We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead
Ranked #111 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at a Residence Inn several times, however this specific one is an older model. There are no elevators, as each room is in a different building with four rooms to a building. They are all outside and individual. Makes it tough to unload and load the car as there is not adequate parking and the rooms are spread out. It was hot and walking in the heat with our belongings and a dog was not fun. We were in a room that faced the woods and each time the door was opened mosquitos flew in. Again,not fun! We assume the room we stayed in is a designated pet room as it smelled terribly of cat pee and litter. We did not complain because we didn't arrive until after 11pm and were exhausted. it was a quick 2 day trip and after reading additional reviews on here we figured our room was the crappy one because of the pet situation.

Now, let me say that the hotel charges an ADDITIONAL NON REFUNDABLE $100 pet fee for sanitation...knowing this I expected much better quality. To top it off after we arrived home from our quick 2 night stay we discovered our pooch had fleas! We do administer a monthly flea treatment so we can only assume the fleas were from the hotel. They were so bad we were picking them off of his stomach!

Overall, the grounds were looked clean and according to other reviewers their rooms were just fine. Again, I'm thinking it was because we had a pet with us. The staff was very courteous at the front desk, never had a problem there.

We are loyal Marriott fans and are just disappointed in this particular hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room close to the lobby, otherwise you'll be stuck in the sticks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4runner03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Guest_Services, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know of your experience; as a Marriott property we are always striving to improve, and your comments will help us better serve all our guests. While we have contacted you with a direct follow-up regarding your experiences, I wanted to take a moment to make a public apology and acknowledge that your stay did not meet the expectations you had for us and the higher expectations which we set for ourselves. We take TripAdvisor reviews very seriously at our property, as we are aware that it is constant communication with our guests which will allow us to better ourselves, our product, and our service.

Thanks again,
Stacy Sprouse, Property Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    73
    46
    29
    14
See reviews for
92
28
10
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel looks good... looks like they keep up with it and remodel it. Wi-fi sucks big time--I would get kicked out of the system often and it was terribly slow.

Lorena Rodriguez, the housekeeper, used to do a wonderful job in my room. Can't say the same thing about others that got to "clean" my room though.

breakfast and dinner were great and they had wine on days they had dinner/happy hour. Great hotel if you have pets... plenty of room to walk your pet outside of the hotel.
Lots of restaurants and businesses close by... don't have to drive much in order to do or get anything needed.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CAlfaro441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Guest_Services, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Residence Inn -- we truly appreciate your business. We are also grateful that you have taken time out of your day to review our property; we view every comment as a chance to improve our hotel and its services.

Recently we have updated our wifi program, and I hope you will accept our apologies for any inconsistancy of service you experienced with it. Our cheerful tech support staff is available twenty-four hours a day to assist with any connectivity issues you might have.

Thank you for recongizing the dedication and care of one of our top housekeepers; I will be sharing your comments with Lorena and the Housekeeping Supervisor.

Again, thank you for your review! We hope you will return to us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is one of the older Residence Inns, according to the staff, built in the mid '80s. It's built on the older model, which is a series of separate "condos" that each contain about 8 suites. I like this model, as it feels like you're going back to your own private home when you go to your suite.

I stayed here for one night on a work-related trip. (I had never been to Atlanta before. It seems like a nice city. I'd like to spend some vacation time there.) The place was just renovated last year; everything seems to be in good condition. The manager's reception was nice, and the breakfast was decent. I didn't care for the scrambled eggs, but always enjoy having the make-your-own waffle.

The place has a lot of amenities for one in the middle of an urbanized area: outdoor pool, basketball court, BBQ area, fire pit, small grassy area. My only "complaint" is that everything seems to be squished into a small area. For example, the "business center" is placed inside the breakfast and evening reception area, making it hard to get real work done there. It's OK for checking email and printing boarding passes, but not much else. Also, the fitness center is only a treadmill, bike, and elliptical machine.

This is the only way to do it, however, when you're set in the midst of the city. My concern would be larger groups "taking over" the property and making it impossible for other guests to enjoy the amenities. I could see this happening at this property.

These are just simply nitpicks that explain why I gave the place 4 starts instead of 5. It was a very nice place to stay, the staff seemed nice enough. I would highly recommend it for both business and pleasure trips.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dlostyle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Guest_Services, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for your awesome review! It’s always a pleasure for us to see a review with so many great little details.

We’re glad you enjoyed the meals we serve – I agree, the waffles our delicious! Our breakfast chef Maria has also, in what we consider a stroke of culinary genius, decided to supply our guests with pecans, chocolate chips, and chocolate syrup that can be mixed into the batter to make the waffles extra special.

We like to think that our outdoor spaces make us something special in Buckhead; in addition to the amenities listed above, we also have a much larger green space towards the back of our property that serves as a wide open ‘backyard.’

In addition to recommending us to others we hope that you will come and stay with us again – and this time, with enough time to really enjoy the Southern hospitality of our great city!

Thanks so much,
Stacy Sprouse
Property Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We are staying at the Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead for an extended stay while a family member is receiving treatment at the Shepherd Center. Brahim and Ashley at the front desk could not have been more accommodating and helpful with requests that we made. The room is clean and well appointed, very comfortable for an extended stay. The free shuttle service to and from Shepherd Center is a life saver as we are from out of state and do not have a vehicle. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Guest_Services, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for such an upbeat, pleasant review! We are both pleased and honored to have Rochelle and Brahim with us, and will be passing your kind words to them right away. We are truly lucky to have some of the very best employees, always willing and ready to go above and beyond for our very special guests!

Again, thanks for the review, we really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was our third time to the Atlanta area and was by far the most enjoyable. I heartily recommend the Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead. The staff was very hospitable and informative. The location was great, in easy reach of the MATRA system and many great eating spots. We used the MATRA to attend the Braves game where they retired Chipper Jones' number. Though it was a bit more expensive than parking the efficiency and time we saved (not to mention not having to deal with all that traffic in the middle of a downpour) was totally worth it.

The Room was great. The only draw back was the sofa bed, but there is not much, short of a 12 inch memory-foam topper that would make a sofa bed comfortable to sleep on.

The rates were very affordable and with breakfast included this is a GREAT bargain and place to stay while visiting the Atlanta area!

PS. The Blue Moon Pizza and The Landmark Diner are two terrific places to eat just moments away from this location!

Room Tip: The rooms in the back, in units 8-10 are easy accessible and buffered from any street traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Guest_Services, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and providing such a great review! We’re so glad you enjoyed our location, and we agree! Being so close to the Lindbergh Center subway station does make traveling to and from major attractions easy on our guests. That was a rather rainy weekend, wasn’t it? I’m glad it didn’t keep you from having a *great* time!

Our unique set-up of private apartment-style buildings does – as you have indeed noticed! – allow us to offer our guests something that is often difficult to find in Buckhead: a quiet room sheltered from the sounds of traffic. We’re glad you enjoyed it!

Again, thank you for your glowing review, and we hope to see you back again soon! Although there won’t ever be another game like that one (we’ll all miss Chipper!), there will be other Braves games and we’ll all be here for you!

Stacy Sprouse
Property Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was a last minute booking and as a family of 6 we were looking for a suite hotel. We booked a 2 bedroom suite... unfortunately what we got was a 2 different sleeping areas! The King bed was on the same level as the sitting area and kitchenette and was open to both and the second sleeping area was up a flight of stairs in a loft. With a 3 year old, this was not what we were looking for. We asked at the front desk if they had any actual 2 bed suites and were told that they did not. They did offer to discount our rate but what we really needed was 2 separate bedrooms, without stairs, which our 3 year old promptly fell down! Had we known this at the time of booking, we would have stayed elsewhere.

The suite was nicely decorated with a full kitchen but was not particularly clean. There was a huge spider web in the kitchen which had definitely been there some time and a dirty cooktop. We returned to our suite late the first night to find that it had not been cleaned but it was too late, and we were too tired, to call the front desk.

The breakfast was fine, just what you'd expect from a breakfast buffet but it was very small and very busy.

All in all this is a reasonable property but could be a great one!

Room Tip: If you want 2 bedrooms, make sure you ask when booking if the bedrooms actually have doors! If trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonzo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Guest_Services, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us! As a Marriott hotel we appreciate every chance to be able to better serve future guests. We take service very seriously at the Residence Inn and I have personally followed up with the housekeeping supervisor to ensure that guests do not have to worry that their rooms are not cleaned to an impeccable standard. We have recently implemented a new check-list for our housekeepers to ensure that every corner, nook and cranny are checked and double-checked before rooms are released to guests.

Our spacious penthouse units do feature an open layout; some units also feature a door to close off the downstairs master bedroom and these can be provided on request at check-in based on our availability.

We are always honored when so many of our guests choose to join us for our Manager’s Social on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday nights, and we believe that their attendance is proof we have some of the heartiest, most complete free meals in the area.
I hope that you will choose to stay with us again sometime soon. Again, thank you for leaving your review. We really appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotel is pretty good. It is convenient for many places. Not much crowded. Nice parking space. I know its not fare to ask but I would have even appreciated if I would have got a free upgrade for my family (for the Suite room), which is bigger and convenient with 2 or more kids.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaypal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Guest_Services, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your four-star review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with everyone -- we agree, we're lucky enough to be very centrally located to restaurants, luxury shopping centers, and some really incredible attractions, including the History Museum, Legoland, and the High Museum of Art.

Our bi-level Penthouse suites are indeed quite popular with families with young children, and as such often sells out, particularly on holiday weekends. While we are lucky to have such uniquely spacious suites, there are not that many of them! I would strongly encourage any guests requiring the larger space ­­­­to book these rooms in advance.

Again, thank you so much for your comments, and we hope to see you back with us again soon!

Stacy Sprouse
Property Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlanta
Buckhead
Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Buckhead
Buckhead
Quality Suites Buckhead Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buckhead
Hyatt Place Atlanta/Buckhead
Buckhead
SpringHill Suites Atlanta Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead

Property: Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead
Address: 2960 Piedmont Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30305-2747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Atlanta's most vibrant neighborhood, the Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead hotel is the perfect choice for an extended stay in Atlanta, GA. We know exactly what you need for stays of one night or several weeks. Whether you're planning a short or longer visit, this Atlanta extended stay hotel provides great service, friendly staff and many amenities. Our Buckhead suites feature full kitchens, separate living room with sleeper sofa, work space and wireless high-speed Internet. Our extended stay hotel in Atlanta is just minutes from Buckhead's gracious homes, elegant shops, fine restaurants and exciting night life. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet and a 24-hour self-serve marketplace. Stay fit while traveling at our fitness center. Take advantage of our grocery shopping and dry cleaning services, which are available on-site. For small gatherings or off-site meetings, Residence Inn hotel in Atlanta is the perfect choice, with a meeting room that accommodates 35. Start planning your stay today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing