We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfectly fine chain hotel in buckhead”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead
Ranked #75 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
nyc
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“perfectly fine chain hotel in buckhead”
Reviewed April 20, 2011

what can i say? typical doubletree service, friendly staff, decent breakfast, good location, etc., etc. nothing out of the ordinary here. the only downside for me was that any room in the back of the hotel (one of which i had) has zero view, as there is an 8-story parking garage looming over the back of the hotel. if staying here, do yourself a favor and ask for a room in the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joesob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    330
    198
    136
    77
See reviews for
189
174
71
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

This hotel is WONDERFUL. I was completely suprised. It blows most Doubletree hotels out of the water. I had never stayed here before and was extremely pleased. It is very upscale and luxurious. The rooms were great and the beds very comfortable. I felt like I was staying at a very nice regluar Hilton or Marriott. They have a great bar and restaurant as well.The only downside is that you have to pay for parking, but you have to pay for any hotel pretty much in downtown Atlanta. It is in a great location and is near great shopping and restaurants.If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Buckhead that is nice, stay here!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocknrollchica2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, USA
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Staff was incredibly attentive from front desk to restaurant to shuttle drivers. Room was very spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachfamilyusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_DoubletreeBuckhea, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
These are very nice comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

I needed a hotel in the Buckhead area for 4 nights while attending some medical meetings.

After some research, I used an online bidding site to bid for a 3* Hotel in Buckhead and was more than pleased to be assigned to the Doubletree-Buckhead.

That was until I found out that parking was $25/day (valet) or $20/day (self). This represented an almost 40% premium on what I was paying for the room.

Being disabled, I called the hotel to see if they had accommodations for the disabled and thier vehicles. I was offered in advance of my arrival a disabled accessible room with a roll-in shower. Lots of points for that. Points lost, however, that they had no disabled parking, although they did offer a discount on the valet when I asked and which I accepted.

The hotel is in a great area-close to shopping, restaurants, a grocery store, and boutique stores. They offer a free shuttle within 3 miles of the hotel.

The lobby is exactly what one would expect from an upscale Doubletree, and my cookie was immediately given to me at check-in---in fact, a second cookie too! Moreover, cookies everyday of my stay-on request, and never a hint of displeasure from the staff.

The disabled room (204) that I was assigned overlooked the roof of the lobby and toward a parking garage, but for my stay, that was OK.

The room was large, spotlessly clean. had a desk, an armoire, an outstanding A/C unit, and a very large bathroom. A King Bed would have been better than the Queen if I had someone with me, but alone it was OK. All properly designed to accommodate a wheelchair guest. Although the 1990 27" regular TVs need to be updated!

A call to Valet about 15 minutes before each departure assured my SUV would be there (a tip each time didn't hurt). One morning, the Operator got distracted and didn't relay my request to the valet, and I had to wait 20 minutes as they were busy. A word at the front desk as this interfered with one of meetings, and an immediate offer to Comp the valet for the day was put on my bill. Very nice recovery.

I used the Business Center to write the GM a letter about the parking and that I felt they were not in compliance with GA law (Feb 25). To date, there has been no response (Mar 5).

Also, there is limited street parking across the street from the hotel (about 5 spots + 2 disabled spots), but the front desk told me there was no overnight parking although I did see people parking overnight and not being ticketed or towed. There were no signs prohibiting overnight parking either. I asked the manager to address that as well---if the information from the front desk was correct.

Most of all, the stay was well worth the cost and then some---even paying for parking. Would welcome the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank actraveler2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Stayed at the Doubletree Atlanta Buckhead for a week's vacation this
past November. Got a great rate from the Hilton website just like my
visit the previous year. Likewise the rooms and service was first rate
from the front desk staff to housekeeping as well as the restaurant and
ther shuttle drivers who were again unfailingly freindly and helpful. The
shuttle is available within a three mile radius of the hotel and is great for
trips to local restaurants and shopping at Lenox Square and Phipps Plaza the two largest malls in the Southeast (you could also walk there in about
10 to 15 minutes.

I reserved a deluxe room with sofabed, refrigerator and microwave. I
don't undestand the negative complaint of the reviewer who complained of
the size of the deluxe room. All these rooms are in the front of the hotel
and are really very spacoius, no kidding! They contain a large sofa with
coffee table, easy chiair with ottoman, large desk and armoire with clo-
sets, drawers and TV. The bathroom is admittedly not huge but for one
person should do the trick. As to the bathroom lighting, the bathrooms at
this property are equipped with energy saving lighting, Yes, they are dim
when you flick the switch but give it a couplre of minutes and they brighten
up just fine. This is a typical feature of a LEED "green" hotel - if this is not
to your taste it is not the biggest incovinience - I can think of worse. As to
the rooms which on the other side of the hotel which another writer men-
tioned, yes they are smaller than the deluxe and yes, they overlook a ga-
rage across the street. So, it would be worthwhile to spend the slightly
higher amount for the deluxe room - it is worth it. And to the reviewer who
commented about the lack of a fridge and microwave in the deluxe -
yes, they are not in the room on check-in - you need to ask for them and
they will be sent up to the room. I verified this feature before arrival and
was apprised of this. All you need to do is ask and it will be done.

The Doubletree Atlanta - Buckhead is superbly located in the Buckhead
Central Business District within easy distance from shopping (as above)
and many fine restaurants); if you don't want to walk the shuttle is avai-
lable till 10 or 11 P.M. The MARTA subway station is 1-1/2 blocks from
the front door and will take you to most places of interest in Atlanta as
well as the airport (approx. a 30 minute ride).

TIP - If you wish not to eat breakfast in the hotel ($10.95 for the full buffet)
there is a small cafe on the far side of the hotel opposite a small, pretty
park. Just walk left out the front door down the hill; at the bottom of the
hill make right and walk a few yards to the cafe (on the right - the park
to the left). This cafe serves good, inexpensive breakfast and lunch fare
(mostly sandwiches) but should fit the bill for most people. If not there
is an IHOP and other options an easy shuttle ride away.

So, while this hotel may not be the Grand Hyatt or the Ritz-Carlton, I found
the Doubletree Buckhead perfect and perfectly comfortable for my needs
and at a much more accesible price tag. If I vist Atlanta again in the future
this will be my first choice without hesitation. It is in a great location, has
great service (the staff remembered me from my last visit), and comfor-
table accomodations all of which make me feel right at home during my
entire visit.

P.S. The hotel also offers a business center with free internet access,
a ftiness center, and lunch and dinner service in the Lobby Lounge and
bar.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank intrepidtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
2 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2011

To be fair, the location is good. However, I had expected a baseline level of quality for the Doubletree in Buckhead. Our reservation was messed up even after we called from the airport because of our late arrival and to check on our earlier request for an advertised upgrade which proved to be non-existent despite their advertising. The first room they put us in had a wonderful view of dumpsters. The hot water in the sink only worked after running the shower. The light in the bathroom had to stay on for a period of time in order get bright enough to illuminate the shower area. I found myself having respiratory issues so we requested a non-feather comforter. We got two ugly, very scratchy blankets as the only available alternative. I can only hope that our flight home isn't cancelled because of the weather. I'd hate to be stuck here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaikaDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlanta hotels

Knoxville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Stayed there overnight on New Years Day to celebrate the engagement of my daughter We came from Knoxville & they came from Augusta. Have stayed at the Embassy Suites & the Westin in Buckhead before. We are HIlton Honors Diamond members. We did get free internet & breakfast for our Diamond status but they don't have Executive floors or suites. Booked two rooms. One was a deluxe which on the internet said it would have a microwave & refrigerator. Didn't get one. Asked & was under the impression they didn't have any rooms there that has a refrigerator & microwave so I don't know why you would be offered one. Also the deluxe has a couch where as a regular room has a chair. I would think the deluxe room would be a bit bigger but instead it just has a couch that makes the room look smaller. Why would you pay more for a room with a couch if it's not roomier. Just more cramped. The breakfast was average. Something you would expect to see at a cheaper hotel not the Doubletree.
I think in any other area of the city this hotel would not be disappointing but it is in Buckhead. You don't do average in Buckhead. The Embassy Suites is nicer & we have gotten rooms there cheaper. We have even stayed at the Westin for less than what we stayed at the Doubletree. It was disappointing since we were there to celebrate a special occasion.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JellyRolling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Buckhead
Courtyard Atlanta Buckhead
Courtyard Atlanta Buckhead
#83 of 171 in Atlanta
379 reviews
Buckhead
Atlanta Marriott Buckhead Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buckhead
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - Buckhead
Buckhead
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Atlanta Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead
Address: 3342 Peachtree Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30326-1024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Save with the hotel’s complimentary shuttle to locations within 3 miles of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel – Atlanta Buckhead. You'll be greeted with a warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. Select from upscale guest rooms and suites all within walking distance to dining and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Atlanta Buckhead
Doubletree Atlanta
Atlanta Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing