We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
Ranked #32 of 177 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Terrific find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Some of the staff remembered my name, all of them had warmth and interest in pleasing the guest.The hotel is historic. The dining area has 15+ ft. ceilings. Breakfast is the standard that Hampton bases their reputation on. The suite rooms are comfortable and very clean. Ours had 10-12'ceilings. Location is across less than a block from the Westin and across the street from the Marriott. Its about a 15 minute walk to the convention center. It is a few blocks from the aquarium and the Coca Cola Museum.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmaven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton-Atlanta, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Travelmaven1,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review about your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m so happy you enjoyed your stay and our staff made you feel welcome.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Hospitably Yours,
Dana Lamb - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    266
    96
    54
    31
See reviews for
272
154
49
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

pros- the hotel is very convenient for those who want to see the atlanta sites. it is generally clean and the staff is very friendly. the coffee/tea available 24/7 was a great touch.

cons- rooms are quite small. my room had a mild funny (though not unbearable) smell taht probably would have been gone if the room could be aired out. alas, the windows of the room don't open. if you are arriving at night and are looking for some standby needs, make sure you get them before you arrive in downtown. there is little available at night (ie no convenience stores, small supermarkets). fitness room only had minimal equipment. tehre is no pool. maybe my expectations were too high based on all teh reviews and it is a great value for its location, just don't expect a great hotel. acceptable, good, but definitely nothing special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajayaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear ajayaj,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m glad you found our location to be convenient and our rooms clean and well appointed for your needs. I’m sorry that we fell short of your expectations and only viewed your stay as “ok”. As you pointed out, we are in a downtown urban setting and like a few of our competitors we don’t have a pool onsite. As for availability of convenience stores, there are two stores located within 2 blocks of the hotel. One of them being a national chain- CVS drug store.

While I understand that you have many choices for lodging in the downtown area; I hope that you will still consider staying with us when you travel to Atlanta again.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I enjoyed my three nights at the Hampton Inn in downtown Atlanta in late September. The location was perfect. I was traveling alone and walked around Centennial Park and took the MARTA to Midtown. I dined at the nearby Hard Rock Cafe, and Legal Seafood which was across from the aquarium. I did not venture out alone after dark. My room was just the right size for a solo traveler, and I did not hear any noise from neighbors or the street. I utilized the business office, but not the exercise room. The breakfast was fine as I only eat oatmeal for breakfast, and the oatmeal was very good.

The only negative was that a front desk staff member gave me the incorrect directions to the botanical gardens, which I was trying to get to by MARTA. The MARTA is very convenient. Had I known how convenient it was, I would have taken it from and to the airport instead of spending $29 round trip for the airport shuttle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILoveLuci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear ILoveLuci,

Thank you for taking time and effort to post a great review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

Sorry for the confusion about directions with one of my team members. We offer maps at the desk so directions will not be given incorrectly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Located in downtown Atlanta, the Hampton Inn is an older building that is well kept and very clean. The standard king rooms are very small and felt a bit claustrophic to me. We ended up with a standard room with two double beds and it was a bit roomier. The first king room we saw was on the second floor facing the main road and it was very noisy with all the traffic from the street. The double room we got was on the 5th floor on the side of the building and much quieter. The beds were comfortable but the pillows seemed small. That may be because I am used to King pillows. The elevators were fast and wait time was not long. The breakfast was the standard Hampton Inn breakfast. The staff at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. You can easily walk to CNN, the Georgia Aquarium, the World of Coca Cola and lots of restaurants as well as Centennial Park. It was a bit far to the Geogia Dome to walk but doable. There is a fee of $18/day for parking paid through the hotel. I don't know of any free parking in downtown. There is a MARTA station about two or three blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssbeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear ssbeagle,

Thank you for taking an opportunity to post a review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m glad you had a great stay, sounds like you hit all the attractions near the hotel.

Please come back and stay with us soon!

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here while attending a convention in Atlanta. Rode Marta from Airport and hotel was a short ten minute walk from Peachtree Center Station. Price for Marta was far less expensive than a cab ride or shuttle. Hotel is in an older "historical" building that has been modernized as a Hampton Inn. Parking is next door but a private lot. Cost? $18 a day. Very convenient to hotel. Side door automatically opens to hotel. We chose main road entrance which needed someone to let us in. Staff was efficient and we were treated very well. Elevators were fast. Some rooms are smaller than others. If possible, get a corner room. Our room had an outer room with a couch (very hard) and a comfortable chair. Nice HD TV in this room as well as bedroom. Beds were comfortable. Views from our corner room were the parking lot and local buildings. Nothing special to see. Shower did not have a lot of water pressure and it took a little while for water to get warm. Towels were soft. Breakfast was the usual fare for a Hampton. Staff was efficient, friendly and helpful. Checkout a breeze. Access to nearby areas was nice. Our convention was at a Sheraton Hotel about 4-5 blocks away. We walked both ways several times a day. Keep in mind, Atlanta has some streets that are similar to San Francisco meaning uphill walks can be challenging. There are a lot of Atlanta Tourist Representatives around so ask them for help if needed. Our Hampton was close to Centennial Park, the Aquarium, CNN and more and we felt safe walking at night, as a group, to these places. Many good restaurants are within ten minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, they are bigger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRGADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear GRGADA,

Thank you for taking time and effort to post a wonderful and detailed review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon!

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. We were welcomed and registered quickly. Fresh cookies and beverages were available in the lobby. $18 is steep for self parking, but the lot was well-lit and secure. We did have a problem twice with automatic exit gate. However, we would stay again. Close to many attractions .

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KRH53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear KRH53,

Thank you for taking an opportunity to post a review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay, sorry for the inconvenience with the automated parking gates. I will research further with the parking company to resolve the issue you experienced.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is in a decent location, but based on my frequent experience with Hampton Inns, fell short of my expectations. The room was teensy, tiny...really, really small. There was no refrigerator. And for most of the time, our TV did not work. Breakfast just so-so. On the positive side, parking is convenient and the fitness room is nice.

While this is beyond the hotel's control, there were groups of people partying and slamming doors throughout the night (3:30-5:30 a.m.!!!). Better soundproofing would help.

There are other choices in the area, and thus I am likely to choose another hotel for my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Lisa D,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to post a review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m very sorry that we fell short of your expectations. We are in a unique building that was built circa 1928. Some of the uniqueness is the many different room lay-outs in our configuration. We do have refrigerators available on request and all of our suites come equipped with one.

I certainly understand that you have many choices for lodging in the downtown area; I hope that you will consider staying with us again when you travel to Atlanta in the future.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Inn at Centennial Park
#112 of 177 in Atlanta
3.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#60 of 177 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
Address: 161 Ted Turner Drive NW, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#46 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#59 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta-Downtown hotel housed in a beautifully renovated historic building. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, our hotel in downtown Atlanta was built in 1927 and provides a charming retreat with modern amenities. We are within walking distance to many attractions. Stroll through Centennial Olympic Park and splash in an interactive fountain or enjoy a concert. Observe what goes on behind the scenes during a CNN Studio Tour at CNN Center, just a few blocks away. Attend an Atlanta Falcons football game at the Georgia Dome. Phillips Arena offers sporting events, concerts and more. Explore the World of Coca-Cola, featuring a gallery dedicated to Coke and pop culture. Visit the campuses of Georgia State University or Georgia Tech University. Delta, Georgia Pacific and other major companies are blocks from our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Reserve one of our 119 guest rooms and suites featuring king- or queen-sized beds. Enjoy the extra space provided in a guest room with a separate living room or seating area with a sofa bed. One-bedroom suites provide a private bedroom and a wet bar with mini-refrigerator and microwave. Connect to free WiFi to surf the web during your stay at our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Work at the spacious desk in a comfortable ergonomic chair. If you prefer, use the convenient lap desk while relaxing on the bed. Watch your favorite cable channels on the 37-inch flat-screen HDTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Hampton Inn Atlanta
Atlanta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing