We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
Ranked #42 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is in a decent location, but based on my frequent experience with Hampton Inns, fell short of my expectations. The room was teensy, tiny...really, really small. There was no refrigerator. And for most of the time, our TV did not work. Breakfast just so-so. On the positive side, parking is convenient and the fitness room is nice.

While this is beyond the hotel's control, there were groups of people partying and slamming doors throughout the night (3:30-5:30 a.m.!!!). Better soundproofing would help.

There are other choices in the area, and thus I am likely to choose another hotel for my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Lisa D,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to post a review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m very sorry that we fell short of your expectations. We are in a unique building that was built circa 1928. Some of the uniqueness is the many different room lay-outs in our configuration. We do have refrigerators available on request and all of our suites come equipped with one.

I certainly understand that you have many choices for lodging in the downtown area; I hope that you will consider staying with us again when you travel to Atlanta in the future.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

963 - 969 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

This location is near a lot of tourist items like Coca-Cola Museum, CNN, Hard Rock Cafe, Pitty Pat's Porch...they are all within easy walking distance ( and I am 60+ and overweight ). The hotel is itself was very good. The staff at check-in were very pleasant, as well as the dining room staff for the complimentary breakfast. This one has the largest dining room area of any Hampton Inn I have been to. Breakfast varies from scrambled eggs to omelets to biscuits with gravy to oatmeal to waffles, plus a variety of cereal. The beds were great and the curtains fully close for a dark room. The room was very clean and the TV is on DirectTV, so there a ton of channels to watch if you want to kick back and relax in your room.

Room Tip: If there was any shortcomings it is in the parking lot and that is if you came in after 10 pm, you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigGuyfromDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear BigGuyfromTexas

Thank you for taking time to post a wonderful review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m so glad you enjoyed the breakfast and found the rooms very accommodating to your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this hotel with a group of tree friends. The hotel is located in the very heart of Atlanta, close to the Olympic park and the Coca Cola museum. The subway is also nearby. The hotel staff was very friendly. When we arrived, our luggage got lost somewhere in the air transport, and we immediately received tooth brushes, toothpaste, shaving razors, etc from the hotel. Our room was located on the street side but we didn't have any problems with street noises - we stayed during the weekend though and it was very calm then. The room was nice and clean, and so were the beds. The breakfast buffet was also very good. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JazzJumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear JazzJumper

Thank you for taking a few minutes to post a great review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient to all the local attractions. Sorry to hear that the airline lost your luggage, I’m glad we were able to assist you with some temporary toiletries until your luggage arrives.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and a big thank you for recommending us for future travelers looking for a home away from home in downtown Atlanta.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

If a 3.5 rating was possible, I would have given that. I don't have the heart to give only 3 because the hotel is beautiful. The decor is much more upscale than what you'd expect. Every staff person we met was also very friendly. The location is good being close to Centennial Park, the aquarium and the World of Coca-Cola. A MARTA station is also nearby. The room is small, but was fine for us (a couple) as we only needed a clean place to shower and sleep. A small fridge would have been nice for drinks, but we were only there for a weekend, so not a big deal. The biggest drawback to this hotel though is the lack of sound-proofing. We had some neighbors who were noisy in the hallway at all hours of the night. But the worst was the honking of the cars on the street. It must be the "Atlanta way" to give 6 or 7 short honks for whatever reason while driving around. It happens quite frequently, at all hours of the day and night, and you will hear all of them.

Room Tip: Stay on a non-street side and/or in an end unit away from traffic of other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebFinHSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear DebFinHSP,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to post a review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m glad you found our location to be convenient and our rooms well appointed for your needs. I’m sorry for any inconvenience the street level noise played on your stay. We are a Historical building and some of the uniqueness comes from the original windows. I’m currently working with some of our neighbors to try and curtail some of the car horns you may hear that are not associated with our hotel.

I hope that you will still consider staying with us when you travel to Atlanta again.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I must agree with the other reviewers. Excellent stay. HH Gold. Upgraded to a suite. Very clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Dana, the manager, penned a nice note to welcome us and I can't think of a nicer Hampton Inn anywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReisenAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Al F,

Thank you for taking time to post a wonderful review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m so glad you found our location very clean and quiet. Thank you for your loyalty with Hilton Honors.

We’re looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Really nice hotel, clean & quiet. Employee's are all extremely helpful. Great location, Marta is close as well as many restaurants. The only down side, is that the rooms are small, but they make up for it with everything else.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryankhr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear ryankhr3,

Thank you for taking a few moments to write a great review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient and our staff courteous and helpful.

Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in August for a conference and I enjoyed my stay so I decided to come back for a recent business trip. Everything is top notch; the choices for breakfast, the fitness center is well maintained and clean, the room is clean and ready for arrival, and the wi-fi is great. There's also a coffee station in the lobby anytime you need a cup.

I guess if there's one gripe it's the cleanliness of the business center. The keyboards and mouse pads look so dirty (probably from the high usage) but I'm not going to ding them a star on that.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taniguck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Taniguck

Thank you for taking time to post a wonderful review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I am so glad you have been a repeat guest in such a short amount of time. I’m glad you mentioned the coffee station in the lobby. As an avid coffee fan myself, I find it important to have it readily available 24 hours a day for all our guests.

Thank you for your observations in the business center, I ordered new mouse pads today!

Looking forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown

Address: 161 Ted Turner Dr NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#45 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#59 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: $156 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta-Downtown hotel housed in a beautifully renovated historic building. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, our hotel in downtown Atlanta was built in 1927 and provides a charming retreat with modern amenities. We are within walking distance to many attractions. Stroll through Centennial Olympic Park and splash in an interactive fountain or enjoy a concert. Observe what goes on behind the scenes during a CNN Studio Tour at CNN Center, just a few blocks away. Attend an Atlanta Falcons football game at the Georgia Dome. Phillips Arena offers sporting events, concerts and more. Explore the World of Coca-Cola, featuring a gallery dedicated to Coke and pop culture. Visit the campuses of Georgia State University or Georgia Tech University. Delta, Georgia Pacific and other major companies are blocks from our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Reserve one of our 119 guest rooms and suites featuring king- or queen-sized beds. Enjoy the extra space provided in a guest room with a separate living room or seating area with a sofa bed. One-bedroom suites provide a private bedroom and a wet bar with mini-refrigerator and microwave. Connect to free WiFi to surf the web during your stay at our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Work at the spacious desk in a comfortable ergonomic chair. If you prefer, use the convenient lap desk while relaxing on the bed. Watch your favorite cable channels on the 37-inch flat-screen HDTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Hampton Inn Atlanta
Atlanta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing