We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Casablanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casablanca
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Almunecar
Turre, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Got a very good deal from Booking.com and were not disappointed. Lovely Moorish style hotel with lovely ambiance and very clean. The bath was full sized and plenty of hot water to have a soak.
Free parking all around and situated just across from the beach. We had several walks in different directions ... all offering something beautiful to see.
The hotel was quiet ... only downside was the room above us - they didn´t take their shoes off and it sounded like they were tap dancing the whole time (grrrr!! ... inconsiderate but not the fault of the hotel).
Loads of restaurants to choose from and all the bars we used offered free tapas with drinks (and there were several in the 2 nights we were there!!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrystalTips2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    120
    34
    10
    9
See reviews for
50
147
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

When I asked the lady at the tourist info for family run Hotels in town, the first one she mentioned was Hotel Casablanca. I was a little sceptic if a 2-star place would serve my needs after 10 days living pretty much outside in an amazing valley near Granada, feeling like a frozen yoghurt and in pain from sore muscles. I knew exactly what I wanted: it had to be sweet and cosy, it had to have a view of the sea to calm my mind and a tub to take a very long, very hot bath. A spa wouldn't be bad either, which is why I considered 4-5 star hotels too. But when I passed Hotel Casablanca with its Moroccan style tiles, colors and other details, the nice porch outside and the location, I fell immediately in love. In comparison, the 4-5 star hotels were ugly high rises destroying the look of the entire sea promenade.
I hadn't made a reservation (it was late November) and I only asked for 1 night. It didn't keep the staff from being friendly. At the opposite, Pablo returned immediately from his break to show me the rooms himself and answer my million questions. And yes, the rooms are cosy, the view is as beautiful as it gets, the sea close enough to wake up with the sound of it, the bathroom had a tub and Pablo as a real Spanish charmer a delight to deal with. They make fresh orange juice in the mornings, which you can enjoy together with a strong coffee and a toast or croissant outside at the porch whilst watching the town get back to life. Of course, if you have one of the rooms with a terrace, you might want to have your breakfast served there. Also heard that food would be great there but didn't have the chance to try, so I'll have to make sure to get back one day soon.
All in all, highly recommendable, very good value for money!

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with a terrace on the front, especially if you stay longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiebkekoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

this was the second time we had stayed at the hotel, last year in may and this year in october. we came back because the hotel is beautifully decorated in moorish style and is just across the road from the beach the view from the balcony rooms are stunning our room was spotless they are cleaned every day .the only thing we missed was not having a fridge in the room. breakfast is extra but we found it a little limited. on our last day we had a superb paella from the restaurant which was excellent. would definitely come back

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room a little extra but definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katnatalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here in early October - and this smallish hotel has everything you could need for a relaxing stay. The decor is Moorish / Moroccan in style, and the hotel is very clean. Rooms cleaned every day and towels changed etc. Spacious room with modern bathroom, hairdryer, tv etc. We didnt pay extra for balcony / seaview but we did ask for a room with that - and got it. I guess at busier times you may have to pay. Location is great - on a small plaza, and right over road from the 2 beaches. Its also near to the parrot park, so the noises at dusk add to the atmosphere!!. Staff are friendly and helpful. We had water leaking from the room upstairs into our bathroom and it was fixed straight away. We only ate breakfast there once and it was basic but good. Almunecar is lovely, more Spanish than resorts on Costa del Sol - with the added bonus that you get tapas with every drink you order in any bar. I love that!!! The beaches have greyish sand and are pebbly, but clean and the water is clean too. It was still hot in early October too, which was a bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, you might get it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliaandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The entrance is impressive, the food excellent and very reasonable, the location right on the square, across the road from the beach was perfect, and parking was easy and free, in September. We didn't pay the extra for the balcony and sea view, so not a room to spend much time in, but that's fine for us.
The decoration of the rooms was a bit naff - the rooms seem to have been redecorated, but oh dear! if the curtains were better quality and a different colour, if the bedspread matched...the furniture was completely out of keeping with the Arabic theme! Bathroom a bit small and cramped, but for 2 nights it was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

stayed at the casablanca in sept 2013.we had a family seaview balcony room which we had to pay a bit extra for on arrival.should of haggled but couldn't be botrhered. the room was spacious and very clean with some nice free standing furniture.the bathroom was modern, beautifully tiled and spacious.the hotel has a arabic theme in decor and is in a great spot very near the beach. a the staff are young and friendly. i would definately stay again.
a couple of negative points. there were some marks on the walls in the room that would take 20 mins to sort out and the very grand wardrobe had an awful selection wire/shop coat hangers. get some new hangers! ;-) but these are very minor points . had a very pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked this through booking.com at short notice as we had a couple of days spare between city breaks and it made the trip ! What a lovely hotel, smallish rooms but a perfect base for exploring the area. Helpful staff, very clean and amazing decor. There is an evening market in the square outside the hotel and the hotel bar is a good place to sit and watch the world go by. We didn't have breakfast as there are so many places to eat along the beach that are very good. All in all, a lovely place to be and we will go back

Room Tip: Get a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almunecar hotels
0.3 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 24 in Almunecar
772 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
2.3 mi away
Sol Los Fenicios
Sol Los Fenicios
#2 of 5 in La Herradura
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arrayanes Playa
Hotel Arrayanes Playa
#17 of 24 in Almunecar
74 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#12 of 24 in Almunecar
1,249 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bahia Tropical Hotel
Bahia Tropical Hotel
#7 of 24 in Almunecar
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca

Property: Hotel Casablanca
Address: Plaza San Cristobal 4, 18690, Almunecar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Almunecar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casablanca 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 39 bedrooms offering guests a comfortable and friendly stay with all the necesary to guarantee your satisfaction.Is located in front of two important beaches of Almunecar,in the main promenade. Almunecar is considered one of the most attractive tourist points and further on the Andalusian coast. Not in vain its coastline is known as the Costa Tropical , a name consistent with its long beaches, its weather and its exuberant tropical and subtropical vegetation.It has a variety of services such as a restaurant where you can taste the Mediterranean cuisine with fish and grilled meats as well as special dishes of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing