We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Almunecar
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good - but”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Being a frequent visitor to Almunecar, I have stayed at the Almunecar Playa Hotel several times over the past 10 years. In my opinion it is by far the best hotel in the town, superb location, friendly hotel staff, large outdoor pool area with Jacuzzi, indoor pool and spa and a handy gym for guests use, clean spacious rooms and sparkling bathrooms. I normally book bed and breakfast only because the old town is full of vibrant bars and restaurants and the old Spanish tradition of "free" tapas is alive and well. However I have noticed a steady deterioration in the quality and quantity of breakfast in the restaurant at the Playa. Perhaps it is because my past few visits were in the winter season with fewer staff employed, but once I enjoyed a full cooked breakfast of eggs, bacon, sausages, baked beans fried tomatoes, but on my last visit only baked beans and cooked sliced potatoes were on offer, a kitchen staff member eventually came and started cooking eggs and bacon about 15 minutes after the restaurant opened, and the fruit juice dispenser was empty and was not refilled, the rest of the food was OK with plenty of fruits, jams, breads, sliced meats and cheeses however. All in all a fine hotel, but let down (at least off season) by the food. I am booked in again in March perhaps there has been an improvement.

Room Tip: Go higher, level 5 is good, get a room overlooking the pool area in winter (sea view) and the old to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rob1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.
We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that your perception of the product in your visit in march is entirely satisfactory.

Best Regards,

Carlos Estévez Escalera
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    635
    225
    45
    28
See reviews for
837
338
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We booked last minute as we needed to attend a family funeral, we had stayed here previously about six years ago so knew what we were getting !! the hotel has a very impressive reception area and the glass lifts are an 'experience' .... however the check-in itself was very slow indeed, the staff were very friendly and helpful they just didn't seem to be in any rush to book us in, the rooms are large and clean.

The views over the gardens to the sea are beautiful and the bathroom amenities are very good ..... No kettle though (a bug bare of mine) I had remembered this and taken my travel kettle and I was very glad I had, there is a fridge in the room which is great for keeping soft drinks and milk, it was chilly at night but they provided a blanket which made all the difference, the rooms also have heating.

The only other gripe I have is the Wifi, for the size of the hotel im surprised you have to pay to access this as nowadays you would expect this as standard, it cost 6 euros for 24 hours so if your there any longer than a week/weekend it could be expensive, you get an hours free wifi a day in the lobby but I like to relax on the internet in the room ?!

The food was very good and plenty of it, the facilities are also excellent, we didn't use the spa but from what I remember its very good.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and over all this is a lovely hotel, I would defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea and on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pippa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guests,
First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

Thank you for your comments given towards our establishment, and our staff, I will take this comment to them personally.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Carlos Estévez Escalera
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadiaro, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We reserved this hotel with hotelminuto.com and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Rooms with two American-style large beds, balcony overlooking the sea, two swimming pools with Jacuzzi, live music to dance to in the evening, bars restaurants etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ivyholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.
We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions,

Carlos Estévez Escalera
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is now our sixth visit and we intend to go back next year April.
All hotel personnel is very friendly and making efforts to help you in French/English where possible. This goes from receptionists over barmen, restaurant waiters, animators, room cleaning ladies to the hotel manager.
Food is very decent with a wide selection of cold and warm vegetables; fish, meats, stews, pastas, fruits, desserts, ...Food is partly prepared in advance, but includes also show cooking and includes even made to order cooking (e.g. omelets at breakfast, pancakes in the evening, ...). Everyday you can have cava at breakfast.
Rooms are kept clean, our linen was changed 3 times in a week and towels daily if you wish so.
We booked a suite (of course somewhat more expensive). This has frontal seaview and we had a beautifull view over Almunecar castle too (with superb sunrise in the morning). Booking a suite has some advantages like reduced cost in the hotel parking (and in some periods even free of charge) and a nice attention in your room at arrival (or in our case when we returned from our souper).
Go for a room on the higher floors (5th and higher). Views are beautiful and streetnoise is limited (if any).
Drinks are priced very reasonable and there is also daily a happy hour between 17.00 and 18.00 hrs. Buy one, get two !
There is a public market every Friday at walking distance (about 1.5kms) which is worthwhile visiting.
Hotel is next to the promenade and opposite the beach. The city park and the castle are very nearby (at 5 minutes walk).
We will certainly go back.
P.S. If you think this review has helped you, please indicate so though your "support "vote. Thanks

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the higher floors, views are often fantastic (especially with seaview), there is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Frans_1Aalst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I read a lot of reviews about this hotel before choosing to stay here and I chose it for the reason that it had a good selection of pools and an indoor pool if the weather was bad. It was a family holiday for us and we have 2 young children so it was important that we could keep the kids entertained. No it's not a top class 4 star hotel but your not paying top class 4 star prices. I paid about £65 a night for B&B and for that price I was very happy. Check-in went well, the receptionist was very helpful and spoke good English, the room was large and clean and had everything we needed. The pools were very good and my little girl loved the water slides. We also used the indoor pool which again was clean and heated. The hotel is opposite the beach and a short walk into the Old Town. We had a nice stay and would go back to this hotel again. We are glad we booked B&B and not half board as the restaurant was the only let down. Breakfast was below average and very inconsistent. The idea of a hot plate is to keep food hot but the sausages, tomatoes etc were always cold. You always had to wait for eggs and bacon to be cooked and the hotel wasn't even busy so I can't imagine what it would have been like in the middle of summer. Some mornings there was no water or orange juice for over 30 mins and some of the staff (not all) really looked like the last placed they wanted to be was in the restaurant, swallowed a wasp springs to mind. I am so happy we didn't book half board. All in all not a bad hotel in a good location with good pools.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LakesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guests,
First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.
We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.
We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions,

Atentamente,

Carlos Estévez Escalera
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June, having made a late booking. Everything went smoothly. Large room with partial sea views, decent bathroom and good air con. The swimming pool is large, and has plenty of free beds. If you prefer you can simply cross the road to the beach, and hire two sunbeds and shade for 8 euros. We had B and B and breakfast contained a wide selection of food, suitable I would reckon for most nationalities. Helpful staff, who cleared tables efficiently. The afternoon Happy Hour is good value. Lifts very efficient. Excellent position across the road from San Cristobal Beach. This beach is pebbly and shingly, but stretches a long way. I've never known it overcrowded in several visits. there are plenty of tapas bars within easy reach of the hotel. One of our favourties - Petete- is just at the side of the hotel and La Orilla is next to the hotel opposite the beach. Beers ans wines around 2 euros with a free plate of tapas. The hotel represents good value.

Room Tip: Views from the higher rooms are very good, and the lifts swift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guests,
First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.
We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to our Hotel

Carlos Estévez Escalera
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristianstad sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The spa was closed during our stay, without letting us know beforehand. Food no good. Reception girls OK. Impossible to come in contact with the manager during our stay, to sort things out. an informative but nice E-mail sent to him after our stay, he did not answer. We had a wonderful travel ,one month long and we have given several hotels the highest recommendation. W e spend 2 months a year in hotels- the first time we write NEGATIVLY.
The Swedish couple

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank solveig s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almunecar hotels
2.6 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#4 of 24 in Almunecar
1,662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 24 in Almunecar
770 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#12 of 24 in Almunecar
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bahia Tropical Hotel
Bahia Tropical Hotel
#7 of 24 in Almunecar
615 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sol Los Fenicios
Sol Los Fenicios
#2 of 5 in La Herradura
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria Playa
Hotel Victoria Playa
#8 of 24 in Almunecar
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel

Property: Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
Address: Paseo China Gorda s/n., 18690, Almunecar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Almunecar
#3 Spa Hotel in Almunecar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Almunecar
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Almunecar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Almunecar Playa SPA Hotel enjoys a beachfront location, behind the seafront, just minutes from the old quarter of Almunecar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almunecar Playa Hotel Almunecar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing