We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #66 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our first trip to ATL. The included breakfast was substantial, and served daily by the friendliest staff. The room was spacious, and location absolutely perfect for both walking to the top sights (Aquarium, World of Coke, CNN) and driving out of ATL for others (the Fernbank, the Zoo). We were disappointed that the social suppers were not held the week we were there (due to Thanksgiving holiday?), but would definitely choose this hotel again on our next stay in Hotlanta. One suggestion: eat "out" before coming back to the hotel - the dinner choices in the neighborhood are limited.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCSenora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    184
    57
    11
    19
See reviews for
97
87
33
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is centrally located in downtown Atlanta. Just a short 10 minute walk to the convention center. Close to the Marta and restaurants. Room was well equipped with full fridge, everything you need to cook and a coffepot. Somewhat well used interior in this property. Ok tv stations, free wifi, and a fully equipped gym. Staff was very pleasant. Breakfast served was good with some hot options. I stayed on the 4th floor and there was street noise. They were working on the building next door also during my stay and there was ALOT of noise overnight from that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank summitsvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in one of the smaller queen rooms on the 14th floor while attending a conference at the GWCC. Great view. The small queen room is adequate for 2 people for a short stay, I would choose a larger room for a longer stay. The room had a mini fridge and microwave. We heard very little street noise. About a 15 minute walk to the GWCC, also right across from a MARTA station. We arrived after midnight and the valet and front desk were very courteous with quick service. The room is simple but clean with no smell whatsoever which is one of my common complaints in hotels. Breakfast was above average with waffles, hot items, and enough tables that we never had to wait to be seated. I was also only charged for one full day of parking, although I did not depart until noon after my 2nd night's stay. I stayed at the Westin a few years ago and would choose the Residence Inn hands down if I return to downtown Atlanta.

Room Tip: 14th floor small queen room had great view of the city; very little street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lacybass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Cost of room makes up for not being at one of the more glamorous hotels in downtown Atlanta. Only complaint is absence of safe in the room. I like to dump some papers, keys, other currencies, et al.from my handbag. Safety deposit boxes at reception are less convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the Residence Inn for only one night to attend a tournament at the Georgia World Congress Center. The hotel was in a great location; it was only about a 15-20 minute walk to the GWCC - and to Building C, the furthest from the hotel. We lucked out and found a parking spot on the street, which was free for Saturday night and all of Sunday, right across from the hotel entrance. Valet parking is rather expensive, but there are several lots (including a garage which I think was $5/day) within a few blocks of the hotel.

The free breakfast was plentiful and tasty, with make-your-own waffles, cereal, breads, muffins, breakfast-style fried potatoes, and scrambled eggs which were much better than they looked.

The room was quite nice with a very comfortable bed. The two tvs (one in bedroom, other in living room area) are helpful if you can't agree on a program. I'm sure the kitchen area, with a small but full refrigerator, dishwasher, etc. would be really great if you were here for a longer stay. We also noticed a laundry room located conveniently near the elevator.

Again, we didn't stay long, but I'm really glad we stayed at this location!

Room Tip: We requested a high room near the elevator, and got exactly what we asked for! No street noise at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

First of all, Atlanta as a whole has the nicest people in the country. people are willing to go out of there way to show you where to go (one guy even walked me to the Chick Fil A to make sure I didnt get lost).
As for the people at the Residence Inn - 5 star service. from towels, to pillows to helping clean up my daughters vomit in the car - the staff was amazing.
the chef went out of his way to make dinner for my daugther and even saved my kids some cupcakes before they ran out.
The room was clean, basic - king bed, sofa pull out bed, and small kitchen with microwave, stove, fridge, and even a dishwasher.
Breakfast was great - pancakes, waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice, etc. couldnt ask for more. sunday morning had great southern biscuits even.
would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!
its about a 7 minute walk to the Olympic Park and Aquarium.
there is a CVS 0.5 miles away.
great spot

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deryckp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear deryckp,
Thanks for taking time to write a review of you stay! I'm glad you found the service to be five star! Please come back and stay with us the next time your travels bring you to Atlanta! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This property has superb downtown location, large, quiet and hospitable rooms with comfortable beds, superb breakfast offerings, evening buffet complete with wine and beer,and a warm, knowledgeable staff. The convenient location includes many restaraunt options as well as across-the-street access to MARTA making the trek from the airport faster and cheaper than any other travel option. Once on site, all the major downtown activities are within walking distance. Safety around the area is enhanced by proximity to Georgia State University and a visible local police and a clean downtown environment.

Room Tip: They are all good - quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sierra009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Sierra009,
Thanks for writing a review of your stay with us! The staff and I are pleased that you found the location, breakfast and evening social to be superb!! Please come back again the next time your travels bring you to Atlanta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Atlanta Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#70 of 171 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ellis Hotel
Ellis Hotel
#56 of 171 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
0.2 mi away
Glenn Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
Address: 134 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1863
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#34 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#55 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott Atlanta Downtown is nestled in the heart of thriving downtown Atlanta. Situated on world famous Peachtree Street, enjoy the convenience of being only 9 miles from Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport and across the street from the MARTA transit system, with direct access to Hartsfield-Jackson. Located in the historic and beautifully converted Haverty's building, Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown exudes the charm and character of a bygone era with a contemporary flair. Well appointed and spacious, our suites offer full kitchens with granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, flat screen televisions, and complimentary wi-fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing