We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #68 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Great Spot”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I chose this location because of its proximity to great downtown attractions. Very cozy with a great staff. The valet staff...Terrance...was outstanding! I was in a suite which provided a very nice view of the Atlanta skyline. Everytime we have business in Atlanta we choose this hotel for our staff and they are very accomodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Chuckfellow,
Thanks so much for sending in a review of your stay with us! Terrance was delighted to learn you described his service as outstanding! We are so glad you choose our hotel when you are in Atlanta, and look forward to serving you the very next time your travels bring you back!
Sincerely yours,
Christine P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    201
    60
    11
    22
See reviews for
110
91
33
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennington, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A downtown hotel with its old charm.
Pros: Good location; clean and good size room; great friendly and fast service from the staff at the reception, restaurant and valet! free hot breakfast with plenty of choices; free internet. Only walking distance to Centennial park; CNN tower, Georgia aquarium etc. Great value overall (would give a 4.5 stars)!

Cons: the scrambled eggs watery sometimes and tasted bland; could have used some butter to improve the taste. High fees for valet service.

We will stay here again and highly recommend it for others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amynaadi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Amynaadi1,
Thanks so much for providing a review of your stay with us! Glad to know you found the room to be spacious and staff friendly and fast. Chef and I, on the other hand, send our apology for your note on the breakfast eggs. We live for the feedback of our valued guests; thanks for taking the time to let us know. We can and will do better! Please come back the next time your travels bring you to Atlanta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

One of the oldest and historical hotels in Downtown Atlanta, The Letterbox. Throughout the hotel you see the old-time mail shoots that would send your mail to the lobby letterbox. Yes, there's character in this building. We were in a suite - very cozy! bedroom & bath in one room, living room & kitchen in the other. Plenty of dishes and things to cook with if you want. We had people staying all around us and never heard them, so the rooms are pretty soundproof on the 4th floor! There;s valey parking for $25/day or you can use one of the area parking garages and take a <1/16 mile walk to the hotel. Not sure of the prices, we chose the $25/day. There's free breakfast - Continental style, but with eggs, breakfast meats, french toast, pancakes and a waffle station. There's also room service, but we didn't partake.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Regina D,
Thanks so much for taking time to write a review of your stay with us at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown. I noticed you listed the hotel name as Letterbox, and that is actually the name of the gift shop in our building that takes its namesake inspiration from the cool mail shoot that runs down the length of the hotel tower and terminates in the hotel lobby letterbox! I'm delighted you found the suites cozy and quiet! We appreciate your business very much and ask that you come back and stay with us the next time you are in Atlanta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Recently stayed at the Residence Inn downtown Atlanta. Walking distance to the Aquarium, World of Coke, and many shops and restaurants.

The room was reasonably clean. I found the carpet needed steam cleaning. There was a slightly sticky area near the sofa, as if someone spilled a soda, and the cleaning staff didn't do a good job of vaccuming before our arrival.

The room was bigger than expected for a downtown location, but not a large room. My wife who travels a lot for work said she couldn't spend more than a week in a room this size.

One problem was our door didn't close tightly until you engaged the deadbolt. We were in room 702. We didn't feel iinsecure but if my wife were alone she would have chosen a different room.

Valet parking is $25/night. Expensive, but it is downtown in a big city.

The staff was outstanding. Friendly, knowledgable, courteous, and prompt.

Got a great recommendation from the front desk for dinner at a jazz club 2 blocks away called Juke Joint. Food was very good, live jazz band. Very busy, but the tables in the bar area are first come first served and we took one. Service was slow but friendly. We were there for the show anyway so a longer meal wasn't a problem.

We didn't need the kitchen, we chose this hotel for it's location and reviews from "Tripadvisor". It was a good hotel for the price. Especially given it's location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Allinc,
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of your stay with us this month. I'm glad the location was a good choice for you! Please accept my apology that you found the carpet in need of a steam clean. We took our opportunity to jump on this issue so as not to drop the ball again. We appreciate customers such as you who will help to to continuously improve, and we take pride in presenting you with an expertly cleaned room every stay. Please come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOULDER
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is on the other side of the Peachtree station (MARTA), the room was spacious, clean, very cozy and comfortable. The staff very friendly, polite and helpful. Stayed on the sixth floor , very quiet. They serve "light" dinner from M-TH and I loved because it was my favorite chicken fettuccine Alfredo, garlic toast, salad, cheese cubes, salsa and chips, etc and beer and wine.(they post the menu for each day on the door of your full fridge. The room also has a stove, washer, microwave and is fully equip. The bathroom had fluffy towels and the water pressure in the shower was excellent (great massage). In the morning I was surprised with the continental hot breakfast. Asked for a late check out, no problem. Had to change my plans, they storage my suitcase until I was ready to pick up. Coffee, hot chocolate and tea all day long on the 2nd floor. Oh yes, and there was a basket with popcorn,tea and other items in the room (I didn't use anything but it was nice touch). When I return to ATL I'll stay @ Residence for sure

Room Tip: I was very interested in visit the underground(5 very small blocks from the hotel) and downtown. I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KETA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Keta13,
Thank you sincerely for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. I'm thrilled to learn you enjoyed your stay and will come back the next time you are in Atlanta! We apprecciate your business very much.
Best regards,
Christine P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The staff is very friendly and the hotel is clean. I brought a sound machine but was not bothered by any street noise. I did request one of the higher floors. I loved having a full size fridge but didn't really need many groceries since there is a generous hot breakfast in the morning and the evening reception was a full meal. Very good value. Convenient location walking distance to the attractions.

Room Tip: Become a priority rewards member and choose a high floor for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Mary G,
Thanks so much for submitting a review of your stay with us! I'm so glad you didn't have to use the sound machine. A good night's rest is our business! Jason our evening social attendant was excited to learn you enjoyed his cooking. Please come back soon and stay with us the next time your travels bring you to Atlanta!
Sincerey yours,
Christine P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We requested a queen bed and a sofa bed.
Upholstery on sofa bid was filled with greasy stains.
Called desk and then sent a man up to wash fabric...while we were in the room.
Also...tables and chairs had to be moved to get the bed open.
But the biggest surprise was yet to come.
When we opened the bed at 11 pm, there was no bedding on it...just a greasy mattress.
I contacted the hotel manager and is answer was to give me an upgrade the next time I stayed there.
Why would I ever return to this dump?
Would not recommend this hotel.
We have stayed at better in Atlanta at the same price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Leonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear 2Leonard,
Thank you for taking time to submit a review of your stay with us. I ask that you accept my apology for the bedding not meeting your expectations. Your business is very important, and I would appreciate the opportunity to revisit this matter with you. Please contact me at your earliest opportunity.
Christine Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Atlanta Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#82 of 173 in Atlanta
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
0.1 mi away
Ellis Hotel
Ellis Hotel
#42 of 173 in Atlanta
1,360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
Address: 134 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#34 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#55 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott Atlanta Downtown is nestled in the heart of thriving downtown Atlanta. Situated on world famous Peachtree Street, enjoy the convenience of being only 9 miles from Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport and across the street from the MARTA transit system, with direct access to Hartsfield-Jackson. Located in the historic and beautifully converted Haverty's building, Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown exudes the charm and character of a bygone era with a contemporary flair. Well appointed and spacious, our suites offer full kitchens with granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, flat screen televisions, and complimentary wi-fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing