We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Almunecar
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Thanks to "letsdeal.se" we (two couples) got an offer to stay four days in a big suite in Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar. We bought two coupons so we were able to stay eight days. Very much was included in the coupon: transfer from the airport, a car, a big suite, breakfasts, a bottle of wine, chocolate and so on.
As it was low season when we arrived we were upgraded to a bigger suite with three bedrooms, a kitchen, a big sittingroom and a nice balcony facing to the garden. We were also told that as it was low season the restaurant was closed and that we had to order our breakfast. A huge breakfast was served in our sittingroom every morning and this really was very nice.
We had a luxurious stay at Albayzin del Mar but best of all was the friendly staff. Everyone was so kind and helpful. For example Karin behind the reception desk who came with lots of good suggestions where to go, what to see, and where to dine. She told us that there are lots of nice restaurants in the neighborhood. Our favourite restaurants in Almunecar were Arbol Blanco, Lute y Jesus and Mar de Plata.
We drove for example to Gibraltar, Alhambra, Granada, Nerja and and saw a lot during our eight days. Almunecar is situated in an area with a lot of attractions and sights to discover.
We hope to come back to Almunecar again and if so we definitely want to stay at Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ulla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 287 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I satyed here for 6 days in May. We are very familiar with the area as we have visited many times but this was our first stay at this particular hotel. We booked a two bedroom apartment (which I beleive to be the smallest accommodation that is on offer). It was very spacious and clean. Absolutley can not fault it. The Balcomy faced the sea, whcih I would highly recommend as the other view would be of a busy Street. The view was nice and we got the sun all day.

The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk to the beach but if it is swimming you want there is no need to leave the hotel. The pool is quite amazing. Everyting is brilliant white and with the sun beating down it is incredible bright. It is a great pool and a great place to relax. The bar is very handy for a cold beer or cocktail so I never reallty felt the need to leave. The Restaurant was very nice and the staff were really friendly.

The hotel is a little quirky in some of its decor. Mirrors are everywhere so be careful after a few to many poolside beers or you might just walk into one.

Overall, this is the nicxest of the hotels I have stayed in Almunecar, but it is cionsiderabley more expensive.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view.... a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our daughters wedding was in the Albayzin del Mar Hotel last September, and we booked in for seven nights, I must say we found the staff very friendly and helpful at all times. The wedding was fantastic and went very well from start to finish. The management was excellent and professional in the all matters regarding the wedding. On our stay we did find the swimmimg pool very cold during the morning time, but it warmed up in the afternoon.The suite was large and bright with a good view of the pool area. The restaurant was very clean and served good at a reasonable price. Breakfast was just ok, you could live with it. Our family will be back in the near future.

Room Tip: Location is important
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Never mind the previous negative reviews, this is a very pleasant, clean, quirky hotel. The rooms are big most with 2 bedrooms, clean and well furnished. The restaurants serve good food at reasonable prices. Yes the swimming pool is cold but if you wait till late afternoon it's had time to 'warm up'. The staff are very obliging particularly the girls on reception, nothing is too much trouble. The buffet breakfast is very varied and plentiful, and a full English breakfast is available at no extra cost.
We have stayed in many hotels in Almunecar but this is by far the best. Will I go again....you bet!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank xdrumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

You can certainly call it "interesting" but not always in the best of ways. For a start, despite its name, the hotel is a 20 walk from the sea and located in a not very interesting main street on the way into Almunecar. Its not that far from the old town etc. but calling it "del mar" is a bit of a liberty.

The suites are large but while the lounge and kitchen (which we didn't use) are huge, the bedrooms in ours were barely big enough to edge around the beds. Plus, the wardrobe doors couldn't open fully. In addition, one bathroom/toilet combined to serve the needs of up to six people. Don't be in a hurry.

The room TV seemed to offer only a pretty awful range of Spanish channels. Only after several days did I learn from another guest that there is an inconspicuous button on the remote to access some English, French and German stations. A card in the room would have helped.

Next, the pool. Large, well furnished and set in a nice garden. Only thing - no towels, unless you are willing to buy one for €14. None free, none to rent and not allowed take them from the rooms. Rip off. We bought some up the street for €4.

Next, the pool restaurant; looked nice but a poor menu and very strange staff. One of our party ordered a sandwich and asked could it be toasted. Answer - no. When the order arrived, my club sandwich was (unasked for) toasted. Not exactly client friendly.

Finally, breakfast. A standard buffet but poor quality - cheap sugary yoghurts, no meusli, re-constituted juices and vile coffee from a dispenser. Strangest of all, it was almost impossible to get a cup of regular tea, Lots of fruit and herbal teas but asking for a "black" tea caused consternation. If you insist, they will reluctantly go off into the back and bring you one tea bag. That happened every day.

The hotel has good features. Interesting architecture, friendly and helpful front desk staff and good internet. But the downsides were too big for my taste and whatever about the room design, a good F & B manager could make some big improvements very easily..

Room Tip: We were at the front but no noise problems, although it is a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerry96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and had a great time in Albayzin.
The suite was fantastic, great and very clean.
The swimmingpool was very nice and very cold in a beautiful area
Staff was very friendly

Room Tip: Suites on the poolside are quiet and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CorrieStellendam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed for five nights in a three bedroom apartment. The architecture of the hotel is very special, and makes for a Andalucian/Arabic atmosphere. When new this hotel must have been very fancy, but the years have taken it's toll and it seems a bit worn down by now.

Location is ok, but you have to walk for about 15 mins to get to the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almunecar hotels
2.4 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#4 of 25 in Almunecar
1,815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 25 in Almunecar
951 reviews
0.4 mi away
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#12 of 25 in Almunecar
1,415 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sol Los Fenicios by Melia
Sol Los Fenicios by Melia
#2 of 6 in La Herradura
376 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Caleta Bay
La Caleta Bay
#1 of 6 in La Herradura
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar

Address: Avenida Costa del Sol 23 | Avda Costa Del Sol 23, 18690, Almunecar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Almunecar
Price Range: $90 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disponibilidad ¡Sin cargos de gestion o por pagar con tarjeta de credito! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing