We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a Pleasure!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taberna Ayer

Taberna Ayer
Ranked #10 of 256 Restaurants in Almunecar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Grill, International, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great new Taberna Ayer, always serving fresh cooked produce,See our fantastic reviews on Tripadvisor or find us on Facebook. Now with a full menu including many old favorites and some great new sharing plates and our evening grill menu, still serving great coffee, homemade cakes, beers, wines and cocktails. Please be advised that Friday & Saturdays we CLOSE at 5pm & re-open at 7:30pm **** Closed on Mondays ****
Jete, Granada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a Pleasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

As locals, we probably visit Cafe Ayer at least twice a week and are always delighted by the variety of tapas served and friendly chats with the owners, Tracey and Steve, who have lived here many years and are very knowledgeable on the area if you are only visiting and want some ideas on where to go or what to do. On the menu you can find healthy breakfasts, tasty salads and paninis with a wide variety of mouthwatering fillings, plus their tablas of tapas to share are to die for. For dessert, or to accompany one of their speciality teas or coffees, try one of Tracey's famous cakes, baked fresh daily (I personally would recommend the apple crumble cake with ice cream), or try one of Steve's special sangrías if you dare! Another big plus is the setting right on the sea front with great views of El Peñon and the castle, a perfect spot for watching the annual fireworks display in August. Cafe Ayer is open 6 days a week (closed on Saturdays) and we give them a resounding 11 out of 10!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane-Snowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    22
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“yummy food, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a huge delicious salad here one lunchtime, it really exceeded our expectations. The drinks were also yummy. Above all, the owners were so friendly and really willing to have a chat with us. The only shame was that we wanted to go here for lunch on a Sunday, but found it closed!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank senorita2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costafortuna, Owner at Taberna Ayer, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. We are usually open on Sundays unfortunately we closed on the Sunday you wanted to visit due to a family celebration. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good lunch stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Friendly service and freshly prepared meals we enjoyed delicious panninis with fresh salad. Owned by a British family so if you are missing home baking this is the place to go. Situated on the sea front

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RaexIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Seaside gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

When visiting Almunecar head for Cafe Ayer, you won't be disappointed. Tracy and Steve give customers a warm welcome and provide attentive service. If you are looking for a light bite, tapas, afternoon tea and cakes or a glass or two of wine or other alchoholic drinks they can provide lots of choice. Homemade cakes, smoothies and soup on colder days cater for all needs. There are lots of salads, bageuettes and paninis to choose from and everything is fresh and tasty. Did I mention the coffee? They make a perfect cup. All this in a setting to die for. Sit and relax on the terrace and have a wonderful view of the sea through the palm trees. On cooler days you may want to sit indoors but still have that magical vista. Really good value too. Well done to Steve and Tracy. Truly a little gem.
PS Toilets spotless too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterMacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Certainly more than lived up to reviews I had read!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

What a lovely friendly place run by Steve and Tracy. It was our first visit to Almunecar and they could not have been more helpful with their advice. The quality of their food and service is first class and reasonably priced. The sangria the best ever! If you are in Almunecar you must visit Cafe Ayer.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DOT0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna Ayer also viewed

Almunecar, Province of Granada
Almunecar, Province of Granada
 
Almunecar, Province of Granada
 

Been to Taberna Ayer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing