We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you expect- and that is a good thing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta
Ranked #20 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Exactly what you expect- and that is a good thing”
Reviewed January 8, 2010

This is exactly what you expect from a Ritz Carlton- great service all around- everybody in the hotel goes out of their way to help you out no matter what their job is- very nice rooms with nice views and comfortable beds. The location is right in the heart of downtown Atlanta and the bar in the hotel gets a strong crowd everyday.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bittco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    379
    172
    59
    45
See reviews for
276
435
66
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

STAYED HERE BACK IN OCT.09 FOR 6 NIGHTS. ON MY 2ND NIGHT I KILLED A BUG NOT KNOWING WHAT IT WAS. AFTER LEAVING ATLANTA ABOUT 8 DAYS I START NOTICING BUG BITES IN TRAILS,STARTING FROM MY SHOULDER TO MY FINGER TIP. AFTER SHOWING THE BUGS BITES TO COUPLE OF MY FRIENDS THEY TOLD ME IT COULD BE BED BUGS. I FREAKED OUT AND GOOGLED BED BUGS AND I COULDN'T BELIEVE THE BUG I KILLED ON MY 2ND NIGHT WAS A BED BUG. PLEASE UNDERSTAND IM NOT MAKING THIS UP. I WILL NEVER SLEEP AT ANY HOTELS UNLESS I FLIP N CHECK UNDER THE BEDS.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CY205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Love the hotel. Great Staff. We had an excellent room/suite. The beds are wonderful!

Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BelyndaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

This is a beautiful hotel but it was the service that really set them apart.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjfmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

This is an expensive hotel, which is fine, as long as its price is justified somehow. The service was just so-so: none of the great warmth and anticipation of needs that you expect from a Ritz. I had a late bite in the lounge and breakfast in the restaurant in the morning. The service was very odd - in the lounge, I wasn't waited on for quite a while (it was practically empty) and then the waitress wanted to take my order before i'd even been given a menu or drink list. In the restaurant, I ordered a coke - one waitress brought me one, minutes later another waitress appeared with another coke - this one in a gigantic heifeweizen glass. The food was fine - nothing special.

The room was fine as well, but again, not what you would expect from the Ritz. The bathroom looked like it was borrowed from a Holiday Inn and was tiny. The room itself was rather small. My window overlooked a loud chimney thing - the hotel was practically empty, you'd think they would have put me on the side of the hotel that has a pleasant view.

Fancy hotels are often the only thing that make constant business travel bearable - the Ritz really let me down.

Oh, and another thing, I am so tired of luxury hotels charging $10 a day or more for internet while everyone else gives it away for free. It's just insulting. I may be rich, but I'm not stupid.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank legalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

My husband & I went to Atlanta to watch the SEC Championship game. It was my first time leaving our 4 month old son, whom I exclusively breastfeed. Before storing pumped milk in the fridge in our room, I asked the bellman for permission. He assured me it was fine & it would be a safe place to keep the milk I pumped for my son. We had stayed the night before at another hotel in Atlanta, so I had a total of 22 ounces of milk already. We left for the game at 3pm Atlanta time. When we returned to our room following the game, we noticed the sheets had been turned down on the bed with a chocolate & weather forecast for the following day. I proceeded to pump & when I went to the fridge to put my milk away, I could not find my milk! We had also put 4 mini waters in the fridge & they were missing as well. When I called downstairs, I reached a staff member at the front desk. After telling her my problem, she transferred me to another area where I was put on hold. I had been on hold for about 5 minutes when I hung up & called back. This time I was told that the manager would contact me. When the manager called me, I explained my issue to him. He told me he would "look into" the matter & would call me back. A man then came up to the room to "run a scan" on the key slot to see who had been in our room. It showed only one key, which was the staff member who had come in for the turndown service. He assured me he would speak with the employee & would call me back. When he called back, he was stuttering, mumbling & was not speaking in a professional manner. He told me that the maid had "denied taking the milk from the fridge" & that "she said she had no reason to be in our fridge." She was exactly right...she had no reason to be in our fridge since we had just checked in only 6 hours earlier & she was in our room solely to turn down the beds. However, when you steal a diamond ring out of someone's bag, you have no reason to be in their bag, correct? I was speechless. I felt as though I was being called a liar. Then the manager stated "mam, what would you like us to do?" I wanted my milk back!!!! Not that I would feed it to my baby now, but I wanted a good explanation & an apology (the manager NEVER apologized to me). When I told him I thought our room should be taken care of, he chuckled & said "mam, I don't know that we can do that." I felt like I was not being taken seriously since this was "only breastmilk" & not something of a greater monetary value. However, if you'll ask any mother who has ever pumped an ounce of breastmilk, 22 ounces of breastmilk is quite valuable! I had spent my time & my body had produced that milk to nourish my child. Also, this was a reputable hotel which I trusted to respect my property! In the end, they only offered us 50% off of the room which we accepted, however, it did not make things right for me. I was out 22 ounces of breastmilk, plus I lost my sense of security and my night was ruined! We spoke to a 3rd manager the next morning at checkout & his response to the situation was "we train our staff to a certain degree" & "we've never had anything like this happen before " & "this employee has been here for quite some time." Again, I felt as though I was being called a liar! What happened to "the customer is always right?" We were asked by the 3rd manager to leave a business card & he would be in touch with us. A week later, we have yet to hear from him. So, in the end my first getaway since my son was born ended up being more of a stressor rather than an enjoyable weekend away.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank bamatraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2009

We stayed here the weekend before Thanksgiving for two nights. It was not crowded at all, so the service and attention to detail was even greater than normal. We upgraded to the executive level and had a corner suite. It had a full living room with its own bathroom in case someone came with us and used the pull out couch. The bedroom was very spacious with a desk and a lounge chair available. The bathroom had a seperate shower and soaking tub.
We ate at the Atlanta Grille fr breakfast one morning and I ate the french toast and my husband had the omelette. Both were great. We also at at the Mulino New York that is attached to the Ritz Carlton through a wonderful atrium. This is a very nice Italian restaurant that has great service and wonderful food. We also walked to the Hard Rock Cafe and drove to the High Museum and the Atlantic Station shopping venue during this trip. We tried to see Cacalia, but they were sold out, so get your tickets early!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseTroy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Buckhead
The Ritz-Carlton, Buckhead
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 171 in Atlanta
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buckhead
Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
W Atlanta Downtown
#58 of 171 in Atlanta
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta
Address: 181 Peachtree St NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#13 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#19 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#26 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta 5*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is downtown's premier business address and a luxurious oasis in the heart of the city. Awe-inspiring interiors create an unequaled environment for work and play. Surrounded by the state's centers of finance and government, and just minutes from the Georgia Aquarium and sports events, The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is ideally situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Ritz Carlton Atlanta
Atlanta Ritz Carlton
Ritz Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing