We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
Ranked #42 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Hampton Inn Downtown Atlanta was in a great location for touring in downtown Atlanta, since it is located within walking distance of many attractions and restaurants. Only negative was $20 parking fee.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank M0mG1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

I arrived on a busy Saturday night and found no onsite parking. Had to park a block away in a parking garage with no elevator and some shady people loitering in the parking garage. Definitely not safe for families. The rooms are small and the bathroom area is very tight. The windows are the worst as they are paper thin and let in all of the traffic and city noise which lasted until about 3am in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Chad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Chad G,

I’m very sorry that we fell short of your expectations. We are in a unique building that was built circa 1928 which includes the original windows. As for parking, there are some weekends that require us to utilize an additional parking lot. I will address your concerns with the parking deck’s management team.

Again, I do apologize for the inconvenience and I hope you give us another chance to serve you if your travels bring you back to our area. Please know that we value your business and will work hard to earn your trust once again. If you should have any further questions, please feel free to contact me directly.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The king suite was great and the room was very clean. The bed was comfortable and always nice to have a complimentary breakfast as well! The staff were great and I would definitely stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Our group was greeted with warm hospitality. The staff members were very attentive! The rooms were clean as well as comfortable, and the location was perfect. We were within walking distance from several major attractions. We will definitely be returning to this location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Lacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I travel for business 40+ weeks a year. I normally enjoy properties in historic buildings. Like this property they have a great location and are rather nice places to live for a few days. Unfortunately this property looks for large unruly groups during the holidays "to fill rooms". Don't expect the hotel staff to control these groups and prevent noisy parties in the halls, slamming doors to all hours, or any attempt to prevent annoying actives.

If you're a business traveler, or looking for a quiet place to rest after a day touring Atlanta, stay at the Doubletree across the street. The rates aren't much different and the quality of your stay will be much improved.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here if you want a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Del A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Del A,

Thank you for taking my call yesterday. Again, my apologies on the noise disturbance you experienced during your stay this week.

We value your business and hope that you will give us an opportunity to earn your trust again sometime in the near future.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Check in took about an hour to finally get us in a proper room. Had to be moved 3 times to a differnt room. They gave us one room someone was already in it. Did not use my reservation for my points. They charged my card to much. Took a week to get that straight.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank trbrtjmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear trbrtjmr,

Thank you for taking time to post a review about your recent stay. I do apologize for the unpleasant check-in experience when you arrived. I have addressed your experience with the Front Desk manager about the confusion when booking a reservation utilizing the Hhonors points & money promotion.

Please know that we value your business and will work hard to earn your trust once again. If you should have any further questions, please feel free to contact me directly.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I visited Atlanta for a conference of historians that was held at the Atlanta Hilton and I was so glad that I stayed at the downtown Hampton Inn. The building is on the national register, the free breakfasts were delightful (egg dish changes daily) and my room had funky, idustrial windows that I could open.

Room Tip: I wish I was higher than the 4th floor but I still enjoyed it. Cleaning staff will omit the air fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B F H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear B F D,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to post a great review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m so glad you enjoyed your trip to Atlanta for the Historians conference. As you pointed out, part of our uniqueness and charm comes from the building build in 1927.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown

Address: 161 Ted Turner Dr NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#45 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#59 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: $156 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta-Downtown hotel housed in a beautifully renovated historic building. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, our hotel in downtown Atlanta was built in 1927 and provides a charming retreat with modern amenities. We are within walking distance to many attractions. Stroll through Centennial Olympic Park and splash in an interactive fountain or enjoy a concert. Observe what goes on behind the scenes during a CNN Studio Tour at CNN Center, just a few blocks away. Attend an Atlanta Falcons football game at the Georgia Dome. Phillips Arena offers sporting events, concerts and more. Explore the World of Coca-Cola, featuring a gallery dedicated to Coke and pop culture. Visit the campuses of Georgia State University or Georgia Tech University. Delta, Georgia Pacific and other major companies are blocks from our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Reserve one of our 119 guest rooms and suites featuring king- or queen-sized beds. Enjoy the extra space provided in a guest room with a separate living room or seating area with a sofa bed. One-bedroom suites provide a private bedroom and a wet bar with mini-refrigerator and microwave. Connect to free WiFi to surf the web during your stay at our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Work at the spacious desk in a comfortable ergonomic chair. If you prefer, use the convenient lap desk while relaxing on the bed. Watch your favorite cable channels on the 37-inch flat-screen HDTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Hampton Inn Atlanta
Atlanta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing