We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good property tough to get to on a cruising night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta
Ranked #21 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
NoCal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“good property tough to get to on a cruising night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

stayed here for two nights, walking in, an employee asked if I wanted champagne. Valet was fast, check in the same and everything was explained. Being a first time at the Ritz, up to the room, clean and elegant. Got the car out of valet fairly quickly. Bottled water at the valet stand. Upon return, I noticed you needed to use your card key to use the elevator. Funny, cause when I got to my floor, there was a young lady who did not fit the Ritz customer look who sauntered to the other end of the hall. I slipped into my room. The hallway lights was bright as it shined through the gap of the bottom of the door. Ah, a bath towel fixed that. Noticed there was no electrical outlets by the bed stand, I think mentioned in one of the reviews. Turndown service was good, replacing items that had been used. Breakfast was good and included with my rate. The second day, I spoke to Harold, the omelette station chef, very personable. Fitness center was clean with newer machines, bottled water and fruit. Only thing I would mark down, but it was not hotel related, was the traffic jam trying to get to the hotel Saturday night. Seems like everyone and their mother was cruising down Peachtree. Everything was fine with checkout and while checking my folio once I arrived home, I noticed an additional breakfast charge. I called the hotel who referred me to accounting. Cassandra from accounting said she could not look up my reservation, so I emailed her my confirmation on the spot. The next day, I received an email that the charge was reversed. Three days after that, the reverse charge was on my credit card account. Oh, did not notice that the business center was closed on the weekend, to print the boarding pass. The desk directed me to the smaller business center on the first level, did the trick. First stay at a Ritz, makes me consider staying at Ritzs on my next travels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingChumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    361
    159
    57
    43
See reviews for
256
417
63
510
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The hotel is in good shape due to recent renovations. They've gotten away from the traditional Ritz-Carlton look. The stay was very nice. The rooms were simplistic yet elegant. The staff is very knowledgable about the downtown area and local attractions. The valet and doorman are too aggressive in their greeting you. It is almost overkill. The Atlanta grille-the only hotel restaurant- isn't worth the money you pay for the worth. You are paying the for the Ritz-Brand not the food quality.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greathotelier1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was in town for business last week and stayed at the Ritz in downtown Atlanta. I was very impressed. The staff was excellent and made me feel like I was at home. When I arrived, they took my bags and handed me a beer in the lobby. How cool is that. I ordered room service twice and was impressed by the food. I was also impressed that the staff provided this great service and never acted like they wanted a tip. Most hotels you get that feeling. I was more inclined to tip because of this fantastic attitude. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The staff was wonderful and very helpful. We were welcomed right away and we hardly had to lift a finger. The room was very quiet and nice. The bed was very soft and we found ourselves sleeping about 10 hours each night which is very long for us. It was over the weekend so it was not very busy, but the price was right and we had wanted to see Atlanta. We would definitely come back again. The immediate walking area was not as nice as I had expected (lots of people looking for you to "help them out" with money), unlike downtown Chicago and New York City where we've never had problems like it. Not the hotels fault at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in the middle of the week and the hotel was not very busy. The location is in downtown Atlanta, a few blocks from the Olympic Park and next to the Peachtree center. Valet service for our car was $32/night. The room, while immaculate, was less contemporary in style. Regardless, the service is what you would expect from the Ritz-Carlton brand. The staff at the front desk remembered our names, the housekeeping was great, the valet service gave great directions to restaurants, and even the maintenance staff went out of their way to greet us. They really go the extra mile to make your stay pleasant. Aside from the style, which isn't my taste, I would have preferred access to a pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uvabrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Ok, so the Ritz is supposed to be Great , right. Not so here. I attended a networking conference in Atlanta and was quite surprised to find the rooms very expensive and outdated. First of all the building is old, not in a historical way, but in a 1970's way. Very unappealing. The rooms at a Residence Inn are larger, better appointed, and are much less expensive. Beware, the rooms at the Ritz have a stocked refrigerator, but do NOT remove anything from the refrigerator, even for a few moments unless you are intent on purchasing it, since there is a sensor which automatically charges the item to your room and you will be disputing charges when you check out. You would never know this, unless, you read all the fine print on the refrigeartor placard. Make sure you don't get charged for a bottle of water inadvertantly either. My particular room had a droning noise from an air conditioning unit in the next room which pulsed on and off all night. I reported it, but to no availl. Everything here is expensive. Breakfast was $25 for a buffet plus tip, Really ? for some scrambled eggs, coffee, toast, and some fruit. ugh. Bar just as expensive. You can eat out if you hike it across the street to the shopping mall, but to get there you have to walk about half a mile down and around a highway over a bridge, otherwise you have to run the guantlet across an enormous intersection. Not recommended. Be Careful. The staff were plentiful and courteous, but how many times do you need someone to open a door or say hello. I must say that I would have preferred to have stayed at a Residence Inn, but none were nearby. This Ritz was quite a hike from the Atlanta Airport and the cab fare which was pricey as well. Not coming back..........

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you can avoid it..............
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a long weekend to celebrate a family wedding taking place at 200 Peachtree, across the road from the hotel.
We were greeted so politely by the staff, who were fantastic throughout our stay.
The lobby is lovely, and is classy, modern and sophisticated.
My only negative is that the rooms and bathrooms are slightly outdated, and they need a bit of a refresh.
The bedding is fantastic, and after arriving there following a 16 hour flight to Atlanta, we slept really well.
The location is not my first choice in Atlanta, however due to all the wedding activities centered around downtown, it really was convenient.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 22nd floor, and the views were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marc-hirschowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Buckhead
The Ritz-Carlton, Buckhead
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
#12 of 173 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 173 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
Buckhead
Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta
Address: 181 Peachtree Street N.E, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#13 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#19 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#26 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta 5*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is downtown's premier business address and a luxurious oasis in the heart of the city. Awe-inspiring interiors create an unequaled environment for work and play. Surrounded by the state's centers of finance and government, and just minutes from the Georgia Aquarium and sports events, The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is ideally situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Ritz Carlton Atlanta
Atlanta Ritz Carlton
Ritz Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing