We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go there!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Botanic Bar - CLOSED

Botanic Bar
Price range: $11 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Liskeard, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Go there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you're within 50 kilometres of Capileira it's worth the detour to sample Guillermo's amazing food and hospitality. This young man speaks fluent English and has studied for five years in Bilbao to become a superb chef. He explains the dishes so you have some idea what to expect but the subtlety of his flavouring and the artistry of his presentation make the experience truly memorable. And you'd expect to pay a lot more for a dining experience of this standard. We had an evening meal of three tapas, a main course and a dessert for a very reasonable price. And he knows his local wines, too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    12
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hexham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique and creative tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had lunch here following reviews on trip advisor and weren't disappointed. This is the best tapas meals we have had - anywhere. They serve delicious, different tapas, far removed from the usual tourist fare, at a very reasonable price. The menu is in Spanish but the very helpful waiter translated and explained all the dishes for us

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairways56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Botonic Bar in Capileira”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Best meal by far that we had in this village during our 7 day stay. It had been recommended by 2 visitors that we got talking to so we went for lunch and had the most delicious tapas I have ever tasted. The egg plant dish (benenjenas) was amazing, and I am not normally a fan of egg plant. We took our 20 strong walking group there the next night and had a really good evening. It is a must go dining experience but you have to allow time for the dishes to be prepared, as they look as good as they taste.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected find- you must eat here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We found this place when we decided to take out hire car up into the mountains for a little adventure. For once I had not researched the trip so it was pure luck we stopped off at this village for luch. The whole place was utterly beautiful. Many hikers were passing through but there did not seem to be any of that 'tourist chaos'. This bar had awesome views but the food was a revelation. The staff were great, suggesting tapas dishes which were varied and presented beautifully. It really did seem odd to be eating Michelin grade food, half way up a mountain and it was the meal of our holiday! The staff seemed very happy, I wish them well and their efforts were much appreciated. Thank you!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Summerholiday77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best food we had in southern Spain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

When you get tired of standard Andalucian food (ham, cheese, bread. . . and very few vegetables), this is the place to go. Very original tapas that taste different than anything else we had in southern Spain, each one perfectly prepared. Special tapas on the menu for children. In addition to what you order, you get a free tapas with your drinks. Plus the view of the Sierra Nevada mountains from the balcony where we ate was absolutely spectacular.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zippy9631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanic Bar also viewed

Capileira, Province of Granada
Capileira, Province of Granada
 
Capileira, Province of Granada
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing