We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Help!!! Laptop Stolen From Room Hampton is not helping!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
Ranked #45 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2010

My Laptop was stolen from my room, in the evening. They offered no restitution no help.
It cost me over $ 2400 to replace and rebuild the software.
Their insurance company won't help either!! Beware!!!!

Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
Thank douglassvilleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton-Atlanta, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2011

While we feel badly about your expense, both myself and our hotel's insurer, a nationally reputable company, did a thorough investigation and could find no supporting evidence that the laptop was stolen at our hotel. We regret that you felt it necessary to publish such unsubstantiated accusations but, nevertheless, hope to see you again as a guest at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2010

This hotel has everything you'd expect in a Hampton, plus the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. In addition, they provide coffee in paper-based cups rather than that nasty polystyrene that spoils the flavor, and they have cookies at the front desk every afternoon. What's not to like?

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethB1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Front desk was the definition of Southern hospitality. The room was great overall - comfortable beds, heavy curtains, strong wireless internet signal, iron/hair dryer/coffee maker,... Only minor negative was that the carpeting was a bit old and dingy. I liked the interior of the hotel in general because it had modern fixings but still retained some of the old charm of the original building, plus the artwork was great. It's located right in downtown, next door to much more expensive hotels. A far-above-average breakfast was provided for free every morning, and there was a great workout room. There was also a business center with 2 computers and free printing.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnlyHighways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

This is a no frills hotel, but a good value in the downtown Atlanta area. There are a variety of restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel, but as noted by some of the other reviewers it's not the best place to walk around after dark.

The rooms are fine, with flat screen TVs and very comfortable beds. Free high-speed internet access is include and the free breakfast is better than average.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laignappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

This Hampton Inn located in downtown Atlanta is a quaint hotel. It is located within walking distance to CNN, Olympic park, Hard Rock Cafe and several other restaurants. I was in room 810 - which was definitely showing its age. Underneath the bathroom sink, there was broken tile and big holes in the tile (how tile got broken under the sink - who knows). The room itself is smaller than most Hampton Inn, but comparable to most rooms you get at downtown locations. The staff there was great - especially the front desk staff ! Shower pressure comes and goes in the middle of your shower, which can be very annoying. But overall, this hotel great and I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Atlanta.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itsjustme47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

I stayed at this Hampton Inn the weekend of July 23-25. The hotel itself is an older property but is in good condition. They offer parking at $18 per night in a secured lot next to the hotel (Atlanta PD actually is stationed in the lot) and the rooms are your standard size. There really aren't many dining options near the hotel, but they offer a pseudo mini-mart in the lobby. (they ran out of bottled water Saturday night but I found some in one of the vending machines.). Nearest convenience store is a few blocks away.

Now to the reason why I will never stay here again.

I'm not a skinny person, nor am I a fat person. I'm average - at least that's what everyone tells me. Sunday morning prior to check out, I needed to return to my vehicle to retrieve an item. I was wearing a tank top and some shorts as it was quite warm outside. Went out and came back in with no problems. However, upon checkout, the front desk person (named Dale) said to my face (and I quote):

"I was going to tell you to put a t-shirt on."

DID THIS GUY JUST CALL ME FAT???

When I told him in reply "thank you for helping my self-confidence today", he told me that "I shouldn't take it as an insult.". Did I also mention that there were other individuals in the lobby as well?

I left the hotel and nearly broke down in tears on the way to the airport. In all my years of traveling I have NEVER experienced this. I would never expect someone to call me fat to my face...and then tell me that I shouldn't take it as an insult.

Also, on top of all of that, the cleanliness of my room comes into question when there was an empty condom wrapper on the floor near my bed. It was there when I arrived. It was still there when I left.

Never again will this hotel have to worry about seeing me.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Spent one night on way to Orlando from St. Louis. Visited several sites downtown, World of Coca-Cola, The Varsity Drive In, CNN Building and Centennial Park. The Hampton was very close to these attractions and within walking distance to several of them. Some reviews indicated the rooms were noisy, we were on the sixth floor and did not notice any outside noise. The included breakfast was very good and had a lot of options. The breakfast area was very unique with its street level view.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slgerals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown

Address: 161 Ted Turner Dr NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#45 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#59 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: $104 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta-Downtown hotel housed in a beautifully renovated historic building. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, our hotel in downtown Atlanta was built in 1927 and provides a charming retreat with modern amenities. We are within walking distance to many attractions. Stroll through Centennial Olympic Park and splash in an interactive fountain or enjoy a concert. Observe what goes on behind the scenes during a CNN Studio Tour at CNN Center, just a few blocks away. Attend an Atlanta Falcons football game at the Georgia Dome. Phillips Arena offers sporting events, concerts and more. Explore the World of Coca-Cola, featuring a gallery dedicated to Coke and pop culture. Visit the campuses of Georgia State University or Georgia Tech University. Delta, Georgia Pacific and other major companies are blocks from our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Reserve one of our 119 guest rooms and suites featuring king- or queen-sized beds. Enjoy the extra space provided in a guest room with a separate living room or seating area with a sofa bed. One-bedroom suites provide a private bedroom and a wet bar with mini-refrigerator and microwave. Connect to free WiFi to surf the web during your stay at our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Work at the spacious desk in a comfortable ergonomic chair. If you prefer, use the convenient lap desk while relaxing on the bed. Watch your favorite cable channels on the 37-inch flat-screen HDTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Hampton Inn Atlanta
Atlanta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing