We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel right off 285!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Northlake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Northlake
Ranked #65 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel right off 285!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in this hotel overnight after a day at Stone Mountain with our daughter and four grandchildren. Very easy access from 285, yet the rooms we had were very quiet. I suppose there might have been more noise on the side near the highway, but ours was nestled on an upper floor nearer the back side of the building and we couldn't hear any road noise at all.

The decor is beautiful, the beds are very comfortable, rooms are clean and the staff is friendly and helpful.(And of course, the cookies we received upon check in were delicious!)

We ate breakfast at the buffet and it was very good (although not included in the price of the room) My 12 year old grand-daughter has special dietary needs and doesn't eat a lot, so it wouldn't have been worth paying the full adult price of the buffet for her. We told the server about this issue and they gave us the "child's" price for the buffet instead.

The only really negative thing I can say about this hotel is that it was nearly sold out the night we stayed and I couldn't find a parking spot near the entrance. I drove separately from the rest of the family because I had to attend a rehearsal that night and didn't get back to the room until nearly midnight. I felt a little unsafe walking across the parking lot alone in the dark. It would have been nice had there been a visible security guard on the grounds, or at least better lighting in the parking lot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the building from the highway for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyJTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Northlake, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments about my hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry to hear that you had to walk through the parking lot alone after returning to the hotel. For future reference, we have a security guard on property from 9 pm until 7 am. Please feel free to call the hotel before arriving and we can have the guard meet you in the lot and escort you into the building. I hope you will stay with us again if you return in the future. We appreciate your business!

Sincerely,
Brett DeLoach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    184
    115
    54
    34
See reviews for
194
110
51
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great value for the area. Easy access to the highway and a very good restaurant. Rooms are very quiet and well kept. Hotel staff is always friendly. Only downfall would be you need to leave the area to find any other quality restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Russ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Northlake, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I'm excited to hear that you enjoy your stay each time you come to Atlanta! We appreciate your business!

Sincerely,
Brett DeLoach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Although the hotel was stylish in its decor, it was showing it's age. The hotel is right off I285 and is very noisy. I found numerous hairs in the bathroom tub and on toilet. The hotel restaurant was excellent. I highly recommend the burgers. The front staff was very cordial.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Patsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Northlake, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel. I am sorry to hear of your negative experience concerning our upkeep of the room. I have shared your comments with my Executive housekeeper to avoid this happening to another guest. I would agree that the burgers in our restaurant are tasty! We appreciate your business and hope you return if you are in the area again.

Sincerely,
Brett DeLoach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed two nights over a weekend. Location of the hotel is right off of 285, which makes it easy to find. Staff was polite. The adjoining restaurant makes parking tricky in the evening. The room was clean and relatively updated. My wife liked the warm cookie when we checked in. Breakfast was not included. On the downside, there is very little within walking distance so you have to drive everywhere. Highway noise is significant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slipper17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Northlake, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at my hotel. If you are ever in the area again, I hope you will return. Should you return and prefer not to drive, we do have a shuttle that will transport you within a three mile radius of the property. Again, we appreciate your business and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Brett DeLoach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel was nice and clean.The cookies were warm and nice.Very nice location.I have used this hotel sevral times before.Definatly would recomend to everyone.The location is also close to the highway,if you do not drive the cost to the airport is very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Northlake, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the hotel. I am glad to hear that you are a returning guest! We appreciate your business and hope you will continue to utilize our facility.

Sincerely,
Brett DeLoach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent food and service. The location was more than I expected. Stores and places to eat were near by and there were so many to choose from. The mall was near by which was an added plus. The eating facility connected to the hotel was excellent in service and food. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Northlake, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I am glad to hear we received two thumbs up! Family reunions are a great time and we love making them a memorable experience. We appreciate your busines, comments and hope you will return if you are ever back in the area!

Sincerely,
Brett DeLoach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We held our family reunion from 8/1 to 8/4...there were three reunions going on at the same time but you would never know it! From the hotel packaging, (C. Grayer) the food (B. Pervall) , the front desk (Pam & Mark) everything was handled perfectly. Didn't even realize that there were dogs there until I saw them being walked. Breakfast was excellent and the staff always made sure that we never had to ask for a refill of anything. The food was catered by Marlowe's Tavern .. compliments all the way around! Cookies were good too! Most certainly would stay there again! There is a shuttle that will take you to the Mall, Target or the Movie Theatre.

Room Tip: .If you're a light sleeper, don't get a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEANNETTE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Northlake, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to have the opportunity to host family reunions! I am glad to hear that your function went well and that you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate your business and hope to have you and your family return in the near future.

Sincerely,
Brett DeLoach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlanta
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlanta - Northlake
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Atlanta - Northlake
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Atlanta Northlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Northlake
13.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Atlanta-Paces Ferry/Vinings
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Northlake
Quality Inn Northlake
#110 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Northlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Northlake

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Northlake
Address: 4156 Lavista Rd, Atlanta, GA 30084 (Formerly Magnolia Manor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Atlanta
#28 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#43 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#61 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Northlake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Northlake, located in the Atlanta, Georgia suburb of Tucker. Our northeast Atlanta hotel is 25 minutes from Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport and offers easy access to I-285 and I-85. Downtown Atlanta is 15 miles away. We are within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and entertainment, and minutes from major corporations such as Hormel, Sherwin-Williams Company, Kroger Company, the CDC, FEMA and IRS. Retreat to a spacious guest room or suite featuring signature bedding, a chaise lounge, and 32-inch LCD HDTV with premium cable. Stay connected with high-speed internet access and be productive at the work desk. Suites feature wood laminate flooring and a separate parlor with sofa bed. Relax in our inviting lobby and listen to the waterfall or play a favorite video game. Savor classic American cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner at Marlow’s Tavern. In-room dining is also available. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center or swim laps in the outdoor pool. Our hotel offers 10,000 sq. ft. of event space for your business meeting or special event, from a boardroom that accommodates eight guests to a ballroom accommodating 400 guests. Conduct business or check your email in our business center, which also provides A/V equipment rental and complimentary printing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Northlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing