We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
57
18
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
18
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooking facilities minute drive cave houses on site belem supermarket pool heat bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 79 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2015

We recently went on a 3 week roadtrip through Spain. One of the outstanding highlights was this delightful accommodation. With a sparkling pool, and a warm reception from Bethem we were set for fun. As a family of 5 with teenagers we stayed in one of the 10 or so cave houses. Spotlessly clean with all the equipment one requires (incl. a kettle!).
The local villages provide all the delicious local foods and restaurants and Bethem could not have been more helpful, including booking us tickets and bus passes for our onwards journey to Grenada.
The dry heat of the desert in August with the sparkling pool meant that we spent quite a lot of time swimming and suntanning, but both my wife and I had an excellent massage and turkish baths at the on-site spa and as a family we also drove to see some spectacular old buildings and views to the top of the Sierra Nevada.. Not sure about a previous commentator who said it was not really a cave. We took a walk around the grounds and it was really interesting, you can see where there are some really old caves that may possibly be refurbished at some time and speak to Bethem about how life was in her grandfather's day when they lived in this place.

Room Tip: All rooms have great outlooks and of course every room maintains a constant temperature of 19C no matter what is going on outside.
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johno H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2015

Location: 10kms outside of Guadix, near small village
Hotel: rooms not really within a cave; have pool, bbq, bath
Room: Cave like interiors, living has wood fired heater
Positives: Change from usual hotel settings, close to nature, free parking
Negatives: not really a cave, not many food options nearby
Ranking at time of writing: 2 out of 10 hotels in Guadix

We were eagerly looking fwd to our stay in a cave, but it wasn’t so, maybe we misunderstood their advertisement. The hotel isn’t really in a cave even though it does have such a feel. There are 8-10 rooms in a row, a swimming pool for warmer days and a couple of barbeque pits. They also have an Arabic bath within what appears to be a cave.

The hotel is located 10 kms from Guadix on the other side of the highway and the best way to reach there is by driving towards Purullena and then following directions to El Bejarin. There isn’t much around the hotel except from a small bar in Bejarin that serves wines and small dishes. The hotel didn't serve dinner and offered breakfast at extra cost. They do have free parking though.

Our room had 2 parts, a living room with a kitchenette, sofa and a fire place and a bedroom with a double bed and attached bathroom. The fire place was much needed; we had to purchase wood from them though. The bathroom facilities were of average quality. The stay was cosy even though the rooms do have a bit of a tired look. Maybe we were a tad disappointed because of our expectations.

If you are looking at a true cave experience then you may want to look elsewhere, but for a change from the usual hotels in the city, this place offers a nice option only if you have a car. If I'm back in this area then I'd look for something else.

Room Tip: 7 out of the 8-10 rooms face one way, so not much to really choose from, if you want to be closer to reception, baths and parking then opt for 1-4
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Traveleator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2015

we spent a most interesting valentines night here.
The place is amazing, rather hard to find, but such a wonderful retreat once there.
The room was very comfortable and so atmospheric.
However the heating and hot water were a little erratic.
Breakfast was 12 euros, definitely overpriced, and the cost of the Arabic baths started at 17 euros.
Belen at reception was very friendly and helpful.
The dog was almost over-friendly.

Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank janetwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2014

In June I visited the caves for the second time and it's still such a nice place to stay!
I love the variety of nature, the people and the cave itself! A perfect place to relax, don't forget the hammam, and come to your senses.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeboraKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Three of us stayed here as a base whilst we spent a weekend at the nearby race track. It was in March, so still pretty cold, but the cave itself was well insulated and heated, so no problems there. A bit scruffy round the edges, but great views of the mountains, very comfortable beds, good kitchenette facilities, and a fantastic shower. We didn't use the Hammam as we didn't have a chance, but it looked good. Reasonably convenient, only a 10 minute drive from Guadix, and ample parking.

Would love to go back in the summer, bet it'd be great with the pool.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews