We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
Ranked #42 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I must agree with the other reviewers. Excellent stay. HH Gold. Upgraded to a suite. Very clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Dana, the manager, penned a nice note to welcome us and I can't think of a nicer Hampton Inn anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReisenAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Al F,

Thank you for taking time to post a wonderful review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m so glad you found our location very clean and quiet. Thank you for your loyalty with Hilton Honors.

We’re looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    327
    116
    69
    46
See reviews for
345
193
58
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Really nice hotel, clean & quiet. Employee's are all extremely helpful. Great location, Marta is close as well as many restaurants. The only down side, is that the rooms are small, but they make up for it with everything else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryankhr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear ryankhr3,

Thank you for taking a few moments to write a great review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient and our staff courteous and helpful.

Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in August for a conference and I enjoyed my stay so I decided to come back for a recent business trip. Everything is top notch; the choices for breakfast, the fitness center is well maintained and clean, the room is clean and ready for arrival, and the wi-fi is great. There's also a coffee station in the lobby anytime you need a cup.

I guess if there's one gripe it's the cleanliness of the business center. The keyboards and mouse pads look so dirty (probably from the high usage) but I'm not going to ding them a star on that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taniguck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Taniguck

Thank you for taking time to post a wonderful review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I am so glad you have been a repeat guest in such a short amount of time. I’m glad you mentioned the coffee station in the lobby. As an avid coffee fan myself, I find it important to have it readily available 24 hours a day for all our guests.

Thank you for your observations in the business center, I ordered new mouse pads today!

Looking forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

August 28-29, 2012 Myself and 2 others rented 3 rooms here for one night. I try to always stay at this Hampton. It is a great location if you have business at the State Bar of Georgia Building. We were able to walk to dinner at the Hard Rock. It was just a couple of blocks away. We also walked to the State Bar building the next day and was able to leave our car parked at the Hampton. Hampton does charge for parking but this is typical at every hotel in the heart of Atlanta.

I had trouble sliding my card to park my vehicle. I believe it was due to a very hard rain we just had and maybe it was too wet within the device. A man came up to me in clothing that led me to believe he worked there. He \used his shirt to dry it out a little and then swiped my card - the gate arm then came up. That is when he told me it would cost me $7 CASH ONLY to park my car and I could settle up inside. I politely told him no that I would not pay $7 because I had just had the parking added to my bill inside when I checked him. He them walked off. I told the front desk about it and they were very apologetic. They told me to never give anybody money around the hotel. This did not scare me away from this property. I live in a small town and get people asking me for money at the gas station all the time. This property location did not make me feel as if I was in a bad area. The staff was extremely friendly; from the front desk, to the cleaning staff, and the breakfast staff!

The rooms were roomy and very nice. We were only on the 3rd floor and the street noise could be heard at times but it did not disturb me. Beds were VERY comfy. Breakfast was wonderful!! I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Marie J

Thank you for taking time and effort to post a review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay and found us convenient to the federal buildings.

I’m sorry you had some issues with the parking gate upon your arrival. You were absolutely correct to not pay anybody outside for parking. We never collect cash in the actual parking lot. All payments are made at the front desk.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I enjoyed my 4 night stay at this hotel very much. Easily accessible from the MARTA at Peachtree Centre if your coming in from ATL airport as I did.

My room on the 8th Floor was clean and well presented with everything I needed. Internet was wifi and complimentary. Breakfast, also complimentary was plentiful and varied.

The hotel is located within easy walking distance of many Atlanta attractions and is a good base for seeing the city. CNN, Olympic Park, Georgia Aquarium, Coca Cola World and many restaurants and cosy bars are located close to the hotel.

The hotel front desk, housekeeping and breakfast staff were all very friendly and courteous.

This hotel has two pedestrian access doors. The entrance on Spring Street is kept locked 24 hours a day with access granted by use of room key or intercom to front desk staff. The vehicle drop off entrance on Carnegie Way is open during the day time and room key access in the evening.

Thoroughly recommend this hotel as a good alternative to the bigger convention style hotels.

Room Tip: Higher floors will get you away from the road noise on Spring Street. I was on the top floor (8th) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oldsk8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear oldsk8r,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to post a great review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown. I love the title you gave us… “Quiet little giant downtown”

I’m happy you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be convenient to all the downtown attractions and found the building safe and secure.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and a big thank you for recommending us for future convention travelers.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
205 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Centrally located, this is an excellent alternative to the large convention hotels that used to be your only choice if you wanted to stay downtown. Self parking is right by the door, though expensive at $18.00, I much prefer it to the parking garages that are usually you only option. Its an old renovated building but very well done.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Spring Street if street noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Columbus_GASteve,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to post an excellent review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m happy you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be convenient for downtown conventions that take place at the GWCC.

Please come back and stay with us soon!

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERRIMACK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Recently stayed here for business and chose this location because of its location to downtown and various attractions. First off the hotel is very nicely appointed and modern in appearance, with typical HI decore, nice breakfast, etc. My room was a king suite, which had a separate small living room with TV, couch, desk and a nice sized bedroom. Also a small wet bar with fridge etc. the room was very clean and worked well as a place to crash at night. The only issue I had, which other reviewers have mentioned is the noise. As this is a historic building, the windows are old pane glass and NOT soundproof at all. In fact you can hear someone's conversation on the street below, and I was on the 6th floor facing a side street. With it being close to downtown you hear all the traffic, fire engines, buses and such. It was just too bad that they cannot upgrade the windows. Everything else was great, the staff was helpful and very pleasant. However when I'm back in the downtown Atlanta area I will look for another hotel, like the Weston which is almost next door and much more modern building. Note the Marriott across the street also has it share of problems, as a colleague of mine was staying there and did not like it at all.
Great restaurants nearby, try Guirneys Pub in peach tree plaza lower level, great food at reasonable prices.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 2tall4red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear 2tall4red,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to post a review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m glad you found our location to be convenient and our rooms well appointed for your needs. I’m sorry for any inconvenience the street level noise played on your stay. As you pointed out, we are a Historical building and some of the uniqueness comes from the original windows.

I hope that you will reconsider your decision to stay with us when you travel to Atlanta again.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#44 of 173 in Atlanta
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
Address: 161 Ted Turner Dr NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#46 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#59 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta-Downtown hotel housed in a beautifully renovated historic building. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, our hotel in downtown Atlanta was built in 1927 and provides a charming retreat with modern amenities. We are within walking distance to many attractions. Stroll through Centennial Olympic Park and splash in an interactive fountain or enjoy a concert. Observe what goes on behind the scenes during a CNN Studio Tour at CNN Center, just a few blocks away. Attend an Atlanta Falcons football game at the Georgia Dome. Phillips Arena offers sporting events, concerts and more. Explore the World of Coca-Cola, featuring a gallery dedicated to Coke and pop culture. Visit the campuses of Georgia State University or Georgia Tech University. Delta, Georgia Pacific and other major companies are blocks from our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Reserve one of our 119 guest rooms and suites featuring king- or queen-sized beds. Enjoy the extra space provided in a guest room with a separate living room or seating area with a sofa bed. One-bedroom suites provide a private bedroom and a wet bar with mini-refrigerator and microwave. Connect to free WiFi to surf the web during your stay at our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Work at the spacious desk in a comfortable ergonomic chair. If you prefer, use the convenient lap desk while relaxing on the bed. Watch your favorite cable channels on the 37-inch flat-screen HDTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Hampton Inn Atlanta
Atlanta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing