We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cuevas Abuelo Ventura Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Guadix
Reviewed November 10, 2008

For those that dont speak Spanish the last two reviews were not toooo good. I speak enough to understand both the words & the sense.
However when i stayed here before i vowed to return with my wife which i have just done with 2 Aussie chums in tow - the place does not look as fresh & bright as it did but it was November & quiet.
The location is magnificent & to stay in a cave is pretty magical,the rooms were clean & DO have towels altho no toiletries other than liquid soap.
the only "luxury" is 2 small bottles of water in mini fridge.
One review complains that it was "money,money,money" - well our rooms were 72 euros which from memory is rack rate on the web site & our extras bill was 85 euros for dinner for 4 ( enough grilled meat for 6 !! ) 3 bts excellent wine,beers,water & about 8 teas & coffees.My wife is vegetarian & they had no trouble accomodating her.
There was no menu & maybe that is now the norm or maybe its because it was out of season.
The staff ARE friendly & helpful. Jan is Dutch & thus speaks excellent English & recommended excellent tapas bars. the tapas in Guadix is so good that there are not many restaurants.
If u want 5 star this is not for you if u want an experience & dont mind a cool some might say cold shower ( would be hot in summer - as water is solar hearted ) then give it a go for 1 or 2 nights.
I would recomend 2 in order to get a feel for Guadix & to acclimatise to cave life . If u like peace & quiet nothing beats a night in a cave - warm in winter & cool in summer even though the actual temperature does not change.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank elestoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Erwin1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tiluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: en la planta superior se estar mejor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RAFAEL j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Supongo que alguna que tenga relativa ventilación
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank WitySaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank servalfeuvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadix hotels
4.7 mi away
Cuevas Almagruz
Cuevas Almagruz
#3 of 11 in Guadix
65 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cuevas Hammam Abuelo Jose
1.0 mi away
Hotel GIT Abentofail
Hotel GIT Abentofail
#1 of 11 in Guadix
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Onate
Hotel Palacio de Onate
#4 of 11 in Guadix
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cuevas de Maria
Hotel Cuevas de Maria
#5 of 11 in Guadix
7 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cuevas de Rolando
Cuevas de Rolando
#8 of 11 in Guadix
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuevas Abuelo Ventura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuevas Abuelo Ventura Hotel

Address: Camino Lugros 20, 18500 Guadix, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Guadix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Guadix
Price Range: $37 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Cuevas Abuelo Ventura Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cuevas Abuelo Ventura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing