We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms; bad room service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlanta Marriott Century Center/Emory Area
Ranked #93 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersGold level
McKinney, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful rooms; bad room service”
Reviewed October 24, 2007

My flight was delayed due to weather and I took the MARTA to the Brookhaven station. I called the hotel at 9:15 PM to have the shuttle come and pick me up. The shuttle didnt' arrive until 9:40 PM and the hotel was only 5 minutes away.

I got all checked in and the room was really nice and clean. I ordered room service at 10:00 PM and it didn't arrive until after an hour later and 2 phone calls to the front desk. Needless to say, the food was luke warm (at best). I would however recommend the bread pudding - it was great!

I also ordered room service for breakfast, it was quicker and hot; but they forgot the ham in my omelet and gave me white bread instead of wheat. All of this was made better by the Manager comping the meal I ordered my first night.

All in all, the hotel was nice and the staff was friendly. If the problems with room service can be fixed, then this will be a really nice hotel to stay at.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank kess30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    166
    103
    34
    20
See reviews for
90
62
30
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

I am a business traveler, so I am also a member of the Marriott Rewards program for which I get treated a little bit better than the average guest. The Concierge Lounge is great; it's open all day until 10pm. Good breakfast and evening hors devours. The rooms looked like they had been recently renovated - LCD TV, granite countertops, comfy beds. Staff was friendly.

Downside - The location is not really close to anything except I-85. It's about a 15 min drive to downtown Decatur and about the same distance to Downtown & Buckhead. If you don't have a vehicle, you are Out-of-Luck.

  • Liked — nice room, friendly staff, nice gym, Concierge Lounge
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Agent429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2007

I have had several "run-ins" with the Marriott both for business when employees are in town and for leisure when I have attempted to use the hotel. This is absolutely one of the worst Marriott-branded properties I have ever seen. I am Gold Level 50+ nights in Marriotts and know what the Marriott standard is. Service is totlaly inferior. Forget about getting a wireless internet signal. It drops constantly. Noise from the hallways and from the atrium can be heard all over the hotel. This is more like a fancy Holiday Inn 2 star type property even though it has been recently renovated. To top off my most recent stay, I went to bed only to find ants crawling all in the bed on on the nightstand! The building itself is not bad but the service and overall quality of services (restaurant is like an old Howard Johnson's breakfast type restaurant and the bar is empty and not staffed 1/2 the time) is not good. This is definitely a low-class Marriott property and I would not be surprised to see a new name on the property soon.

  • Liked — Nothing stands out as being very good.
  • Disliked — The ants crawling in my bed!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLTravelsALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

Needed a nice room near Emory University for a brief one night stay. The room was clean. The bedding was updated and very comfortable.

We were accidently booked in a king room. We were changed to a double room very quickly by the Front Desk. However, the hotel was pretty full and the new room was located on the Interstate 85 side of the property. However, we did not hear anything from the highway.

The renovations are almost completed. Just a few items of note that needed to be completed in the public areas.

Ordered pizza from room service. It was a Pizza Hut pizza that was prepared in the hotel's kitchen. The pizza was delivered within the 30 minutes that was promised and it was very good.

Did not make use of the pool facilities but it was busy and looked nice. Did not eat in the restaurant.

  • Liked — Located Near Emory University and Within a Short Drive to the Buckhead Area
  • Disliked — Limited Restaurant Choices within Walking Distance
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank comxkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

The hotel was in the final stages of a renovation so it had little effect on us. The rooms were quite nice and comfy. The air conditioning was a little difficult to control but we managed. The staff was friendly and helpful. While our stay was very nice, there were a few little things that detracted from the experience or could have. The facility is right next to the interstate - make sure you get a room not facing that direction. Because it is an atrium design, it can get noisy - book a room on the higher floors. The restaurant was a real problem. The service was abysmally slow and the food was mediocre at best. Finally, I thought the price we paid for the room was high for the value. Again, the overall experience was quite pleasant, but certainly no value.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Don-in-Delaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Room was very nice; you can tell it was recently renovated. Very comfy bed and great down comforter. I like that the coffee maker is NOT in the bathroom. It's on the desk. Much better.
The bathrooms are VERY small but the orange ginger shampoo is great.
Reception was fine. Pool area very nice though they should change out the fountain for a hot tub.
Food served during the conference was excellent.
Though the open atrium is very nice, you tend to hear everything going on, and the elevator noises just echo through the whole area. I put a towel by the door gap to try to keep the outside (atrium) sounds out.
But this is where the conference was, so it was convenient.
Would I stay here again? Probably, but I'd check other options too.

  • Liked — Rooms were very nice
  • Disliked — No refrigerator in the room; no free internet access
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizlori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2007

The good: Nice room, Bath & Body Works toiletries, clean, friendly staff, nice outdoor pool space, coffee shop in lobby, nice bed linens (real pillows & comforters, not the old school scary polyester stuff).

The bad: Room service was late, wake up call was not received, Internet is not free

Vegetarian info: room service has very limited options for meals for vegetarians and were not very accommodating when asked for alternatives.

This hotel isn't in a great location for sightseeing, but I had to work down the road so it was very convenient.

I would stay at this hotel again, and would seek out Marriotts in other cities when called on to travel again based upon this experience.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Room Service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Work_Trip_Info
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buckhead
Atlanta Marriott Buckhead Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanta Marriott Century Center/Emory Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Marriott Century Center/Emory Area

Property: Atlanta Marriott Century Center/Emory Area
Address: 2000 Century Blvd NE, Atlanta, GA 30345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#75 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlanta Marriott Century Center/Emory Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlanta Marriott Century Center/Emory Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Marriott Century Hotel Atlanta
Marriott Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing