We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A little odd, but not bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cuevas Abuelo Ventura Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cuevas Abuelo Ventura Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Guadix
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A little odd, but not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

The place is under renovation/expansion, so it was a bit untidy on the outside. But the cave was very nice and clean. The way the cave and the public areas are decorated is however slightly absurd. The staff is very friendly and helpful, but perhaps not always well organised. Their generosity in serving free tapas, when you order a drink at the outside bar, was however absolutely overwhelming! And even though there were several groups of people at the bar at night, we were not at all disturbed by loud music when we went to bed. But our cave was at the upper level.

The surroundings are nice, with great views of Sierra Nevada and a rural atmosphere. You can watch most of Guadix, including the troglodyte quarters, from a look-out point on the hotel premises.

So all-in-all we enjoyed our stay. It was not perfect, and in some ways slightly bizarre, but we may come back if ever in Guadix again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the upper level, not down at the bar level.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pjsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    9
    1
    8
See reviews for
10
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Loud music until 3 am, owner refused to turn it down. Virtually no sleep all night. Great for clubbers, but not a hotel...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireMatt_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guadix hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I am so disappointed with this hotel. I had been looking forward to staying in the cave hotel more than anywhere else during the holiday but my night was completely ruined by the party they held in the courtyard right in front of all the rooms. With speakers and a strobe light placed next to our room we had no possibility of sleep. They started the music at 9pm (REALLY loud) despite no-one actually being there and promised after enquiring what was happening they told us the party would be finished by 1am. At 3am, the dreadful dance music still continued (to the extent we couldn't actually talk to each other and I began to feel really claustrophobic- we may as well have been outside it was so loud in our room!). Eventually at around 3.30am they moved our room further away but only after repeatedly complaining. We received no apology, and were made to feel it was our fault. They still wanted the full price for the room when we left the next morning at 8am. We booked this 4 months in advance - they didn't even inform us it was happening when we checked in so we had no option to find somewhere else to stay. I am a relaxed traveller who puts up with a lot, but there is no way I would ever recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuengirola
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

This was a very unusual stay in a cave and the setting was delightful. Breathtaking views of the Sierra Nevada mountains and the cave was very comfortable and clean. The food was good Spanish rural fare and the staff very friendly. The pool was lovely.
But....................... they also have a company called Infinity Sounds and we endured two nights of non-stop rave type music from 10pm until 4am Saturday morning and 10pm until 7am Sunday morning!! Even the sound proofing of the caves could not keep this noise out and we just could not sleep. People visited from all around the area and cars were triple parked everywhere on site. It was madness. We had booked for 3 nights but escaped on Sunday morning and came home early. Disappointing as it could be a beautiful tranquill setting.
Joan Venn

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fuengirolajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

I really liked the architecture of this cave hotel but was reluctant to choose it because of the previous poor reviews.
All is well, the new management are busy decorating and bringing the place up to scratch.
The rooms where cool, very clean and comfortable.
The staff where helpful and offered to cook us an alternative if we didn't like the traditional Spanish that we chose. It was very well done.
The views were amazing from the door to the room.
I recommend this hotel.
You will need a good map to navigate through Guadix.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2008

For those that dont speak Spanish the last two reviews were not toooo good. I speak enough to understand both the words & the sense.
However when i stayed here before i vowed to return with my wife which i have just done with 2 Aussie chums in tow - the place does not look as fresh & bright as it did but it was November & quiet.
The location is magnificent & to stay in a cave is pretty magical,the rooms were clean & DO have towels altho no toiletries other than liquid soap.
the only "luxury" is 2 small bottles of water in mini fridge.
One review complains that it was "money,money,money" - well our rooms were 72 euros which from memory is rack rate on the web site & our extras bill was 85 euros for dinner for 4 ( enough grilled meat for 6 !! ) 3 bts excellent wine,beers,water & about 8 teas & coffees.My wife is vegetarian & they had no trouble accomodating her.
There was no menu & maybe that is now the norm or maybe its because it was out of season.
The staff ARE friendly & helpful. Jan is Dutch & thus speaks excellent English & recommended excellent tapas bars. the tapas in Guadix is so good that there are not many restaurants.
If u want 5 star this is not for you if u want an experience & dont mind a cool some might say cold shower ( would be hot in summer - as water is solar hearted ) then give it a go for 1 or 2 nights.
I would recomend 2 in order to get a feel for Guadix & to acclimatise to cave life . If u like peace & quiet nothing beats a night in a cave - warm in winter & cool in summer even though the actual temperature does not change.

  • Liked — location & sleeping in a cave
  • Disliked — no menu & cool showers
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elestoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadix hotels
2.8 mi away
Cuevas Hammam Abuelo Jose
4.7 mi away
Cuevas Almagruz
Cuevas Almagruz
#2 of 10 in Guadix
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel GIT Abentofail
Hotel GIT Abentofail
#1 of 10 in Guadix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cuevas de Rolando
Cuevas de Rolando
#8 of 10 in Guadix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Onate
Hotel Palacio de Onate
#4 of 10 in Guadix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mulhacen
Hotel Mulhacen
#10 of 10 in Guadix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuevas Abuelo Ventura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuevas Abuelo Ventura Hotel

Property: Cuevas Abuelo Ventura Hotel
Address: Camino Lugros 20, 18500 Guadix, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Guadix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Guadix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Cuevas Abuelo Ventura Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cuevas Abuelo Ventura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing