We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
Ranked #43 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. You can walk to everything. Breakfast was good and the room was well decorated and very clean. Our one complaint was the street noise. Our room was one the 4th floor and the street noise woke us up during the night and early in the morning. Would recommend a higher floor to see if that would help.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
cnc446dc, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown. We appreciate you pointing out our excellent location and our hot breakfast that’s included in your stay. We look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    329
    119
    70
    48
See reviews for
357
194
58
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Benton, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Walking distance to many downtown attractions like the aquarium and world of coke, which is why we chose it. Good service from staff and the room was updated even though the building is a national historic site holding on to some of it's antique charm, like the windows that offer little resistant to outside city noise.
The breakfast area was awkward and cramped leaving guests walking into one another while getting food, need another waffle maker.
Have an additional 18 dollar a day charge for the parking lot. They are a separate business that will oversell on weekend concerts and events putting your spot in jeopardy. Typical Atlanta crooks.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAppalachainRogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton-Atlanta, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
TheAppalachainRogue, - Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We appreciate your feedback about your stay, our wonderful location, and the level of service you received. We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed here two nights to take in the Aquarium, museums, etc. in the downtown area. The location is great - we were able to walk to and from even with three little ones in tow. The staff was helpful and kind.
The room - a suite - was a disappointment all around. The pillows were uncomfortable, room dated and walls looked dirty with scuffs on the stark white paint. Suite was cramped with pull out couch unfolded. Poorly insulated windows did nothing to keep out the sounds of people, cars, horses, etc. Breakfast was the usual fare minus protien except for runny scrambled eggs and a very strange sausage gravy the second day.
We would not choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GatorCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton-Atlanta, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
GatorCrew, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We appreciate all of your feedback about your stay and the level of service you received. As a circa 1927 building listed in the National Register of Historic Buildings, there are some unique features that lends to our charm. Original windows being one of them as well as our room configurations. Our breakfast menu options are rotated daily to ensure guests get a variety when staying multiple nights. Thank you again for all of your comments, your feedback helps us provide the ultimate guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great hotel wonderful location. You can park your car and walk to all of the downtown attractions. Hotel staff was very nice and helpful!

Room Tip: 18.00 a day parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton-Atlanta, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
sheila1290, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! So happy our team was helpful for all your needs. We hope to see you again next year for Cheersport 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I was able to book a 1 bedroom suite for very cheap through the hotel website. It was well worth the few extra bucks. Had my own little living room, fridge, microwave, etc. I loved the high ceilings and LOVED the fact that I did not hear my neighbors - very important to me. Breakfast each morning is a major plus, although I do wish they had a restaurant inside the hotel. Not that it mattered anyways because it's centrally located to MANY restaurants.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise, but even on the 4th floor I didn't hear much. The suites a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HERXLNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton-Atlanta, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
HERXLNC, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We greatly appreciate you pointing out our wonderful location to our local restaurants and the amenities in our suites. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great location, the staff was friendly and efficient, loved my suite, and outstanding service!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton-Atlanta, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Joy J, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. So glad we could provide you with outstanding service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here while attending a New Year's Eve concert at Philips Arena. We found it very easy to walk to and from the arena and the hotel. The aquarium, Centennial Park and CNN Center are also within easy walking distance.

We live about 45 minutes north of the city but didn't want to worry about driving home with all the other party-goers. Because we live in Atlanta, though, we wanted a clean, comfortable hotel that was convenient and not too expensive. The Hampton Inn fit the bill perfectly. The decor was nice, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and we loved the convenience. The rooms are small (they reminded us of rooms in Europe) and not very well insulated. We could hear people and cabs on the street and folks out in the hallway most of the night. If we attend another event downtown, we would defiintely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton-Atlanta, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your experience downtown during New Year's Eve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
Address: 161 Ted Turner Dr NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#46 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#59 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta-Downtown hotel housed in a beautifully renovated historic building. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, our hotel in downtown Atlanta was built in 1927 and provides a charming retreat with modern amenities. We are within walking distance to many attractions. Stroll through Centennial Olympic Park and splash in an interactive fountain or enjoy a concert. Observe what goes on behind the scenes during a CNN Studio Tour at CNN Center, just a few blocks away. Attend an Atlanta Falcons football game at the Georgia Dome. Phillips Arena offers sporting events, concerts and more. Explore the World of Coca-Cola, featuring a gallery dedicated to Coke and pop culture. Visit the campuses of Georgia State University or Georgia Tech University. Delta, Georgia Pacific and other major companies are blocks from our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Reserve one of our 119 guest rooms and suites featuring king- or queen-sized beds. Enjoy the extra space provided in a guest room with a separate living room or seating area with a sofa bed. One-bedroom suites provide a private bedroom and a wet bar with mini-refrigerator and microwave. Connect to free WiFi to surf the web during your stay at our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Work at the spacious desk in a comfortable ergonomic chair. If you prefer, use the convenient lap desk while relaxing on the bed. Watch your favorite cable channels on the 37-inch flat-screen HDTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Hampton Inn Atlanta
Atlanta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing