We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediterranean Sea holiday hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Almunecar
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Mediterranean Sea holiday hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Large hotel with far reaching views, including sunsets in Almunecar coast road, San Cristobel beach.
Efficient receptionist Carmen and lots of waiting staff very quick o clear your breakfast plates.
90 euros for a double room ( 2 double beds) 4th floor, underground secure parking and 2 breakfasts.
Take note - you cannot use the good spa facilities on a Monday as it is shut.
There is also an indoor pool and huge jacuzzi. The Spanish holiday makers ignored the sign that the jacuzzi was adult only. I rescued a young boy with arm bands who was alone and could not reach the edge because of the bubbles and his parents were in the swimming pool.
Almunecar is. Very friendly Spanish town with 3 beaches, good promenades along by the sea Nd an attractive old town.
There are many bars with lots of food choice and some huge free tapas.
Granada city is an hour away, visit the Alhambra and ski ing is in the Sierra Nevadas one and a Half hours away, Nov to March with snow making machines.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Carlos Estévez Escalera
Gerente Almuñecar Playa Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    610
    211
    44
    26
See reviews for
810
315
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Almuñécar Playa Spa Hotel is located near the beach and less than half a mile from Almuñécar´s Old Town. We have already visited Almuñécar Playa Hotel several times (2003, 2005, 2013), but it seems that this hotel has seen better days and needs renovation. The hotel room is nice, clean and spacious and it has a private balcony. But for us the room and the bathroom are not really stylish/ modern anymore. Breakfast and dinner are just average, parking with extra cost. Free Wi-Fi only one hour a day in the lobby only and its speed is extremly slow (0.06 kbps download). Staff at the reception is friendly, but we have also seen waiting-queues (the same for the elevator). In summary, this time we were really disappointed and will try another hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oneworld2travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday. And thank you also for choose us several time for spent your holidays.

Thanks for your nice comments about our rooms, housekeeping and friendliness of our staff.
About the renewal of the furniture in the rooms and bathrooms, we work every day full renovating, repairing and care all details so that all our facilities are in good condition for the enjoyment of our guests.

About the Wi-Fi, we have of your disposal 1 hour free per day in the hall, and also Premium Wi-Fi extra charge.

I am very sorry that your last visit has not been entirely satisfactory for you. If you give us another chance, will be a pleasure for us, we will do our best to make your days off are perfect.

Carlos Estévez
Gerente Almuñecar Playa Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heule belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

very clean and well situated hotel close to the center of almunecar.
staff is very helpfull and friendly.
great range af drinks and wines even for the all in guests.
nice breakfast, poorer quality of the meat and vegetables for the lunch and dinner.
why are the vegetables on the salad bar not fresh?a mistake I believ

Room Tip: we had room nr 326, very sunny and so close to the beach/sea wonderfull to hear the waves
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luk m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. Is very important for us to know the opinion of our guests.

We are glad you enjoyed your holidays with us, and our facilities, rooms, housekeeping and breakfast service were of good quality for you.

About the meat at the buffet, all our products are top quality and fresh, you can find every day in the lunch and dinner service cooked and raw met to cook at the time in our show cooking. Like vegetables are all fresh and with 14 different types every day.

I hope to see you again and have the opportunity to meet you, we do our best to make your holidays fantastic and unforgettable.

Carlos Estévez
Gerente Almueñcar Playa Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We chose this hotel for an overnight stay because it was listed as 4* ,also for the spa experience .
On booking we asked for a nice room ,this was provided ,with views over the bay and large balcony , lovely ! The reception was also helpful and courteous .
Pity the room did live up to 4* standard ,although large and airy ,there was dust on all the units ,and the windows needed cleaning
The tiled floors not too clean either ,one tile had grouting removed from around it ,maybe the start of the great escape !
Please do not expect 4* fluffy towels in the bathroom ,if required you would be advised to take your own .
Think Erwins review sums up the other facility's ,this is not our idea of a 4* hotel .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments, and for your kind comments about the friendly staff and the beautiful views from the rooms.

Our maintenance and housekeeping staff working hard every day so that our rooms are in the best condition. I am sorry if the room was not your liking. if you would have told us when you arrived, it had been a pleasure to help you or change your room. For us your comfort and satisfaction is the most important.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Carlos Estévez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Almunecar is a very nice town for a holiday as most of the reviews of the hotel agree. The Playa spa is very well situated for the town and the beach. The hotel offers benefits if you put a nice review on tripadvisor and allow them to vet it first - I didn't take up their offer.
We visited in October which means that due to the line of shops forming the southern boundary of the hotel the sun didn't properly reach the outdoor swimming pool and so it was too cold for comfort. There was a small heated indoor pool and jaccuzzi in the basement but both were heavily used by numbers of energetic children leaping from pillars etc during our stay. This is despite notices saying the jacuzzi was adults only. The indoor pools are completely unsupervised.
As others have noted the carpets in the corridors need at least a good steam clean and generally there is an air of the ship being spoiled for want of a ha'porth of tar.
As for dining there is a large buffet spread of food but it is not well prepared and some dishes seemed to make an appearance the following day if not consumed at the first attempt. All pastry based desserts had that tell-tale uncooked layer in the pastry that you get if you put something in the oven without defrosting it first. Having stayed in several hotels in Almunecar over the years this is the first that the show cooking i.e. freshly cooked in front of you, has been worse than the buffet. The local farmacia, just along the front is very good if you ask them for remedies for stomach upsets, Primperan works a treat!.
Reading other reviews we were obviously not the first to fall foul of the reception when booking in, not welcoming at all. This brings me to staff, everyone at reception was lovely except the one when we booked in (perhaps having her photo displyed so prominently has gone to her head) and this was our experience of the hotel staff, almost schitzophrenic, most of the staff were very nice indeed and then just when we'd relaxed and for no reason at all we would be treated in a most rude and its not too strong to say arrogant manner. Some of the staff also seemed almost to be scared of criticism, when the coffee and hot machines were not working one breakfast the waiter almost went into a panic saying 'its not my fault!' repeatedly and took some time to calm down and tell him we we not blaming anybody we just wanted tea with our breakfast. He rapidly brought a jug of hot water for tea and was very nice about it but we felt dreadfully sorry for him because he was so worried.
The bed linen in the hotel is of mixed vintage and as it is dyed orange different sheets and pillow cases have faded to a different extent which gives a most odd look. In the early part of our stay our room, which was of a generous size, was not cleaned properly, however this improved for the second week without us having to complain. As for extras the safe is 5 euros a night and the parking eye-watering but on road is free in October.
The management of the hotel seem to be trying hard for the guests as do a lot of the staff and I know that times are hard and they are running on a extremely tight budget but overall weeeeell, we don't think staying there is an experience we would care to repeat.

Having said all this, other people seem to like the hotel or maybe its just Almunecar, the town has a way making you feel good who knows?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank auricula63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed in this hotel with a bed and breakfast deal for a week in October. We booked an additional room for our daughter for a few days at the last minute. The rooms were spacious and very clean although the decor was a little dated. All rooms would seem to have a sea view because of the architecture and orientation of the building. A large balcony was a splendid asset. One small issue was that on arrival there was no toilet paper in our room. Everything else was in place. That was a basic oversight that was resolved on reception. The outdoor and indoor swimming pools were lovely. The garden and sun terrace were attractive and very well maintained. The breakfast buffet was varied and generous. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Two lifts are not really enough for a hotel of this size when full. I recommended friends to book a stay there in early November but the hotel was full. They did enjoy Almunecar and a stay elsewhere. We will be back next year as Almunecar itself is a tranquil resort with an interesting history and a delightful old town. Great fish restaurants on the beach. The resort provides a good base from which to explore the splendours of Andalucia, and it is not too far from Granada to make a day visit to the Alhambra and Generalife gardens.

Room Tip: We were on a high floor in a quiet room. It appears that all or most have sea view as standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoyCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had booked this hotel for a one night stay during a round trip through Andalusia. It might well be acceptable for travelers looking for an 'all inclusive' type of holiday with evening entertainment and huge meal buffets. The room was fine, clean and large enough for even a longer stay. There were only two elevators which made checking in and out with baggage quite cumbersome. The hotel buffet was extensive, but quality of the food was only average to poor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJMichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almunecar hotels
2.6 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#3 of 25 in Almunecar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 25 in Almunecar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bahia Tropical Hotel
Bahia Tropical Hotel
#7 of 25 in Almunecar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#13 of 25 in Almunecar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar
Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar
#12 of 25 in Almunecar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Caleta Bay
La Caleta Bay
#1 of 5 in La Herradura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel

Property: Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
Address: Paseo China Gorda s/n. | Playa de San Cristobal, 18690, Almunecar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Almunecar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Almunecar
#3 Spa Hotel in Almunecar
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Almunecar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Almunecar Playa SPA Hotel enjoys a beachfront location, behind the seafront, just minutes from the old quarter of Almunecar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almunecar Playa Hotel Almunecar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing