We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic Disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta
Ranked #20 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Epic Disappointment!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Where do I even begin? I suppose at the beginning. We valet parked and walked into a jam-packed lobby reminiscent of checking in at a Vegas Strip hotel. We waited in line to check-in. I think when you pay the kind of money you pay to stay at a Ritz Carlton there should not be check-in lines like the one we experienced. Our room was nice. We were on the Concierge Level on the 24th floor. Issues with the room: It was above a billboard that constantly changed color and the drapes could not block out the flashes of brightness throughout the night in this room. In addition, the red light on the phone would not stop blinking. The alarm clock by the bed was so bright I had to put a towel over it. Even the smoke detector had a too-bright blinking light. Very difficult to get a peaceful dark room here. Lots of hallway noise and banging. We may have been across the hall from a utility closet. And, by the way, they should know that you cannot make an old mattress comfortable by putting a feather bed on top of it. The bathrobe hanging in the bathroom looked dirty and had pen marks on it. The products provided have such a strong smell they are offensive. They retrofitted the bathroom with a raised sink that takes up all of the counter space. I did not find a blowdryer in the room.

We ordered in-room dining for an afternoon snack. I ordered a chicken quesadilla -- pretty simple, right? It was basically an empty fried tortilla. So gross.

Had a late dinner at the Atlanta Grill in the hotel. The service was terrible. No one there to greet us when we walked in. We were initially seated at a terrible table at the entrance and right in front of the band. We asked to move to a different table. No one came to get our drink order. I had to get up and speak with the hostess about the lack of service. Service throughout the meal was inattentive. At one point they comped my drink because they'd forgotten to put in my order and I had to ask again for a cocktail. This is not a cheap hotel restaurant. It's quite pricey. I was shocked at the bad service. As for the food, I had soup and salad. There was so much dressing on the salad I couldn't eat it. My boyfriend loved his seafood dish, though!

Ate at the Atlanta Grill for the breakfast included in our package. Yet again a long line to get in. Being unsure of whether I needed to give them my name I walked in, there was no hostess, when she arrived I told her we had a party of two and she was about to seat us when a guest yelled at me for jumping the line. It was so disorganized how was I to know?!? I had already asked another guest about the line and he didn't seem to know. I was so embarrassed I walked out, waited a bit and then came back in. While we waited 15 minutes to be seated other guests were asking us questions about being seated for breakfast. Terrible service yet again. Then we're seated at a table. Two servers came by and messed with the two extra place settings. No server offered us beverages. When the third server came by he asked if we were still waiting for the rest of our party. What rest of our party???? We asked for a table for two. The hostess obviously screwed it up. Probably why we had to wait 15 minutes to be seated. And why, even if we were waiting for other people which we were not, did they not offer us coffee or tea or water or anything??? The food was average.

We go to leave and are told that we cannot call ahead to have our car brought up because it's so busy. And that we should just come down with our valet ticket and wait for them to get our car.

Positives of our stay: The Concierge Level lounge was lovely. Manuela gives excellent service there. She should be running the whole hotel. Also, they have nice towels in the room.

Perhaps I had high expectations because this is a Ritz Carlton hotel. Shouldn't I have had high expectations? I would've been happier and more comfortable at a Holiday Inn Express. Never again Ritz Carlton. Never again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jgpatlantatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    380
    172
    59
    45
See reviews for
276
435
66
540
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We are members of the frequent users of this hotel chain. There were individuals on this trip who meet and exceeded the standards we expect. The driver Randy and the somolie were two. The room was that of a basic Holiday Inn and the lounge was as tacky as it could be with high backed velvet seats and glass balls lit,someone has even taken a perfectly good chrystal chandelier and wrapped screens around them in an effort to look contemporary. The meal would have been wonderful and was in many ways had it not been for one peice of under cooked foie gras that made me sick and kept me up all night. Thankfully there are two in Atlanta.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wntgrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I had a girls' night out and we stayed here after being out on the town. The room was everything you would expect from Ritz. The service was excellent. I ate breakfast at the hotel. It was very good but somewhat expensive. I'm looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hittheroader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed at the Ritz one night when in the area for business. In my experience, the service was top notch, starting with the valet parking. Although the "motor lobby" is a bit tight and congested, the valet staff did a good job of keeping things moving. The hotel lobby is not all that spacious, but it is nicely decorated. My room was very nice as you would expect from a high end hotel. An iPod docking station was on the night stand. The bed had an armanda of decorative pillows which were all neatly put aside by the turn down service before I returned from dinner. I thought the bed seemed too soft when I first sat it, however I slept wonderfully even though I like a fairly firm mattress. They also offer a complimentary (overnight) shoe shine service. I was particularly impressed by the rechargeable flashlight located in the closet. I felt they are serious about safety wanting to ensure everyone has a light if needed for a worst case evacuation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEC62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, CT
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed 3 nights for a conference at the Westin. Glad I stayed here (the Westin is a crowded behemoth of a hotel). Service was excellent, room was very good and spacious. Gym was ok, but small and limited weights. Wifi is extra. For a few bucks more than the Westin (with my corporate rate) the ritz is worth the extra $. But the food at the Atlantic Grill was just ok. Rays in the City was much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a high quiet room to stay away from the elevators. Wi fi is exta so be prepared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had a quick stay at the Ritz Carlton and it was very nice. Room was in great shape as I would expect from the Ritz Carlton. Service was very good. Business center had many workstations and was well equipped.

Only downside was breakfast buffet was a little skimpy and oddly laid out in their nice restaurant

I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwardc148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed three nights in the Ritz-Carlton in Atlanta. Overall this was a good experience. Staff was very professional, friendly and provided good service (check in/out, breakfast, room-service).

The room is like most American hotel rooms: a big room with a desk to work, decoration/furniture not very appealing (but that is a matter of taste). Bathroom practical and clean but a bit outdated.

Food quality of both room service and breakfast was good.

No slippers and no safe, to keep valuable items locked away, which I would have expected in a Ritz-Carlton.

I payed 173 USD per night which I consider a fair price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koen75koen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Buckhead
The Ritz-Carlton, Buckhead
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 171 in Atlanta
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buckhead
Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
W Atlanta Downtown
#58 of 171 in Atlanta
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta
Address: 181 Peachtree St NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#13 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#19 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#26 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta 5*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is downtown's premier business address and a luxurious oasis in the heart of the city. Awe-inspiring interiors create an unequaled environment for work and play. Surrounded by the state's centers of finance and government, and just minutes from the Georgia Aquarium and sports events, The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is ideally situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Ritz Carlton Atlanta
Atlanta Ritz Carlton
Ritz Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing