We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay with minor tweaks needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Whitley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Atlanta Buckhead
Ranked #13 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our stay at the Ritz Buckhead during the Final Four Championship was excellent.

The location is the tip of a triangle where the two opposite ends are formed by two excellent shopping malls of high end boutiques and large stores such as Neiman Marcus, Saks Fifth Avenue, and Nordstrom's. They are within easy walking distance as are great restaurants like New York Prime (see my recent review).

The lobby of the hotel is filled with folks wanting to help you. While we were there for the Final Four, they had lemonade of the color of each team - a nice touch. When we arrived we had Louisville Cardinal cookies waiting in our room.

The gift shop is fantastic, with a wide variety of logo wear.

We stayed on the club level. Our club level rate included internet for both our computers, unlimited garment pressing, and a spread of food the like I have never seen before. Lydia - in the club lounge - was the single best ritz employee I have ever encountered. Attentive and genuine without seeming intrusive, she was top notch in every way. One night she knew we were coming back late and had cookies waiting for us in our room.

The rooms were a little dated, but the beds were almost as good as home. The housekeeping came precisely when we asked both for the full service and the turn down service. The internet service was strong and uninterrupted.

One additional positive was that I emailed the hotel asking that our room actually be located on the club level as opposed to club level access. Not only did they honor the request, they called me in advance to let me know a specific room away from the club lounge yet still on the same floor had been reserved.

It was an excellent experience all in all.

There are a few minor issues that should be noted for improvement.

First of all, when you are asked what paper you want in the morning and you say the New York Times, you should not be told its 3.00 extra. That is beneath the Ritz Carlton brand when people are paying hundreds and hundreds of dollars a night for a room. That left a bad first impression.

Second, I was disappointed with the main concierge desk in the lobby. On one occasion they did not answer the phone. When I called back they asked if I could hold. I asked them to call me back. They never did. They gave us bad advice on taking Marta into downtown. "Marta is smarta", they said. It isn't. Then the next night I asked about a car service and they told me it would cost 1500 dollars. We found one that was perfect - round trip for 300. I interacted with them each of my 4 days. The first night (4/5) was great, the rest were a disappointment.

Finally, the fellow John is runs the porte cache is too interested in asking you questions. He must have asked me 5 questions in rapid fire when I got out of the car, What is your name, do you want the car parked, where are you driving in from, are you here for the ballgames, who are you cheering for, etc. When you drive in Atlanta traffic you don't want to deal with all that chit chat. You are interested in getting checked in and having a drink! Again, another bad first impression. When we left he gave us our car back which we paid 30 dollars a day to park and it was covered - covered - with film. Thankfully the hotel staff was made aware of it and eagerly refunded that charge.

There are lots of great hotels within just a couple blocks of the Ritz. When we go to Buckhead next, we will go back here assuming the price is similar to the other hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithAHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,328 - 1,334 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Overall facilities are nice but not better than you would expect from a Ritz. The physical property could probably use a refresh/update. What sets this property apart was the service of the entire staff. 3 weeks prior we stayed at a supposed 5 star in Turks and Caicos and they could take same serious lessons from the staff in Atlanta. Everyone was friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel if you need to rest your head in Atlanta and want great service and access to all Buckhead has to offer

Room Tip: Amex Fine hotels and resorts breakfast included means $40 credit which is not really enough to cover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banks777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were in town just for a quick night to watch the NCAA basketball tournament and were lucky to have a suite on the club level of the hotel. We arrived early, before check-in, and were told only one of the 2 rooms was ready. No problem with us being early, they put the luggage in the open room and let us enjoy the club lounge. Truly was outstanding from A to Z. The food selection was great. We had planned on going to lunch, but with the food selection, there was no reason to leave the lounge. There were choices of soft drinks and various beer, wine and champagne. We didn't even have to venture to get the drinks as the club room staff was happy to bring some to our table, and they continually checked on us to make sure we were happy and didn't need anything else. They also checked with us about our plans for the evening and gave us suggestions as to where to have dinner and how to coordinate our schedule for dinner as well as getting to the games on time. A couple of attendants went out of their way to help us. We mentioned we had hoped to grab a nap before we headed out and the attendant went to actually help the cleaning staff to make sure we could get into the other room a bit before the scheduled time to help us get in and snag that quick nap. Another attendant mentioned to us that a "chocolate" service came out a bit later in the evening. Our 10 year old really picked up on that. Unfortunately, we were not going to back in time to partake in the sevice...shh...the attendant had some chocolates waiting in our room that night when we returned, as well as a couple of glasses of wine for my husband and myself. I sure this extra service is not the norm, but we were really impressed with this nicety, especially our 10 year old. Unfortunately, we had an extremely early check out the following morning and didn't have the chance to pop in and enjoy the breakfast service, although I would have liked to have had the time to enjoy it.

Kudos once again to the service and layout off the club lounge. I have forgot to mention the beds were extremely comfortable as well.

In conclusion, we would be happy to return to this ritz on a future trip.

One aside, we have recently stayed at the Ritz in Puerto Rico, definitely NOT the same club experience. They could use some tips from the Atlanta location.

Room Tip: club lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tadr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a BEAUTIFUL hotel with a more "antique, old money vibe". Everything about the hotel is grande and luxurious. They have great customer service and always have hot apple cider/cookies in the lobby as well as provide milk and dark chocolate when they turn down your bed every night. We did the Sunday brunch which was an extravaganza. Literally everything you can imagine was available. They had a champagne bar with orange juice, peach juice, strawberries, etc. Foodwise- they had a ton of meat and seafood, caviar/oyster/shrimp cocktail bar, fresh fruit and pastries, eggs, and tons and tons of delicious desserts. The brunch is pricey but well worth it! I highly recommend staying at this hotel if you get the chance!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great stay. So well managed you think you are staying at a top quality boutique hotel it was Final Four weekend and the large number of courteous staff and highly trained staff was more than up to the task. Rooms have been nicely refreshed and are very individual rather than out of a chain model

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sidney m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the ritz at buckhead for business and I enjoyed it a lot. It's very nice, the service was excellent and the room was plush. It's what you expect from the ritz! I used the gym and it had all the essentials, the pool looked nice but didnt bring my swimsuit to do laps. Room service was expensive, orders soup and salad, nothing to rave about.
Overall a nice place to stay when on business.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annoush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed at this Ritz for 3 nights over Easter weekend. Hotel is in a good location, less than a 3 minute walk to 2 malls, a supermarket, Target and various restuarants. The hotel itself was nice but not outstanding. Would be nice to be able to place other Ritz properties at this same location. Hotel has a nice lobby, lounge area. The gym is nice by hotel standards, also has an indoor pool/hot tub that are well kept. The rooms themselves are just average in comparison to other 3 star hotels. Bed was very comfortable. The staff at the hotel was very polite and helpfull, always a plus when staying at a Ritz-Carlton property.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AU-GNV-FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Buckhead
Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Buckhead
Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 173 in Atlanta
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whitley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Atlanta Buckhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Atlanta Buckhead

Address: 3434 Peachtree Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30326-1172 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Buckhead)
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#6 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#7 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#10 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#23 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: $248 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Whitley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Atlanta Buckhead 5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitley, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Atlanta Buckhead is located in the heart of Buckhead, the city’s finest neighborhood and a global trendsetter in fashion and cuisine. Peruse the seemingly endless options at Phipps Plaza, Lenox Square, and The Shops Buckhead Atlanta. The area is also home to several countries’ consulates and such outdoor activities as hiking and kayaking. Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL) is 19 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelPower, Orbitz, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Whitley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Atlanta Buckhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Buckhead Hotel Atlanta
Ritz Carlton Buckhead
Ritz Atlanta
Ritz-Carlton Atlanta
Atlanta Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing