We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget-priced hotel in downtown Atlanta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #69 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Staff at the hotel were particularly friendly and welcoming. We were upgraded from a room with two doubles to a king suite, no extra charge. The hotel is somewhat dated but clean. The hot breakfast was all right although with the hotel at capacity, the one breakfast server had difficulty keeping food stocked which lead to some long lineups. Lots of variety and great food, however. The hotel is about 3 blocks from Marta so using the subway for airport transportation is a bit more challenging. We used Marta, then grabbed a cab for the uphill walk to the hotel with our luggage. Great location if you're heading to the Dome or the World Congress Center, just a short few blocks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEAtlanta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay. Our building is in the heart of Downtown Atlanta and we are walking distance to all tourist attractions and Conventions. If our team can assist you in planning a future stay with us, please do not hesitate to give us call and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 620 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Wow! I was in Atlanta for July 4, 2013and had the most amazing time at this hotel!! The staff was great with directions and knowledge about happenings in the city and nightclubs. A concierge by the name of Malik was extremely helpful and pleasant! To give you an example of the great level of customer service from Malik, a customer presented him with gifts of chocolate after proclaiming her great satisfaction with Malik and the customer service of the hotel. And the complimentary breakfast was scrumptious! Great selection of food choices. I would highly recommended this hotel to the highest degree!!
Thank you Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Atlanta for making my stay amazing!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamsc358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEAtlanta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

It is great to receive such complimentary comments about our hotel and staff members. Malik wanted me to personally thank you for your kind words for him.We are at a perfect location for business traveler and tourists, walking distance from attractions, conference center and lots of restaurants. Thank you for sharing the feedback from your recent stay. Your compliments and comments were appreciated and shared with the team. Our team will be happy to assist you in planning your next stay, so whenever you are ready to return to Downtown, Atlanta, please give us a call and let us take care of the travel details for you. Once again, thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Blessed,
This is the word I gave Vira on Wednesday, July 3rd of 2013 on my departure. We were treated with a very high rate of hospitality during our stay. The rooms from what I observed were managed very well, and were kept in very good shape on each of my three returns this trip. I hope and pray the Holy Spirit moves through the lives of those touched so they may come to a saving knowledge of Jesus Christ, for His kingdom come. Breakfast was hot and delicious, and I was met by a pleasing,"Good morning." each and every day. Thank you for all of your hard work and lovingkindness! Mark

Room Tip: If any rooms were as accommodating as mine, there should be no trouble in finding a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEAtlanta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

It is a great treat to read your recent review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Atlanta. I remember having the conversation and your statement of "you stay being a blessing" was with me for a long time. We strive to provide service that is beyond expectation and I am pleased you were able to experience this first hand during your special trip to Atlanta and much more on your every return trip. I thank you for your kind words. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for three nights and from the check in we were well taken care of. The few minor hang ups were immediately dealt with and we felt throughout our stay that we were valued guests. The hotel is close to CNN, aquarium, and World of Coke, we were able to walk. You will pay for parking but easy in and out if you need to use your vehicle. Rooms are good size, clean, and have both fridge and microwave. Breakfast is average but again, the staff was so helpful. My teenaged kids enjoyed the workout room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEAtlanta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

We thank you so much for great feedback. I am sure a lot of travelers will find your review most helpful. I was proud to read the notes about the breakfast hostess. Your feedback is very important to our efforts to continuously improve guest satisfaction: we strive to do the best job we can, and reviews like yours make it all worthwhile. We certainly hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was a reasonable deal for a trip to a conference at the Ga. World Congress Center...cheaper than the hotels right by the GWCC and the Olympic Park. My 7th-floor room was quiet if not huge and had a fridge, microwave, and free wifi with tolerable bandwidth. Free breakfast was a little more than just cereal, muffins, and bagel-shaped objects, with scrambled eggs, bacon or gravy, biscuits, and greenish bananas. Styrofoam everywhere, but that's Atlanta for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEAtlanta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for staying with Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown. We are at a perfect location for business traveler and tourists. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast. We, here at the hotel make every possible effort to make it a vital part of your enjoyable stay. We appreciate your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed one night, looking for something cheap, close enough to both Lakewood Amphitheater and Turner Field. The front desk staff was very friendly. Room was a little small, and you can tell this is an old building (it is downtown, afterall), but we weren't looking for luxury. Beds seemed very small - we were in double beds, none of us tall, and our feet almost hung off the ends!There are no snack machines, beverage vending only, but snacks were provided by front desk upon check in. Our only real problem was a smell in our bathroom - pretty much reeked of open sewer, and the fact our toilet wouldn't clear until several flushings/hours. We should have called and asked for another room, but got in after midnight from a concert and were very tired, so after showering, we kept the bathroom door closed. We told the front desk at checkout the next day and they said had we called, we would have been switched to another room immediately. They refunded us $15 to pay for our overnight parking, which was a nice gesture.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amberrlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Am_bird,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for the front desk staff. This encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, I am sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay especially with the bathroom issue. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Good location downtown with lots around, once you find it. This is a Holiday Inn Express and there is a Holiday Inn located right nearby - we got the two confused. Parking is an additional daily fee and is located in a parking garage right across the street. We were there to visit Georgia Tech and it was less than 10 minutes from the admissions office, so that was nice. The staff was extremely courteous, talkative and pleasant. The elevators are a little small and slow. Our family of five basically filled an elevator. The lobby, free breakfast area and our room were nice, but the elevators and hallway to our room were old and in need of some updates and better lighting. We got a two room king suite, however there was only one small bathroom and you had to travel through the bedroom to get there. Also, the sink was not in the bathroom, it was outside of the bathroom in the bedroom. It's OK except for when you have kids constantly going into the bathroom and then washing their hands at night.

Room Tip: Elevators were slow/small and when busy you had to wait. Recommend a room on the lowest floor so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEAtlanta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for staying with Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown. We are at a perfect location for business traveler and tourists. I am sorry to hear that you were not comfortable in your room. Our building is a historic piece of Atlanta. Due to this, we have a variety in room floor plans ranging from Suites to Double bed. On your next visit to Atlanta, please contact the hotel and give us a chance to offer you an upgrade on your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Atlanta Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
#94 of 174 in Atlanta
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The American Hotel Atlanta Downtown - A DoubleTree by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Atlanta/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown

Address: 111 Cone St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-2103 (Formerly Centennial Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: $146 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to downtown Atlanta's most conveniently located hotel — the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown. Centered in downtown Atlanta, the Holiday Inn Express provides guests with affordable accommodations within close proximity to Atlanta's world-famous attractions, including the Georgia Aquarium (3 blocks), World of Coke (3 blocks), Philips Arena (4 blocks), CNN Center (4 blocks), Georgia World Congress Center (4 blocks), Centennial Park (2 blocks), and AmericasMart (2 blocks). Whether you're in Atlanta for business or to unwind with your loved ones, you'll enjoy our comfortably-appointed guest suites, which now include complimentary high-speed Internet and a host of other amenities. Not to mention, you'll savor our complimentary full hot breakfast before heading into town for the day. Enjoy the best of comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Downtown Atlanta. Remember, we're within walking distance to Atlanta's most-visited attractions and venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centennial Hotel Atlanta
Super 8 Atlanta
Atlanta Super 8
Atlanta Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing