We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #121 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Affordable hotel, nice lobby, comfortable room, central location. Deserted area at night. Not far from Marta. Near hard rock hotel and other music venues and centennial park. Air conditioned, piano in the lobby, peppermint candies at reservation desk

Thank Rifkie S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Rifkie S,

Thank you for your review and taking the time to write one. If you are in Atlanta again, we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Safe travels,

Enoch D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 429 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary this past weekend and couldn't have been more disappointed in the hotel. The desk staff seemed downright irritated that we would dare try to check into the hotel, as one woman just looked at us, while another saw us, turned around and went to the back, peeked around periodically to check if we were still there, and kept returning to the back. The woman actually running the desk picked up the phone while we were waiting and called someone. WHILE we were there. And still hadn't been helped. Four of the five times we went to the main desk, there was no one there. To top it off, the AC barely worked and they were out of towels. Great location, but a very poor hotel all the way around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Tony_Geist,

Thank you for your review. Since your stay, we have been actively working to improve our service level, responsiveness, and the functionality of our products to ensure things are operating as they should. We have been updating and upgrading our rooms and the general appearance of our property. I hope you have safe travels in the future.

Best Regards,

Enoch D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

This Quality Inn is one of the nicest I've stayed in. The room was very nice on the 10th floor with a nice view. The staff at this hotel are what make it a great place. Both morning and evening staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. They give great directions , get a cab for you or what ever else you need. I will recommend this hotel to everyone. And it's close to everything in downtown Atlanta.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimMacAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

TimMacAlaska,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and was able to take advantage of and enjoyed our breakfast options. We hope to see you again when you next travel to Atlanta. Thank you for the kind words you had for our staff as well. I am glad they made such a positive impact during your stay.

Best Regards,

Enoch D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stopped here for the night, without a reservation. I normally reserve rooms but we weren't sure what we were going to be doing in Atlanta that night so we decided to wing it. Who knew it was Ga. Tech's graduation...as I believe Emory's as well.

However...it's in a great location, close to Olympic Park and Peachtree St...Hard Rock Hotel, all within walking distance. The staff was nice, the lobby was clean, the breakfast was filling and in good quality. The room was okay...a bit dingy, but comfortable. The beds were comfortable but there was no bed skirts and the box spring was exposed on both beds...they were torn and seemed a bit dated. The bathroom was clean but the tub needed to be replaced...rust and rust stains. The shower head was nice. The hallways were not much...you got off the elevator and there were all the doors to the rooms on that floor...that area was more dingy than everything else. I write that because it made me feel like I was in an affordable housing tenement when I stepped off the elevator...but again, once in the room it was okay. For our purposes, just for the night and only sleeping, we were good.

We paid $114/night...anywhere else, I would have scoffed at that but for the area, that was probably one of the cheapest rates. Again, graduation was this weekend at Ga. Tech so not sure if that's normally the rate, or rates in the area. If you're there just for a night or two, you'll be fine...but an extended stay may be unnerving paying that much for really quite little, quality-wise.

Overall...I would recommend it for a very short stay...nice staff, decent lodgings, cleanliness/condition was a bit lacking however. You can tell it's an older building...so if anything out of the ordinary quality-wise...especially with what I mentioned...turns you off...then pay the extra $40-$50/night to stay somewhere nicer.

Room Tip: You want to hit Peachstree St/Hard Rock...Olympic Park...have a friend/relative at Ga. Tech and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caito34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

caito34,

Thank you for your review. Since your stay, we have been actively working to improve our service level, responsiveness, and the functionality of our products to ensure things are operating as they should. We have been updating and upgrading our rooms and the general appearance of our property. I hope you have safe travels in the future.

Sincerely,

Enoch D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the inn before and after a music festival. The staff was incredible. They were so nice and gave us many food suggestions. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The TV has many cable channels. However the best part of the quality in is the quality of the staff. This will definitely be my hotel of choice for Atlanta trips. I suggest you stay here if you like nice people and good vibes

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Eric B,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and your interactions with our staff. We hope to see you again when you next travel to Atlanta. We do love our location downtown and I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our proximity to local attractions and felt welcome.

Best Regards,

Enoch D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Right in Downtown Atlanta. Amazing staff. Handled my eleven elementary and middle school students with no complaints. Baked us chocolate chip cookies, provided free drinks for the kids, handled our every need with grace and charm. Wonderful Southern hospitality. Overall great budget option for Downtown Atlanta.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fried_chicken1679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Fried_chicken1679,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and your interactions with our staff. We hope to see you again when you next travel to Atlanta. We do love our location downtown and I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our proximity to local attractions and felt welcome and the kids were taken care of and all your needs met.

Sincerely,

Enoch D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Right in downtown within minutes to walk to the Ferris wheel, Olympic park, the aquarium and World of Coca-Cola. Parking garage across the street from entrance, they will validate come-and-go for $15. This is probably the best deal, it is downtown in a large city...good luck parking really anywhere else cheaper or more convenient. It's only a few blocks from Peachtree Station for the Marta to take to Turner Field. I recommend doing that rather than driving, simply b/c of traffic and it's quicker and cheaper and not hard to figure out...follow the Braves fans! It is a bit run down and the carpet and decor is a bit older, but it's very reasonable for the location. They didn't allow check-in until 2:30 but policy says 3pm. The breakfast isn't bad and the maid service was rushing through rooms so quickly they stopped by to make sure had all the towels and everything was ok. Hey for a baseball or basketball game and to do some touristy stuff, it's not bad.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank RyanM0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

RyanM0708,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and your interactions with our staff. We hope to see you again when you next travel to Atlanta. We do love our location downtown and I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our proximity to local attractions and felt welcome.

Best Regards,

Enoch D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#80 of 172 in Atlanta
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
#99 of 172 in Atlanta
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#44 of 172 in Atlanta
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ellis Hotel
Ellis Hotel
#47 of 172 in Atlanta
1,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown
0.2 mi away
Glenn Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown

Address: 89 Luckie St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-2107
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: $108 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel in downtown Atlanta. Located minutes away from the downtown attraction you want to see, such as the Georgia Aquarium, Coca-Cola Factory, Tabernacle & many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Atlanta
Quality Inn Atlanta
Quality Hotel Downtown Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing