We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, nice remodel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
Ranked #45 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed there during the Atlanta Gift Show with my husband and daughter - it was a great location for them to walk to the aquarium, World of Coke, CNN and Olympic Parking. Very convenient onsite parking! Just a block from the gift show as well. Our room was newly renovated and other than street noise, was spacious. We had a king suite, with refrigerator and microwave.
Will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: The King Suite is perfect if you are with a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Jenn C,

Thank you for taking an opportunity to post a great review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m so glad you found our accommodations and locations to meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

968 - 974 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

My daughter was very ill during our recent stay. Our housekeeper, Shemica, checked on us multiple times bringing clean sheets and towels. She even brought drinks and snacks for my daughter. Her kindness was greatly appreciated!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dee f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear dee f,

Thank you for taking an opportunity to post a wonderful review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

We strive to exceed your expectations so it’s always rewarding to hear the success stories about our team members like Shemica. I will be sure to praise her at our next employee meeting.

I hope that your daughter is feeling better.

Please come back and stay with us soon.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This Hotel was well situated for our visit to the Ga. Aquarium and other downtown attractions for a pre-News Year Eve getaway. Busy weekend with Holiday traffic, Falcons game on Sunday, and Peach Bowl on Monday (we visited Fri/Sat). Overall we were very happy with the King Suite and breakfast selection, but our enthusiasm was dampened when we returned to our room after 4 pm on Saturday and had not had any maid service at all. A call got a 30 min. response for a quick bed makeup and trash empty ( our decision since we were ready to relax). We had to call for electronics help for the bedroom TV twice (both times resolved). I would recommend this Hotel for location and their prior Trip Advisor rating, but was disappointed with these 2 situations

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jabbo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Jabbo21

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m glad you found our location to be convenient. However, I’m sorry that you experienced issues with the television and late housekeeping services. It is not a common practice of ours to clean rooms late in the day; unfortunately the events in town forced it beyond our control. Thank you for pointing out the quick response time of our engineering staff, I will make it a point to let them know you appreciated their service.

Please come back and stay with us soon.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

An outstanding hotel in an even better location. The front desk was helpful, the breakfast was great, and, again, you're getting a great value for this location. Don't expect anything fancy and remember that you are in the heart of the city with city noise. As long as that's fine by you, however, you'd be hard pressed to find something better than the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta-Downtown, Georgia.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Brandon K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m glad you found our location convenient for your recent trip to Atlanta.

We look forward to seeing you again for a return visit!

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I visited during Thanksgiving weekend, Overall I had a great stay!

Pros: Great location, within walking and close driving distance to all the typical tourist site (GA Aquarium, World of Coca-Cola, and The Philips Arena). Moderately priced parking. Clean and organized. Provides a little store in the lobby for last minute purchases. Also a computer is available in the lobby for guest use.

Cons: NO microwave or small refrigerator. That was a big NEGATIVE!!!

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist about great places to eat or visit.. They gave us great advice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joleesa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Joleesa N

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient to all the local attractions.

One thing that you pointed out was no microwaves and refrigerators available. While you’re correct we don’t offer them in our standard rooms, we do however provide them in all 42 suites in the hotel.

We hope to have you stay with us soon.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Pro: Extremely convenient to Philips Arena

Cons: Rooms on the Spring Street side are EXTREMELY noisy...they appear to be original windows that need to be replaced/renovated to dampen street noise. There were noisy people in the hallway at 4AM knocking on wrong doors, thereby awaking those who were asleep. Parking is a bit tricky and can get backed up. Check-in was slow, as there was only one person at the counter on a Friday night (that just so happened to be the night of the Madonna concert). Check-out was normal. I was not greeted as a Gold Hilton Honors member until CHECKOUT and was not given a room away from the elevator, as is in my profile.

I would only recommend this hotel if you are attending an event downtown close to this hotel. You should not plan to stay more than one night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear MisterGrace,

Thank you for a few minutes to post a review about your recent stay. I always appreciate hearing from our guests directly - including the comments that can help identify ways we can improve. I understand that the noise was an issue during your stay; while we do have additional security available during high traffic periods - we regret that noise was disruptive to you. I apologize that your comfort was interrupted by other guests and I will share your review with our security team.

I do hope the next time you return to area you consider staying with us again, so we can have another shot at providing a great hotel stay.

If you would like to discuss further, please feel free to call my at 404-589-1111

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We booked this hotel for its price and location. We didn't want to rent a car, so a hotel close to the sights we wanted, this fit the bill. We took Marta (2.50pp O/W)in from Airport and arrived on Peachtree area and close to hotel. When checking in I had a cold and asked for 2 beds instead of the king I booked. None were availble due to large group of men sport team at hotel, but desk clerk but us in a 1 bedroom suite with sofa bed to help us. Great room and since this is a older building they do have many of these larger units.Since the Hurricane Sandy was coming near the coast the temps dropped and winds picked up. We had to have mantinace come and turn heat on, then winds knocked out cable last night.
Many restaurants to choose from around area, we just didn't choose the right ones to eat at. Loved the Aquarium, Coke and CNN tour, easy walking just too cold those days.
No problems like some of the other posting wrote about, we were please with all staff.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandgirl6333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear islandgirl6333,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m glad our location was convenient for your recent trip to Atlanta and that we were able to honor your request to change your room type at check in. Sorry you experienced some of the bad weather caused by Hurricane Sandy; late October is generally a beautiful time to travel to Atlanta.

Looking forward to having you stay with us again!

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown

Address: 161 Ted Turner Dr NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#45 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#59 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: $104 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta-Downtown hotel housed in a beautifully renovated historic building. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, our hotel in downtown Atlanta was built in 1927 and provides a charming retreat with modern amenities. We are within walking distance to many attractions. Stroll through Centennial Olympic Park and splash in an interactive fountain or enjoy a concert. Observe what goes on behind the scenes during a CNN Studio Tour at CNN Center, just a few blocks away. Attend an Atlanta Falcons football game at the Georgia Dome. Phillips Arena offers sporting events, concerts and more. Explore the World of Coca-Cola, featuring a gallery dedicated to Coke and pop culture. Visit the campuses of Georgia State University or Georgia Tech University. Delta, Georgia Pacific and other major companies are blocks from our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Reserve one of our 119 guest rooms and suites featuring king- or queen-sized beds. Enjoy the extra space provided in a guest room with a separate living room or seating area with a sofa bed. One-bedroom suites provide a private bedroom and a wet bar with mini-refrigerator and microwave. Connect to free WiFi to surf the web during your stay at our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Work at the spacious desk in a comfortable ergonomic chair. If you prefer, use the convenient lap desk while relaxing on the bed. Watch your favorite cable channels on the 37-inch flat-screen HDTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Hampton Inn Atlanta
Atlanta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing