cunning, fat, glossy, well fed tigers and lions lazing in their huge comfortable enclosures. I had no more fruit or vegetables with me, peelings had already been eaten by others.The eland is huge and lonely by itself with straw to eat. Two little meercats keep each other company (in the wild they live in colonies of up to 30) and ran forward to beg. I think they eat eggs,scorpions, reptiles,rodents,fruit, insects,worms, none of which I had to give them. The wallabies and the porcupines too have razed every blade of edible green in their enclosures and trodden barren earth remains. The baby wild boar were so cute that we wanted to take them home, but they would grow up to be bristly bad tempered wild hogs. The emus had been attacked around their bottoms with feathers pecked out. They also followed hungrily but I had nothing left to give them. I will return.
There are two restaurants in the park, one was closed although the table clothed tables were laid. There is an open air swimming pool. There are wooden cabins to rent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dumpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    12
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Amazing day out for the entire family. It wasn't crowded as I don't think most people are up for the 12km+ drive from Almunecar on the VERY twisty road. But it is completely worth the drive! And come ready to swim at the end as hardly anyone was there. It's a huge pool and there is a restaurant too. Our kids loved seeing the variety of animals - hippo, wolves, porcupines, hyenas, camel, horses, bears, tigers and more. No one was there to collect money, so we paid when we went swimming. Amazing drive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CKWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilkley
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“A great day out.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A fantastic setting up a mountain (1300 mts above sea level) A twisty road but all concrete or tarmac. well signposted form Almunecar The first animals you meet are the Hippo. Ostriches Wolves.We found it easyer to drive drive from cage to cage.Its a steep road. There is cabins you can stay .resteraunt swimming pool. fantastic views Lots of animals. All well looked after and have lots of space to roam about. Well worth a visit. Its better than any zoo I have been to.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DingoIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great day out..!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great day out if you like driving high up in the mountains and you have a head for hights.. the most amazing views to be seen worth the drive up..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHoliday186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“La pena escrita nature reserve”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Visited la pena escrita today. It was a real gem hidden in the mountains with beautiful views. Incredible beautiful park totally not expected at the location it is in. It has many species which you can enjoy from really close by. Parents 2 euro, children 1 euro. Incredible cheap as well!

The animal looked real well and are kept in vast spaces which look like natural habitat. The route itself from Almunecar is a small and winding road which is not easy to find. How did they ever get the hippo up there????

Kids and us really enjoyed the visit. If you have kids and stay in the neighbourhood its a mustsee.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlm1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pena Escrita Natural Park also viewed

Almunecar, Province of Granada
Almunecar, Province of Granada
 
Almunecar, Province of Granada
Almunecar, Province of Granada
 

Been to Pena Escrita Natural Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing