We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service makes up for aging building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta
Ranked #21 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Service makes up for aging building”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for a night after Delta stranded me in the city. Received upgrade to Club Level, complimentary food & bev credit.

The outside of the building is pretty ugly, and the rooms are rather small and showing their age. The restaurant/bar is solid, nothing amazing. But the top-notch service all-around makes up for it.

Reliable hotel, just don't expect anything out-of-this-world amazing. If I was spending big bucks, I'd stay at Buckhead. (Is that why they call it buckhead? dunno not from around here)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ykim917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    371
    168
    58
    45
See reviews for
264
428
65
525
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel at the beginning of August and found the service to be outstanding! I upgraded to the club level and was not disappointed with the quality of the food and the tremendous hospitality of the staff there. In truth, the property itself is nice but is on the low end of the Ritz-Carlton scale. The rooms and the building in general are very standard. If you get a good room rate this is a great place to stay but if the rates are high I would think twice :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this Ritz Carlton each year while on business in downtown Atlanta. If you're expecting a large lavish hotel like that in Naples Florida or other cities, this one is very different! The hotel is very small and the service is very personalized. I think of it as it is an upscale boutique hotel.

If you traveling solo on business like I do, it has a very cozy lobby bar where you can meet up with business clients or friends, and this location also offers coffee and pastries first thing in the morning which is very handy.

I am not a huge fan of the restaurant, and I've tried it several times. It is very expensive, and the food quality is middle-of-the-road as compared to other fine restaurants. The bar does offer a limited menu, and in a pinch I find that very handy and the menu items,soups and sandwiches are very good. The wait staff are very helpful and friendly.

I love the rooms there. The beds are super comfortable and and the rooms are impeccably clean. One interesting complaint, the bathroom sink is mounted above the counter top, which makes it difficult to lean over and use comfortably, as it is very high.
Since that was my only criticism, I return there each year when I travel to the downtown Atlanta area. Keep in mind this is not a new hotel, but more traditional and just a nice place to stay.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed here recently for 5 nights, combining business with pleasure. The service was excellent, the rooms very nice and the location was perfect for business and pleasure. Each time we entered the hotel during our August summer stay, we were provided with a cold bottled water! I highly recommend this property!

Room Tip: I wanted to stay on Club level but it was booked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetohavefun22308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
144 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent a night during a wedding event at the hotel. The service was excellent from the time that we entered the building until we entered our car to leave. Our room was comfortable, clean, and quiet. We had lunch at the Atlanta Grill. The food was good, but service was a little slow. All of the events related to the wedding, reception, and breakfast were carried out with professionalism and excellent service. All of the meal functions were excellent, as well. I would recommend this hotel to others and will definitely stay here, again.

I didn't leave the hotel to find other food venues due to the nature of my visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winetastindiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, nice lobby area, and the Atlanta Grill was a very nice venue with good food. We had a lovely corner room, and the beds are amazing! I'd stay here again as the location is great. The staff are all very attentive and will assist you with any questions at any time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
335 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I recently spent 4 nights here in conjunction with a conference. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly! I was greeted warmly each time I came back to the hotel which means a lot when you are traveling on business. I didn't use the robe in the closet, but am always glad to see one there. Getting two papers every morning was wonderful! I was especially happy to be able to pick up a NY Times Sunday edition by the elevator to enjoy at the end of the day. My bed was comfortable and the bathroom had all the requisite bath supplies, but I did notice that the towels felt a little thin and a couple I had were beginning to fray, which is not what I expect at a hotel of this reputation. My room had a wireless phone in it that had an antennae on it which reminded me of a phone I probably owned in the 1990's. The dust ruffle on my bed was frayed in several places and I noticed on my last night that the bottom sheet on the side of the bed I wasn't sleeping on had a faded stain of some sort on it. Ugh. I had a wonderful chair with ottoman for reading which I really appreciated in the evening. My room had a nice view which included the GP building across the street. I did meet friends one evening for a glass of wine in the lobby bar which is expensive ($14 for a glass of sauvignon blanc) but lovely and conducive to relaxing and talking. I love the look and feel of older hotels, but this one definitely needs a facelift soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Buckhead
The Ritz-Carlton, Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#2 of 173 in Atlanta
2,109 reviews
Ellis Hotel
#43 of 173 in Atlanta
1,350 reviews
Buckhead
Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta
Address: 181 Peachtree St NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#13 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#19 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#26 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta 5*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is downtown's premier business address and a luxurious oasis in the heart of the city. Awe-inspiring interiors create an unequaled environment for work and play. Surrounded by the state's centers of finance and government, and just minutes from the Georgia Aquarium and sports events, The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is ideally situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Ritz Carlton Atlanta
Atlanta Ritz Carlton
Ritz Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing