We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant”

El Corral del Castano
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Capileira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed December 11, 2018

Great food at reasonable prices, lovely staff, we ate outside in December in the sunshine best food so far in our stay in Spain.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 715 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2018


Highly recommended if visiting Capileira. Delicious food. I particularly loved their salad, not only delicious but also big enough to share for lunch. Their entire menu is unique. Very friendly staff and very good service. I loved the choice of outdoor seating.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank LPadron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2018

Worth going to Capileria just to eat at this restaurant. The chef really knows his spices and how to create marvelous dishes with a fresh taste. Unbeatable value for money. Cosy atmosphere in the middle of the town.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Quest55351949188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2018

We found this charming restaurant when staying for a long weekend in Capileira, one of the white mountain pueblos found the Sierra Nevada mountains in southern Spain.

It was beautfiul weather on our first occasion and we thought the terrace looked inviting so we sat outside and ordered some drinks and a couiple of plates to pick on. My wife ordered a plate of chorizo, longaniza and morcilla which was more than enough. But then the tapas were brought that accompany the drinks and we suddenly had our dinner for the day.

On the numerous visits that followed we have been enchanted by the owner/chef, his partner and staff on every occasion. The hobbit-like rooms that feature traditional architecture with wooden beams of the inside add another touch of charm. The food on each has been amazing. The menu del dia for 12 euros includes options like beetroot gazpacho, which was just the right side of beetroot where you could also taste the tomatoes in a harmonious pairing, Iberico pork or Redfin Tuna and desserts like chocolate profiteroles.

The chef is also engaging and is happy to chat when he's not in the throes of cooking. The menu has changed slightly every time we've gone but this is because of sourcing the best produce available and which is also in season. A very good sign if you ask me.

One other thing that I have to recommend is the steaks. I've had one of the best sirloins in all my life at this wonderful find.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank conradheartofdark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

I cannot underplay this restaurant. It’s a real gem and evidenced by the fact you need to book. Wonderfully interesting, varied menu. Great wine. The house wine is a real gem and the best meal we had here is a long while.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Corral del Castano also viewed

Capileira, Province of Granada
Pampaneira, Province of Granada
 
Pampaneira, Province of Granada
Bubion, Province of Granada
 
Capileira, Province of Granada
Capileira, Province of Granada
 

Been to El Corral del Castano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing