We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #75 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Convenient location, within walking distance to CNN, Coca Cola and Aquarium...across from the Marta station and great staff...Old building converted and the living room was small and furniture was not the most comfortable, but would recommend to anyone with children....the breakfast area was nice and again, the staff was great! And, after paying way too much for lunch at the Aquarium....Quiznos next door was a great ending to a day!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gascity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 511 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2011

We had a great experience at this hotel. We forgot an electronics item and the housekeeping staff looked around the room, found it hidden between the bed and bedside table and mailed it back to us - free of charge! That's good customer service!

The hotel also includes breakfast with every room which was pretty good. It was a bit of a walk to the aquarium which was the main purpose of our visit but it wasn't too bad. And it was half a block from the subway which was convinient coming from the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I recently came back from a trip to Atlanta, Georgia and though I always go there and stay with friends I decided to be a tourist for three days and booked at the Residence Inn. The reviews on here were pretty good, and the rate was very reasonable. I was pleasantly surprised that my room was a 1 bedroom suite, and it was like being in a very nice apartment. They had not only a complimentary breakfast but also a complimentary dinner of chicken alfredo, cooked by Minnie the night that I checked in. I liked everything about the room the fact that it had two burners, a full size fridge and a microwave, and two flat screen tv's. I stayed in my bedroom.

So I did have a problem though and it was with the bathrooms. I did not go into my bathroom til late that night and when I lifted the toilet seat it was evident that it had not been cleaned. I called guest services and they let me move to another room that night. I moved to the other room which was not as nice as my first room but very similar, and there was hair on the toilet seat of this bathroom, and in the tub as well. I was too tired and upset to call again, so I just cleaned the toilet myself. This was very discouraging, but I did like everything else about my stay. I talked to the manager the next morning, I'd paid well in advance so there wasn't much they could do.

Outside of my bathroom issues, I did like it, the chicken alfredo was great, and breakfast was really nice too; I loved the home cooked feel of the meals.

I actually write a travel column and had to mention the bathroom but I did give them props for everything else and for the great food.

Would I stay there again? I have to think about it, if I did I would call ahead and talk to the manager first.

Oh and it is a great location, close to tourist attractions, you can walk almost anywhere, and it was very quiet at night... the gym was small but had the right equipment, and they have computers in the lobby that you can use free of charge.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Imani W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

The room exceeded my expectations. My low rating is due to the fact that upon check-in the front desk staff took my drivers license telling that me that it would be returned upon check-out. At check-out, it was not returned and the hotel claims that it is not on their premises. This is not good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 280Down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This hotel is located directly across the street from the MARTA station. It was easy to get to all the main attractions as well as the aiport, which saved us a $40 cab ride.
Check-in was quick and easy and the staff were all friendly and courteous. The rooms were very spacious and very clean. Although we didn't make use of them, there was a refridgerator, stove and microwave in the room. The social hour and breakfast were a big bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessc2078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Had excellent check-in service, staff was friendly and pollite. My room was big and spacious and comfortable. The complimentary Breakfast was excellent, The location was great 3blks from the Peachtree ctr... I spent a week at the hotel for buisness and there was a different main dish every day, fruit was fresh and coffee excellent! The val parking was $23 a night but I park at a parking lot 1blk away for $10 a day to save money...I would stay here again !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fosterdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed here for several nights on a family excursion versus booking the Ritz up the street, as other relatives did. It turned out to be a great decision. We paid about 33% of the cost of the Ritz and received: 1) exceptionally friendly service, 2) an impeccably clean and well-equipped room (microwave, frig, tableware, etc.) and 3) central location convenience (e.g. the Landmark (diner) restaurant for desserts and quick meals a short walk away).
A Full breakfast is served in a nicely appointed (restaurant-quality) sitting area on the second floor. Also the hotels offers a free light early-evening meal service with wine/beer Monday thru Thursday in the same breakfast area. Soup, salad, chips/vegetable/dip and appetizers were offered. Sure, it's not a five-star spread, but it's a start on the evening!
PARKING? Instead of the $23 Valet (which was always well-attended even late at night by friendly personnel...it's always a viable back-up option) we used the public garage a short walk away off Forsyth street. There is a major trick to keeping the cost reasonable: the garage charges $5-$6 for overnight parking when you enter AFTER 6pm and are it out by 6am; outside of this window, it's $3 an hour. Do NOT park the car BEFORE 6pm and assume you'll be charged $3/hr until the 6pm-6am period kicks in, you won't. You'll be hit for $3/hr for the entire overnight stay! We would park the car after 6pm and them normally get off by 10am the following morning...the charge then was $5 PLUS 4 hours (6am-10am) X $3 or $12 = Total $17.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DrBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Atlanta Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#80 of 172 in Atlanta
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
0.1 mi away
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
0.3 mi away
Glenn Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown

Address: 134 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#34 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#54 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: $140 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott Atlanta Downtown is nestled in the heart of thriving downtown Atlanta. Situated on world famous Peachtree Street, enjoy the convenience of being only 9 miles from Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport and across the street from the MARTA transit system, with direct access to Hartsfield-Jackson. Located in the historic and beautifully converted Haverty's building, Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown exudes the charm and character of a bygone era with a contemporary flair. Well appointed and spacious, our suites offer full kitchens with granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, flat screen televisions, and complimentary wi-fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing