We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
Ranked #41 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hotel is very clean and staff was very helpful and friendly. They only offer Valet parking so don't
think your going to park your own car. The location is right across the street from Georgia Tech.
So if your planning a visit to the School this hotel is for you. We only stay here because we wanted to try
something different, and we are glad we did. When you book this hotel book with the park and stay
package and use AARP or AAA. This will save you a couple bucks. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the road side on the upper floor and we did not hear anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    323
    116
    68
    44
See reviews for
341
189
57
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A very average Hampton Inn in a good location in downtown Atlanta. Just a few blocks from a good selection of restaurants and entertainment etc. 1/2 mile from the Georgia Aquarium.

The hotel itself was fine, built in a much older brick building with a very confined layout internally. The staff seemed friendly and helpful, although seemed not to be able to do very much about any of the problems we encountered when we arrived with rooms not being available etc. It was 6pm, so I was surprised that everything wasn't ready to go. The room itself was cramped and everything is wrapped around what used to be an open atrium.

All this being said, the rate being charged ($200+ per night) was far more than I would normally expect to pay for this sort of hotel, even given the location. There are far nicer hotels that had rooms available for similar or better pricing within a very short distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomcoombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear tomcoombs,

Thank you for your honest feedback. We are so sorry that we didn't meet your needs and expectations; however we will keep your comments in mind while we continuously work to improve our guest experience. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience and we hope to have another chance to serve you in the future.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterboro, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. You had to pay to park daily with a separate company. I was on a business trip and was afraid of being towed if I was late from leaving my conference. The signage was bad on the hotel. You couldn't see it until you were there to turn and the traffic kept you from doing that. Had to go all around three city block to get back to it. No security. The suite had mold/mildew or black dust all over the a/c vents. Just not a good experience. Still like Hampton Inn's this one just has some challenges.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Louann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night on September 16th for the Maroon 5 concert at the Lakewood Amphitheater. The queen suite was great! Comfortable beds, 2 tvs, and as always, great breakfast. The front desk was helpful with transportation suggestions to the Amphitheater. You can stay parked in their lot ($18 a day) til 5pm on day of checkout so that was great for sightseeing around town.
Only complaint was construction outside our window (the city was literally tearing up the road) which was very loud - all day- starting very early in the morning. This is not the hotel's fault so I don't knock them for it - just saying. Since the hotel is on the Historic Register the windows aren't soundproofed.

I'd definitely stay here when in Atlanta again!

PS - if you are going to the Amphitheater for a concert - we used Checker Cab and it was about $15 each way. Recommend them too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatordonnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at this Hampton for 3 nights. The queen suite was really nice, the beds were soft, rooms were quiet, 2 tvs, with frig and microwave, sink, and plenty of storage. Very comfortable temperature, and the free morning breakfast is definately a major plus.

Very close to attractions and Turner Field. Very friendly staff!!!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the queen suites!!! Love the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomingdale, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We went to Atlanta for a vacation to the Aquarium and the Zoo Atlanta. Our experience was great. I have 3 children and also brought my father. We all enjoyed your room....except for the smoke detector going off in the middle of the first night because my daughter turned the heater on. That was a wake up call for sure. I would recommend this motel to anyone staying in the Atlanta area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend trip with my children,to the Braves game.well when i called to check there availability i was told there was a charge for parking and i asked why and they could not answer that question,also when i arrived i was able to park my own car in there area and i didn't understand why i was charged for parking if its there Lott for the hotel,when we came back from the game on Saturday night about 11:30pm there were no spots to park i said to myself im not paying to park anywhere else,so before i went into the hotel to talk with someone the security guy came out and i asked him where i needed to park and he said he had someone getting ready to leave in just 5 min if i could wait i said sure well 5mins turned into 30mins and the person i was waiting on was one of the managers that was a joke and if im gonna pay to park there then there should always be a spot open and there is a pay to park toll both in the middle of the parking Lott that doesn't work so why is it there.also the room smelled like feet,the shower had a crack in the wall and you could hear every car going up and down the road from the room and the street beside the hotel there was construction going on on it so there was a metal plate in the road and when the cars road over it it made a loud noise so not much sleep while we were there,and the breakfast sucks there were no sausage and gravy biscuits the eggs tasted like i don't know what the only good thing was the waffles you make your self so on a ended note don't stay in room 412 if you wont to sleep and bring a snack for breakfast or go out cause there's is nasty.TO MUCH ROAD CONSTRUCTION GOING ON AT THIS PLACE.........

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Tim D,

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve and expected during your time with us. This is not typical of our hotel, and I have addressed your review with our management team. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

I do hope the next time you return to the area you consider staying with us again so we can have another shot at providing a great hotel stay.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#42 of 174 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
Address: 161 Ted Turner Dr NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#46 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#59 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta-Downtown hotel housed in a beautifully renovated historic building. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, our hotel in downtown Atlanta was built in 1927 and provides a charming retreat with modern amenities. We are within walking distance to many attractions. Stroll through Centennial Olympic Park and splash in an interactive fountain or enjoy a concert. Observe what goes on behind the scenes during a CNN Studio Tour at CNN Center, just a few blocks away. Attend an Atlanta Falcons football game at the Georgia Dome. Phillips Arena offers sporting events, concerts and more. Explore the World of Coca-Cola, featuring a gallery dedicated to Coke and pop culture. Visit the campuses of Georgia State University or Georgia Tech University. Delta, Georgia Pacific and other major companies are blocks from our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Reserve one of our 119 guest rooms and suites featuring king- or queen-sized beds. Enjoy the extra space provided in a guest room with a separate living room or seating area with a sofa bed. One-bedroom suites provide a private bedroom and a wet bar with mini-refrigerator and microwave. Connect to free WiFi to surf the web during your stay at our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Work at the spacious desk in a comfortable ergonomic chair. If you prefer, use the convenient lap desk while relaxing on the bed. Watch your favorite cable channels on the 37-inch flat-screen HDTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Hampton Inn Atlanta
Atlanta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing