We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing views and great location for touring...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cave house -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Baza, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gail M
Torrevieja, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing views and great location for touring region.”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and I along with our two dogs have just spent an idyllic 5 days at Bazavista Cave House. Long sunny days and beautiful evenings overlooking the town of Baza. The dogs loved their countryside walks and made new friends with the chickens. The pool was a welcome relief from the heat of the day. We never tired of the stunning views on offer from the two tiered patios or from the enclosed garden. To anyone who has not experienced living in a cave house we cannot recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views
Liked least: Low water pressure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariahall...
Baza, Spain
1 review
“Perfect.... Just What We Needed!!!”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My partner and I are both self employed and have lived in Benidorm for 10 years. Every August we vow to get out of the crazy town for a holiday and this year we opted for something completely different and it was the best thing we have ever done!!!

The directions we were given made the cave house easy to find and Pat and Gordon where there to welcome us and our crazy dog, they even supplied us with a little welcome pack which included a few essentials and a nice bottle of wine. What more do you need to start your holiday?

The cave house was absolutely fantastic, it was lovely and cool and the towels and bedding supplied where clean and fresh. Also the lighting in the rooms made you feel you where in your own perfect holiday bubble.

There were a few toiletries in the bathroom and the kitchen had an adequate supply of utensils. There was also CDs, DVDs, Books, a selection of Board Games and also a File with information of places to visit in and around Baza. I am also confident that if there was something you required that was not supplied, Pat and Gordon would be only to happy to help.

We came on holiday to chill and this was the perfect place. The only decisions we had to make was do we lounge in the pool overlooking Baza town or on the sun loungers watching the bird's of prey fly above.

Baza town is only a short walk away with a number of small bars and restaurants serving beautiful meals and tapas and there are a few large supermarkets and there is a lively open air market on Wedenesdays. The beauty of this location is you can go to chill or you can use the cave as a base to venture out and about, Granda is only an hour & 15 mins away.

To experience the best of what this location has to offer I feel you should have a car and even if you go in August take something to wrap around your shoulders as it does get a little cool when you are sat outside of an evening looking at the stars drinking a nice glass of wine and eating food from the barbecue.

Would we come back again? ......You try and stop us! To Pat & Gordon, Thank You again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The experience of staying in the cave house.
Liked least: Having to come back home to Benidorm, to go back to work.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karstev-1
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Loved staying in this cave house. It is quirky and full of character.
There are 3 terraces to sit on and just enjoy a drink and the peaceful ambience of the place and its surroundings.
There is the resident dogs, and chickens which I enjoyed feeding.
The owners are always on hand if you need advice on where to eat or shop..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike about the place
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2016
It was unfortunate that the Husband of this party had an attitude on arrival complaining it was quiet here and asking where the nearest water park was , He explained they hadn't stayed inland before , so I don't think the culture shock of being in a real part of Spain appealed to him and he took it out on his extended family and us .
We make it quite clear the maximum we will allow is 5 people and yet although their had 4 on arrival , They added an extra 2 teenagers afterwards . Then promptly had a party with about 16 other people here, we are not sure if even more stayed that night , I think the fact we lived so close and knew about their actions didn't go down too well .
After 4 days of their 11 day stay , we got an email saying they had found somewhere else to stay and had left the key in the door, they at no time complained or mentioned any issues to us or we would have looked at the mystery smell , of which nobody else has complained about , even though we have had guests staying here nearly everyday since May . Although we do allow dogs to stay it has been sometime since any have been in the house , so this again was a false statement . The sofa has been covered and the cover is washed regularly, although the cover had been taken off and possibley used as bedding for the unauthorised guests . We never have claimed it is a big pool but it seemed to keep their 4 children and extra guests entertained everyday they were here .
I hope that they enjoyed the rest of their holiday on the Costas , where they could find the required fish and chips shops and British bars . I think our write up makes it quite clear that if you are looking for that sort of holiday , you will be disapointed staying here .
I would also like to add that putting a drinking glass , wrapped up in the spare bedspread in the twin bedroom was childish and thankfully we found the joke , before any child could have gotten cut by broken glass . We also cleaned up after their party , after being eventually informed they had done a runner .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jilly5430
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“could have been cleaner”
Reviewed January 11, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

On arrival our first impression was how cosy and well laid out the cave is. There was a welcome bottle of cava as well as other supplies waiting for us. However, the shower and kitchen werent as clean as they should have been. The hob obviously hadnt been cleaned from the last occupants and the oven was in need of a clean too. Despite these little niggles we enjoyed our stay at the cave very much. Slepp quality was excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the cave itself was lovely
Liked least: the kitchen and bathroom weren't as clean as they should have been
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyphenist...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unique Stay”
Reviewed December 31, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My husband and I brought our 2.5 year old daughter for 6 days to stay in the cave. It was awesome. The wood stove and natural insulation kept us warm. The only windows are in the front away from the bedrooms so we slept well. It was a seriously out of the way and unique accommodation.

My daughter's highlights were the part of the cave that was only big enough for a small bed and blue twinkly lights (which she used as a reading nook), helping Daddy light the fire, and feeding the chickens.

The town of Baza is not pretty necessarily, but their spot of land is. There are loads of dogs barking at night but that didn't bother us. It's about an hour and a quarter to drive to Granada, then you have to park (which is about 20 euros per day) or you can take a bus for 9 euro each but it takes longer and doesn't really have a timetable. We took a drive to Zujar and Velez Blanco as well.

Wi-Fi really only works in the kitchen (I had to use it b/c I teach on-line) but it was fast enough.

When we arrived there were starter groceries, a travel cot set up, and clean linens. Really everything we needed. They did a wash of clothes for 4 euro a load.

So if you are up for something different, definitely stay! We had a fab time.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverbac...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed in the cave for 10 days with 3 children and it was a fantastic experience. The cave is very well equipped and plenty big enough for the 5 of us.
We had lovely welcome food & drink supplies for us when we arrived as well as a lovely touch with Easter eggs on the kids beds.
Pat and Gordon were very helpful and provided us with a lot of information and activities to do in the area, without being intrusive.
The area around Baza is beautiful and we recommend watching the sunrise from one of the may outdoor dining locations.
We had a great stay, very memorable - Thanks Pat and Gordon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The individuality of the accomodation
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing