We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restaurant where you get to meet your fish”
Review of Mar de Plata

Mar de Plata
Ranked #3 of 261 Restaurants in Almunecar
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Wonderful seafood restaurant near San Cristobal beach
Almunecar, Spain
Level Contributor
393 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A restaurant where you get to meet your fish”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

For more than 29 years this classy seafood restaurant has maintained very high standards. The quality is superb. They will often bring the fish to your table on a bed of ice to get your approval before preparing it. My favourite method at this restaurant is prepared baked in salt. The fish is in effect poached within the hardened coating os a salt paste. Then the case of hardened salt is broken open and the fish is delivered to your plate with French service. The seafood is always fresh. One pays a little more at this restaurant, but the quality and presentation make it well worth the price.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ECraigMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    148
    33
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A VERY nice meal”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Was very surprised to find this large restaurant almost full when we visited at around 8.30 on a Thursday night in mid November. It didn't take all evening to realise why. The food was excellent as was the service and it had a very pleasing buzz all the time we were there.
It is a little bit more expensive than some of the others we ate in but we thought it was worth it

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EamonnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Would recommend this restaurant, the waiters were efficient & friendly & the fish paella was excellent. Would also recommend the hake with almond sauce.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank happyholidays090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“evening meal at Mar de Plata”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Have been to Almunecar for the past three years and have tried many of the restaurants. I read the reviews on Mar de Plata and decided to give it a go. I was with my wife and her cousin who lives in Olgiva. I had grilled prawns with monk fish and my wife had pork in pepper sauce. The food was excellent and the service too. The bill for three of us with 2 drinks each was 55Euros. Before we left we were given a choice of liquor on the house. A very pleasant meal and all round experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Grate find! the best lamb in Spain!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Booked this lovely restaurant for Lunch on our last day on holiday. grate quality food! will book this place for this christmas coming. Told my brother who lives in Granada to make a bee line to this little gem!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevinstirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mar de Plata also viewed

Almunecar, Province of Granada
 
Almunecar, Province of Granada
Almunecar, Province of Granada
 

Been to Mar de Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing