We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You’ve got to be kidding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta
Ranked #20 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“You’ve got to be kidding!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Ritz Carlton has long been regarded as a 5-star hotel chain. That rating and reputation was earned decades ago. What has Ritz done for me lately … today?
The mattress in my room had a sag in it. And, when I moved, on occasion I would hear that ‘boing’ sound of a mattress spring. Upon investigation, the mattress had a thick pad covering, incased in a plastic or cellophane. The towels appeared to be thick, but were rough and scratchy … like they had been starched. The Ritz bathrobe was thin … with the feeling of having been starched.

The main entrance to the Ritz is on Peachtree Street. The doors to that entrance are locked between 10:00 and 10:30 pm. There is no sign to inform you about the locked doors, nor as a hotel patron are you informed of the locked doors. As I was returning from some Atlanta nightlife, and couldn’t enter via the fixed or revolving doors, a passerby was kind enough to inform me that the doors were locked at night and that I had to go around the building to the automobile drive-up entrance to enter.

The hotel staff were courteous. I had a very enjoyable meal and cocktails at its restaurant (Atlanta Grill) and lounge (Lumen – Lobby Bar), which are rated separately. But, the best thing this Ritz has going for it right now is location. It has a great downtown location less than ½ block from the Peachtree Center Metro Station. Should I return, it would be because of location. This is closer to a 3- than a 5-Star joint.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beyondthebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    380
    172
    59
    45
See reviews for
276
435
66
540
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just had my second stay here and do agree that in general the property is attractive and thestaff is good. The rooms are nice and they provide HD TV. I found the beds very soft and that is uncomfortable to me. Restaurant on site was OK for breakfast and sub par for dinner.

We did have a rather vexing time with the "free car service." The person who handled this was clearly out of her depth and should not have been interacting with customers. We inquired about Buckhead and were informed that the service did not go that far. With a different inquiry we were told the car was busy handling a ride to the airport. So, Buckhead no but airport yes? This was really irritating and it happened twice. It was pretty clear that this "guest service" just was not available.

We were in town on business so this was a great location for walking. This hotel is good. But, Ritz Carlton is supposed to be great, right?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southernguy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I attended a busienss meeting recently and stayed at this hotel as a result. From the moment I checked in to check out problems occured which did not reflect the high standard the Ritz Carlton promises its guests. As a Marriott Platnum Guest I arrived at 3:15 PM for check in which at this property 3 PM is the appointed check in time to find my room was not ready. The front desk then tried to assign me another room keeping me at the front desk area for over 35 mintues! In addition to the time they asked me countless questions regarding my preferences etc which are all included in my Marriott Profile and reservation. The result was a standard room assignment on the 8th floor, keep in mind my preferences are a high floor, upgrade along with other requests but none delivered. The front desk staff recongnized my displeasure and sent a cheese plate up which was a nice touch, however this process was unacceptable. The room was standard and the housekeeping service spotty at best with no replenishment of items such as shampoo, conditioner, soap etc. Also on one of the days upon my return I found my room door with the dead bolt engaged and door open !! This security violation is totally unacceptable, and glad to report I had no items missing. I have complained to Marriott and would not recommend this property you can do much better at one of the other hotels such as the Westin Peachtree across the street! The hotel rooms need updating big time and the staff needs a course in customer relations. Major dissppointment that I won't repeat anytime soon!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel such as the Westin Peachtree!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEProfenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Yes, this hotel is a bit expensive but oh,oh so worth it! From check in to room and special ammenities, to answered questions, to hailing a cab or giving you a quick local ride, even providing me with a wheel chair to use! If you go the extra mile with the Club - it is a wonderful deal! An all around wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel was in a GREAT location! There was plenty to do within walking distance. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only complaint I have was the pillows, feather pillows; they were uncomfortable and not much help sleeping on. When we called for different pillows there were not any, the hotel was booked and all available non-feather pillows were already taken.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Have stayed in many 5 star hotels but this particular Ritz is perfect in its execution of service. Ritz himself would be very proud. Room was not spectacular but the amenities, service and staff were not lacking in any way whatsoever. Concierge and front desk staff, door staff - all well done.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

You shouldn't have to buy a suite to get a good size room. I figured club level would get me a decent room but this room is something I'd pay $175 per night! My bathroom barely fit me and I'm 5'1, 115 lbs! Much less my Hubby and I! Great service though, excellent restaurant and bar. Address not listed correctly for GPS but that's a whole other story...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Particulardvswank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Buckhead
The Ritz-Carlton, Buckhead
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 171 in Atlanta
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buckhead
Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
W Atlanta Downtown
#58 of 171 in Atlanta
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta
Address: 181 Peachtree St NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#13 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#19 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#26 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta 5*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is downtown's premier business address and a luxurious oasis in the heart of the city. Awe-inspiring interiors create an unequaled environment for work and play. Surrounded by the state's centers of finance and government, and just minutes from the Georgia Aquarium and sports events, The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is ideally situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Ritz Carlton Atlanta
Atlanta Ritz Carlton
Ritz Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing