We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service, management, and experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #60 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible service, management, and experience”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

There was only one poor woman working the front desk upon our arrival who was checking in a line of guests and answering several phone calls it took us 45 minutes to get checked in. The owner was doing anything but helping her. When we finally got our keys, they didnt work. Three sets of keys and 30 minutes later, we finally got in our room. The next morning I made the mistake of eating the complimentary breakfast - runny gross eggs, microwaved bacon, watered down juice ,etc. To top it off, I must have told the person at the front desk 10 times not to charge my card because I paid through Expedia (and had my receipt with them). Monday morning, of course, they've charged my card and are telling me that I won't get the money back until 3 days from now. This was the worst hotel experience I have ever had.....ever.

Room Tip: choose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us. We are very sorry you experienced an undesirable stay and level of customer service with us. The problems you mentioned with the levels of customer service at check in time was due to an unexpected rush but it has been taken to heart as we will be improving our methods. Please note that this is not typical of the Holiday Inn Express experience as we aim to provide and we will continue to work on these areas in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    195
    97
    26
    22
See reviews for
125
108
23
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I was blown away by the personality of the entire service staff. Front desk and housekeeping all had a ton of positive energy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
It is wonderful to read your recent review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Atlanta. We strive to provide service that is beyond expectation and I am pleased you were able to experience this first hand during your special trip to Atlanta. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

A small European style hotel located close to the WCC, Georgia Aquariam, Peachtree St. and Olympic Centennial Park.

The property is clean and completely remodeled. The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed. Elevators are small and the hallways could use air conditioning but overall a very nice property.

My single room was a bit awkward trying to see the TV while in bed but only a minor glitch.

Free breakfasts were awesome with a variety each morning. Eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt and juices.

The number one reason to like this hotel is service and hospitality. From the very first evening, I felt welcome. This included the front desk staff, the breakfast room personnel and even the maintenance person. Little things like a bottle of drinking water for guests when they come in from a walk are things which other hotels don't even think of.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
We thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Downtown as your Atlanta destination. We certainly enjoyed having you here with us. Your compliments and comments were appreciated and shared with the team. We are always looking for opportunities to improve the guest experience and it seems our staff members of all the various departments made us proud. Our team took pleasure in assisting you with your stay and truly looks forward to serving you again when your travels return you to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My Wife and I and one child, stayed in this hotel for three nights while in Atlanta, our stay was
great, the hotel was recently remodeled and they did a great job. The hotel staff was great and
they were very helpful. The free breakfast was more than we than we expected, eggs, bacon,
fruit,coffee,etc The hotel is downtown and in walking distance to all attractions, we really enjoyed our stay and will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Room with double queen bed and a little smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
The entire staff of Holiday Inn Express & Suites thank you for such a great review and the kind comments and for choosing us as your Atlanta destination. We certainly enjoyed having you with us. We are so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast. We are very proud of it and make every possible effort to keeping it enjoyable. Our team took pleasure in assisting you with your stay and truly looks forward to serving you again when your travels return you to our area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I have to start this review saying that it was never our intention to stay in downtown Atlanta. I called the hotel just to check on a rate and was pleasantly surprised when the gentleman on the phone said the rate was what it was. We booked immediately then started planning our evening and day around Downtown Atlanta. Dan at the front desk was incredible. Consider yourself lucky if he is working with you. We will put this location in our list of must stays for the future next time driving through Atlanta.

Room was huge, Dan put us on the 9th floor so we got great views off downtown. Location is perfect for a quick walk to Olympic Park, the World of Coca Cola and the Aquarium.

Thanks again Dan for making the evening perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEAtlanta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown to be your host for your stay in Atlanta. We thank you for writing a lovely review for our staff member. We are happy you had an enjoyable stay. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

I loved everything about the hotel. The rooms are small, but just right for 1-3 people. We were walking distance from CNN and Centennial Park.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FamilyAdventurer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEAtlanta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites as your Atlanta Downtown destination. We certainly enjoyed having you with us. We hope you can find time to come back later this year and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Location ==> ok
Front desk ==> good: polite, effective, professional.
Facilities ==> bad
Room ==> bad (barely a window)
A/C ==> deffective
bathroom ==> too small. (shower and bathtub - OK, but nowhere even to put toothbrush)
price value ==> extremely expensive for the value. Westin is the same price, infinitely better

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cimu0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEAtlanta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us. Your compliments and comments were appreciated and shared with the team. We are very sorry you experienced an undesirable stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback. Your comments will help us correct these service issues. We hope that you will consider giving us another chance and staying with us next time you visit Atlanta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Atlanta Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#80 of 173 in Atlanta
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenn Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown
Address: 111 Cone St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-2103 (Formerly Centennial Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to downtown Atlanta's most conveniently located hotel — the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown. Centered in downtown Atlanta, the Holiday Inn Express provides guests with affordable accommodations within close proximity to Atlanta's world-famous attractions, including the Georgia Aquarium (3 blocks), World of Coke (3 blocks), Philips Arena (4 blocks), CNN Center (4 blocks), Georgia World Congress Center (4 blocks), Centennial Park (2 blocks), and AmericasMart (2 blocks). Whether you're in Atlanta for business or to unwind with your loved ones, you'll enjoy our comfortably-appointed guest suites, which now include complimentary high-speed Internet and a host of other amenities. Not to mention, you'll savor our complimentary full hot breakfast before heading into town for the day. Enjoy the best of comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Downtown Atlanta. Remember, we're within walking distance to Atlanta's most-visited attractions and venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centennial Hotel Atlanta
Super 8 Atlanta
Atlanta Super Eight
Atlanta Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing