We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice food, made with love!”
Review of Iguana - CLOSED

Iguana
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Almunecar, Spain
1 review
“Really nice food, made with love!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have been in Almuñecar for almost 2 months, and most of the restaurants have delivered overpriced, prefabricated crap, and most of the restauranteurs does´nt even care if you complain.

If you feel the same way i suggest that you head over to Iguana Playa. They really put an effort in to their food and service, and they will make sure that you stay satisfied troughout your visit.

I live in the neighborhood and have tried most of the bars and restaurants nearby. However this is the only one where i´ve felt a genuine passion for food and good service.

Some places nearby offer a cheaper menu del dia, but they can not deliver anything that´s even better then McDonalds. If you want a nice relaxing experience, with proper food, i suggest that you spend one or two more euros at iguana and in return you will leave with a smile.

Big up Iguana!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisNordahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“More about image than anything else”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I have had a flat in Almuñecar for 10 years and have tried many restaurants around town. I have tried Iguana twice and was disappointed by the food and the welcome given to me on both occasions. First time, the food was authentically Greek but poor value. The second time, I went for a drink with my wife and children and were thinking of eating and were moved from tables at the front of the restaurant as they were reserved for diners. Does this mean that if you want a drink and are thinking about eating you are less welcome than a prospective diner? We stayed an hour and no one turned up. Don't visit this restaurant. There is another two doors to the left where the waiter wears some first class shirts and serves great quality food at the right price with good service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ianhealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Over priced and badly run.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a family lunch here after spending the morning on the beech. When we arrived we were told that we could only have the set menu as on Thursdays they are very busy?!? This is obviously a ploy to push their overpriced set menu and means they're obviously not well managed if unable to cope when they know its going to be busy. The food was good but the portion size was terrible and served with large glasses of ouzo in the middle of the day without a replacement option.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Greek in Almunecar”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We've been here lots of times and we keep coming back: the atmosphere is relaxing and the view of the bay is lovely. The food and service is excellent. Thursday night is Greek menu night where, for €15, you get three courses of a variety of Greek dishes and a glass of Ouzo thrown in! I've also had steaks, moussaka, and fish, all excellent and good value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always expect the unexpected here!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Don't look at the menu a lot, follow the advice of the owner on special dishes or the catch of the day and let the cook surprise you. Even the kids loved it here! Great hospitality!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucemundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iguana also viewed

La Herradura, Almunecar
 
La Herradura, Almunecar
 
Almunecar, Province of Granada
Almunecar, Province of Granada
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing