We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Can't Leave, Staying Another Night”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cave Of Dreams

Our beautiful terrace in Summer which you are welcome to share. you have your own private terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our beautiful terrace in Summer which you are welcome to share. you have your own private terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Our beautiful terrace in Summer which you are welcome to share. you have your own private terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cave house -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Baza, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
BethKDfw...
DFW, TX
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Can't Leave, Staying Another Night”
Reviewed May 27, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Clive and Allan are the most amazing hosts, and the accommodations are wonderful. Such a unique and comfortable place, a beautiful, tranquil, rural setting, yet close to town and sites. We've been pampered with great conversation, wonderful food, excellent advice on where to visit, eat, etc. Absolutely the most comfortable bed since arriving in Spain. A perfect place for people open to new adventures, not looking for a cookie cutter 5 star.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2017
hi Beth thank you for your review we are really pleased that we met you . Glad you had a wonderful experience in the cave of Dreams we wish you both a continued good time on your tour of spain and a safe journey back to Texas.
Regards
Allan and Clive
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarvisMrM...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Twice in 4 months!”
Reviewed May 27, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We visited in February for our Anniversary and loved it so much we re-booked for Easter. The hosts are simply an encyclopaedia of knowledge about the local area and further afield. We wanted to return as there is so much to see and do that we couldn't squeeze into the 1st trip.

Allan & Clive gave us so many ideas for our visit. The weather was already beautifully warm and we did everything from swimming to visiting historic towns to walking in the Sierra de Baza.

We had our own serene little cave, very romantic and cosy. We had a relatively cheap break and that's another reason why we've been able to visit twice. I would say it's an area with something for everyone and of all walking abilities too. The cave, the hospitality, the range of things to do make this holiday uniquely desirable. We will visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2017
Thank yuo Sam and Ted so glad you enjoyed your return visit to the cave of dreams and we look forward to your next visit
Regards
Allan and Clive
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarvisMrM...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

When we booked this holiday, I never knew what a Hidden Gem we were about to discover. We drove from Malaga Airport, right to the door following the Owner's easy directions. The drive was enjoyable in itself, passing through some amazing landscape and on better roads than we have in the UK. The highlight for us was seeing the Sierra Nevada, set against a blue sky, with it's snow capped presence announcing the unique area of the Altiplano de Granada. This is where Allan & Clive's Cave of Dreams can be found, 10 mins drive from the main town, Baza, the name of the area also.

When you arrive, the first thing you will notice is that you have probably never been anywhere like this in the world. This is real Spain. When we drove up, Allan & Clive wouldn't have looked out of place on a cover of a magazine, as you can see from my photo. In the background, their amazing cave with all home comforts was such revelation.

We stayed in their guest accommodation for B & B. At 40 euros a night, you have a wonderful breakfast to look forward to, your own bedroom/ small studio area with brewing facilities and TV (we never even switched it on!), patio terrace with lovely furniture to laze away with a book and glass of vino tinto- you have your own bathroom facilities separately on the terrace. The twin beds are comfortable, the place is spotless and small details, like extra blankets and kimonos for nipping to the bathroom, all thought of in advance. The accommodation is very private, this would be as good for a honeymoon as a long stay in cooler months. As good for a romantic break as a base for friends travelling together. You feel like you are right in the countryside, yet have all the benefits of a big town, 10 minutes drive in Baza also.

The biggest surprise for me was how many amazing places there are to visit, within an easy driving distance. This unique historic area has a fasciniating past, with well preserved evidence of it's Moorish and Arab foundation. You can still see the ancient Muslim Medina, the Arab Baths are still open to use in the town. You have swim in Lake Negratin, a dazzling blue lake surrounded by mountains. Baza has a wonderful network of narrow streets and interesting architecture as well as modern bars and restaurants & shops. Further afield you can visit Granada and this is exactly what we intended to do. But we were so surprised & drawn by the scope of local places to visit, we ran out of time.

I couldn't end this review without mentioning the hospitality from Allan & Clive. If you need directions, tips for great places to see, good places to eat, shop, visit, these guys are an encyclopaedia of local knowledge. If you need anything, Clive and Allan have already thought of it and will go out of their way to help.

We have stayed all over the world, even in some of the top places in the world. We've spent night in hotels for the same price as you could go here for an entire 3 week holiday. Not only has it been one of our most treasured experiences, we have already booked to return, on the day we came back! This truly is a Hidden Gem.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2017
Dear Sam and Ted , clive and I are you enjoyed your stay at the Cave of Dreams. Thankyou for the great review and we look forward to seeing you in April
Mucho Gracias
Regards
Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew s
1 review
“A step back in time”
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Arrived for a property viewing trip, welcomed and helped no end by Alan n Clive.
Chilled out den, funky upstairs cave thanks guys

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2017
Good morning Andrew Clive and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay at cave of Dreams and look forward to seeing you on your return trip.
Thankyou for your review.
Regards
Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joseyrose...
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stylish cave with perfect hosts”
Reviewed January 19, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed here as a couple in October 2016 whilst travelling around the area. We could not have been more thrilled with standard of the accommodation and the wonderful hosts. We were so impressed after our 1st night that we extended our stay to 3 nights! Firstly the setting is just breath taking, in a quiet location but only 5 mins drive into Baza. The cave is very stylish with every mod con that one would need whilst still retaining its charm. The cooked breakfast and hospitality were second to none. Clive and Allan the owners have lots of local knowledge and can direct you to the best locations in the area. We would highly recommend this fantastic little gem to any couple travelling in this area

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2017
Hi Jo thank you for your review following your stay at the cave of dreams . Clive and I are pleased you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again at the cave of dreams
Regards
Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate J
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't take my word for it 'Go Experience it for yourself' You won't be disappointed! x”
Reviewed January 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Baza! Beautiful. Historical. Moorish! I mean that in the sense of you go home wanting more! Cave of Dreams - what can I say, a warm welcome, comfortable, oozes charm both cultural & modern. The hosts are quite the most amenable, warm, accomodating, flamboyant carachters who at all times have your needs and wishes at the heart of your stay. They will even take you off the beaten track to show you some of the most amazing places which fall outside of the tourists stunning places to visit, with full knowledge of where to stop off en-route to really show you the Andalucian local way of life, which is of course 'Manyana'! but in a good way. As a yoga teacher my main focus in taking time out is to steep myself in any culture, nature and surround myself with the things I love in life, one of which happens to be 'The Cave of Dreams'... Don't take my word for it, 'have the experience of your life' and take time to relax, recharge your batteries and book now to avoid dissapointment. It won't be the only time you do.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2017
Good afternoon Kate , thank you for your review following your stay at the cave of dreams.
Clive and I are pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience and look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaatlan...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Real Getaway”
Reviewed January 18, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We drove from Murcia through a wonderful mountain landscape to get to the Cave of Dreams. Brilliant welcome from Allan and Clive. Bright blue January sky, sunshine and snow capped Sierra. Our first night sleeping in a cave - dark, peaceful, cosy. Woke up to a sparkly frost outside and Allan's lovely and healthy breakfast. Our hosts guided us to places we would not had found without them. Must sees are the nearby lake Negratin and Castril. We had never visited the region before and having the Cave of Dreams as our base fitted the bill perfectly - sleeping literally in the hillside made us part of this beautiful landscape - highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2017
Hi Emma and Andy thank you for your review following your stay at the cave of dreams were glad to here that you had warm comfortable nights and enjoyed the breakfast. Glad you enjoyed your excursion to castril and not forgetting the secret place!!!!!!. We look forward to seeing you again
Regards
Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing