We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, incredible views”
Review of Hotel Los Cerezos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Los Cerezos
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Monachil
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We lucked out on this hotel. It was a last minute change of plan to stay outside Granada rather than in the centre and we were very glad we did. The hotel is about 5 km from the centre up in the hills overlooking Granada in the valley below. It is in a modern residential area but that really didn't matter. Hotel staff were great, room was great, dinner on the terrace was stunning. Food, wine and cocktails were all superb. You really need a car to stay here and they offer free parking. If you stay, make sure you visit the old town of Monachil and carry on up to visit the gorge above with its swinging bridges and waterfalls. Granada was an easyish drive and parking straight forward to find once you get there. A suprise gem of a hotel! Wouldn't have missed the dinner views for anything!....and the bed was more comfortable than ours at home!

Room Tip: There are some with spa baths and sun trap balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cj6475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 80 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

A lovely setting in the hills overlooking the city of Granada. A small, family-run hotel where the management and staff are so friendly and accommodating. This has been our fourth year to stay at Hotel Los Cerezos. During the summer, on their terrace, you can dine with the city lights of Granada twinkling below and with a welcoming fresh breeze. The food was excellent. If you are driving and want to avoid the confusing maze of city traffic, this is the place to stay. Literally minutes away from the city and the Alhambra, we use the hotel as a base to explore the rest of the province, the Sierra Nevada, the cave towns, and the seashore, all within easy reach of the highways. With a bit of luck we'll be back next year.

Room Tip: If rooms are available with terraces overlooking the city, you'll certainly want to opt for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We chose this hotel as we wished to walk in Los Cahorros and was a little disappointed to find it was not as close to the park as we hoped. It was however a short drive away. A short drive, but as with many things in Spain, not a simple one because the parking and entrance paths are not well sign posted…. That is another story. The hotel was reasonably easy to find with the help of the Garmin and the staff were welcoming and helpful, even though we arrived early from Granada. The barman kindly assembled a plate of tapas and good coffee. The room was spacious and comfortable. Wi-Fi was free but only readily accessible from the ground floor. Great swimming pool but access is with a key and by walking around the block, as the hotel is incomplete. The high light of our stay, and one of the high lights of our whole month in Spain was dinner in “the garden” overlooking Granada as the sun set. The food was good (contrary to another review) and the setting was wonderful. Surprisingly romantic for a hotel which appears a little unlikely. So yes, after a somewhat unpromising start we had a memorable stay in Hotel Los Cerezos

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had a well decorated, spacious room with coffee table, wingback chairs and a desk. The room opened out onto a terrace which overlooked the suburbs and mountains. The staff were very warm and welcoming and were keen to sort out any problems such as the free Internet dropping out all the time in the room. As far as the food, we would not eat there again as it was very ordinary and as for the breakfast - give it a miss!!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank PinkHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The rooms are spacious and comfortable; no noise from outside traffic (unlike previous reviews) even though one side of our room faced the main road. Beautiful pool and restaurant, with great views over the valley towards Granada and the Sierra Nevada. Food was wonderful and good value, although the set breakfast was basic continental. Not much english spoken here, but with just a little effort it was easy to communicate and staff were more than happy to help, eg, bringing more juice, coffee, etc. We had some complimentary tapas & drinks too on several days. No problem at all with the locals who used the bar area.

Not many guests when we stayed, which was fine. I've seen the negative review when they hosted a local wedding party, but I guess that's just the luck of the draw anywhere you stay. I can imagine it being good fun too, assuming the typically friendly Spanish invite other guests to join the celebrations!

Monachil itself doesn't contain much, although there are a few other nice-looking restaurants, which we didn't try. It's attraction is mainly as a base for holidays around the Alhambra Palace and the Sierra Nevada national park. Having seen Grenada, I'm not sure I would want to stay there, as it's quite a big town and the outskirts are rather crowded & busy. But it has a great museum of science and nature, Parque de las Ciencis, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurnerTrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

This hotel is located several miles to the south-east of Granada. We booked it because it looked nice and peaceful. However, for a start it was extremely difficult to find. Online maps mark it in various locations, none of which is correct. the hotel's own website map marks it in the middle of the Sierra Nevada mountains! I eventually tracked it down on Google Earth by literally examining one building after another. It would be hopeless staying here without a car, while on the other hand having a car is a liability. It's a good 20 minutes into Grenada where of course there is nowhere to park.
The hotel is a strange mixture of graveyard and outright bedlam. There were almost no guests at all when we there (oddly the week after Easter when one might have expected it to be busy) which ought to have made for peace and quiet though it was exceptionally weird being the only guests in the restaurant. Unfortunately, the hotel is the local social centre which meant that on our first night there was a massive wedding which went on all night and ended at 0630 with car horns being fired off by drunken revellers. These included the bride and groom who, you would think, might have had something better to do by that time of night.
The next night ought to have been more peaceful but sadly the hotel is on a very steep hill. This means a relentless parade of local oafs driving up and down on shrieking two-stroke mopeds. Because of the isolated location you can hear them coming for ages, screaming past, and then disappearing for ages. The steep hill challenges the moped engines to their very limits, hence the noise. The next downside is also linked to its social centre role. The bar is effectively the local pub and is filled all day with Spanish men who smoke and drink. The smoke pervades the whole downstairs and leaks up the stairwell to round the rooms.
The 'full' breakfast isn't very 'full'. A couple of pieces of toasted roll, tea or coffee, fruit juice and marmalade etc and that's your lot:no ham or anything cooked. It's essentially a slightly elaborate continental breakfast - nothing better. Not what you expect of a Best Western.
For all that the staff are polite though when we checked out the barman had to ring the owner to drive down and run our card. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well-presented and there is free wireless internet.
The upshot is I couldn't recommend a stay here. It isn't convenient, it is very noisy in the most unexpected way, and it stinks of smoke. Oh, yes, and the pool wasn't open either.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelbyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2009

Even it is not in Granada ( 15/20mn by car) and seems a little bit lost, there is a beautilfull view and it is quiet.

Romms are confortable ( no heater in the bathroom it can be cold during winter)

Friendly staff, free parking, breakfast is ok.

Flat TV, internationel channels.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruisadair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monachil
0.9 mi away
Hotel Granada Palace
Hotel Granada Palace
#2 of 9 in Monachil
674 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Almunia del Valle
La Almunia del Valle
#1 of 9 in Monachil
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Alicia Carolina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Cerro Del Sol
Hotel Cerro Del Sol
#63 of 122 in Granada
353 reviews
1.1 mi away
Huerta del Laurel
Huerta del Laurel
#3 of 9 in Monachil
71 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Abades La Marquesa
Hotel Abades La Marquesa
#72 of 122 in Granada
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Cerezos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Cerezos

Address: Avenida Libertad S/N, 18193 Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Sierra Nevada National Park > Monachil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Monachil
Price Range: $58 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Cerezos 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Los Cerezos is situated in the village of Monachil in the lowlands of Sierra Nevada. The hotel's situation beautiful and fantastic scenery with great views of Granada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Los Cerezos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Cerezos Province Of Granada/Sierra Nevada National Park - Monachil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing