We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little surprise!”

Waikikie Hawaiian BBQ
Ranked #524 of 3,924 Restaurants in Atlanta
Cuisines: Hawaiian, Barbecue, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great little surprise!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We happened to visit while they were getting ready to have an annual celebration. Food was good but it is Atlanta and not Hawaii.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tx_bella_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great local joint.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

As far as hawaiian BBQ goes, this place nails it. We used to live down the road from here and it's a great break from the normal places. My absolute favorite thing was the hawaain beer he served. I can't recall the name but it was a Kona infused ale, delicious.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grgaddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
346 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Knock off of Waikiki BBQ Restaurant Chain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Copies the menu almost verbatim but adds some things not on the original's menu like pot stickers and coconut shrimp.

I had the BBQ plate with the 3 types of BBQ. It's the most expensive of the BBQ plates. I ordered it because I wanted to taste as much variety as the place served. I added an app of pork dumplings (pot stickers) to the order.

The BBQ plate was served with white rice and macaroni salad, just like the Waikiki BBQ chain does. Both were acceptable. The BBQ all tasted the same, which the same sauce clinging to each piece of meat. Not bad...but just not memorable in the least. The dumplings were good and seasoned well but the soy dipping sauce accompanying them was watery and bland. Boo.

Overall: filled a hunger hole but not much else.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ATLconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cool little place with great authentic Hawaiian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We were here early on a Friday night, hardly anyone else there, but we went in anyway. Counter service, but the guy behind the counter was very helpful and made several recommendations.

We had the kalua pork and a combo with spicy chicken and katsua chicken with pineapple sauce. Each came with white rice and macaroni salad. Each entree and the sides were fresh and delicious. Portions were large and it was cooked to order.

We found this by accident, but were glad we did. An excellent meal.

The place is tastefully decorated and clean as a whistle.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cherry3m2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food for an excellent price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

While they don't have my favorite (Lomi Lomi salmon), what I had was tasty and a great price. The atmosphere is fun and the staff were very attentive. I recommend this restaurant and i look forward to going back. They seem to have a nice patio and whatever sauce was in the bottle on the table, it was amazing on the rice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GAgirl12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waikikie Hawaiian BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Waikikie Hawaiian BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing