We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cool cave”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Granada Province
Costa Tropical, Granada Province
Sierra Nevada, Monachil
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cave house -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Fenneke O
1 review
“Cool cave”
Reviewed July 28, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spend a week in cave La Pita in Monachil and had a super time. We are a family of 4, 2 sons 7 and 10 years old. The cave had lots of character and really a pleasant and cool. We took the bus to Granada a couple of times and really enjoyed the walk down the river. There are plenty of places to eat and also shop for groceries is very close.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipervi...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience! ”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Family of 4 with kids aged 7 and 4 stayed for 2 nights. We all loved the cave....especially the kids! It was an unusual and special experience. The cave is cosy and well equipped and the view from the sunny terrace is lovely. Monachil is a pleasant village, we particularly enjoyed the gorge walk, the art cafe and the jazz bar ( can't recall names). Parking near the cave was sometimes tricky but we just parked in the public parking and walked the 5 minutes. Granada is 15/20 minutes away; we went in for dinner and a wander one evening and for a full day also. Katherine is a friendly and interesting host. We would definitely return here.

Date of stay: October 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen L
Porterville, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Serene historic cave setting”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed here with my husband and 2 teenagers. We were able to easily see the cave location on the side of the hill but had a little difficulty in figuring out how to get there.

It was quiet and unique and we slept well. There is some mustiness as it is a cave. We enjoyed most of our time outside with the wonderful view.

For utter security when you are gone, bring a padlock. We did not lock it while gone and had no problems. There is a secure door lock from inside.

The shower was lovely, we appreciated the washing machine and wifi!

The owner was very responsive to emails; we really appreciated that!!!

Tip: Walk up the road to the cave location, don't drive! We found it easiest to walk as the path is very narrow for driving.

Tip: There are 2 bridges across the river - cross over and park. Facing the cave's hillside, walk to the bridge on your right. On the hillside of the bridge, a mini road veers up to the left. Walk up that road to the location.

Tip: There are many steep steps up to the cave so do not recommend this for people with bad knees!

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Date of stay: May 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
maylinchu...
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Charming unique cave in quite town”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A great snapshot of what life is like in a small town in Spain. We stayed as 2 couples in this place and enjoyed our stay. The cave is quite cool and dark so it's very easy to sleep at night. The kitchen was very basic but okay if you're not cooking any meals in. The shower and bathroom were great. There is a small table to sit outside and enjoy the atmosphere. Unfortunately bits of paint from one of the rooms kept falling off on to some of our stuff but besides this all was in working order.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frasally
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing retreat into a cave”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the cave. It gives a cool (literally) alternative to staying in standard hotels or apartments. There's no TV or radio but that just adds to the rustic charm, helping us to focus on more important things like relaxing, cooking and talking to each other! The Wifi works on the terrace if you need it.
The location is perfect. There are nice views of the surrounding hills, it's within 5 mins walk of the town's shops, bars, restaurants and Monachil is a great base for going walking in the Sierra Nevada mountains.
Katherine, the owner, speaks perfect English and is friendly, helpful and lives next door if you need anything.

Date of stay: September 2013
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed November 17, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Date of stay: November 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Our host and the location
Liked least: Not being able to sit comfortably in the living area.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing