We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with one bad night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Atlanta Waverly Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #43 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia SC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with one bad night”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This hotel is a well kept property. It is comfortable and clean. The restaurants are nice but expensive (no surprise). Our first night was marred by a very wedding party that stayed up till after 5 in the morning. This was aggravated by the fact that the hotel is a very high atrium design and the noise echoed to every level. The hotel night security seemed to have little influence on the partiers. It is hard to blame the hotel for this, but they might have second thoughts about hosting a group like this again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Axsdata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    288
    73
    30
    29
See reviews for
102
111
37
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I hope this is a warning to others. I was planning to attend a convention in September in Atlanta, GA. I booked at this hotel in February earlier this year. 3 days before I was to leave for the convention, the hotel emailed me stating they could not honor my reservations, but had moved me to another of their chain hotels some miles away. This was unacceptable due to the convention being in this hotel. I called and talked to management and was told that YES, we did purposely overbook the hotel, and that YES this is Marriott company policy. I was also told I would receive a call from the hotel manager the next day. This did not happen, nor would the initial front end manager answer her phone or return any voice mails. BEWARE, a confirmation number with Marriott means nothing. I am appreciative of the early warning however, as I was able to completely cancel the trip and cut at least some of my expense losses.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cloudcrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I returned to Renaissance Atlanta Waverly Hotel for one night (business) on October 4, 2011. This is a great hotel - check-in, bell staff, front desk staff, quiet, spacious room, clean, comfortable, as well as The Atrium Cafe and Medici restaurants food and service. I would definitely stay at Renaissance Atlanta Waverly Hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank td1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a convention. It is a great hotel if you have a convention that is at the Galleria Center. Really easy to move around from Center to hotel. Right across from shopping mall and on main streets and freeways.
Likes: Check in was easy and they gave me rooms with a conjoining door that I asked for when I made the reservation in February. They also let me check in WAY early into one of my rooms that was already clean so we could unload our things. All staff was super nice. Free parking is always great. The indoor pool, fitness area, steam room, sauna and locker rooms were probably my favorite part. I loved the open lobby. Beds seemed very clean and were very comfortable. TV was large flat screen and they provided Aveda products for the toiletries. I ate at the Tosca Bar, one of three restaurants in lobby, and it was good, but kinda pricey.
Dislikes: No free wi-fi internet in rooms and I couldn't even get it to work in the lobby where it was free. Only 5 elevators- not good for VERY crowded convention. The noise, because all the rooms doors face lobby was annoying, but couldn't really be helped and I could hear when other rooms ran the water.
I had been wanting to stay at this hotel since I was a kid (from the area) and I was pretty pleased.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soeastmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I've stayed at the Renaissance before but to be honest, there are nicer hotels for about the same amount in the area. The one big advantage it has is that it often hosts conventions, and it is really nice to be IN the hotel where the convention is taking place.
Which is why we booked our room on February 7, 2011 for a convention 7 months later. We go all year, thinking everything is fine- the convention and everything paid for and ready to go- when, at 2 days before it starts, we get a letter from Jessica Roland that they've run out of rooms and they decided to move us to a hotel we don't even LIKE and will give us a 10.00 coffee coupon or some crap for our trouble IF we stop by the main desk. So we call corporate and they are like, we have your reservation number, everything is fine, we see you in the system, your room is assured. We explained to them how important it was that we be IN THE RIGHT hotel, as my husband, the ONLY DRIVER going, has had bilateral retinal detachment and cannot drive or see well to walk outside after dusk. Corporate told us that the room was there and was reserved, and that if we had been bumped, due to something really horrid, that we'd be comped if we had to stay elsewhere. Well, long story short- our trip was ruined. They stuck us in a hotel we had to stay in because everything else was sold out, and it was really a total bummer and not safe for my husband. To make it worse, they were not even nice- there were some others that got 'bumped' too and we overheard the desk telling people "yes, I know you had reservations but we had to Randomly select people to move." They weren't even NICE about it, acting like upset customers were being unreasonable to expect a room they'd reserved and maybe even paid for.
HORRIBLE.

Room Tip: Don't expect your reservations to actually work. Get a room somewhere else if you can if you kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skullaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

If you are around Atlanta for business near this location I do recommend it, but remember this is "out of the beaten path" surrounded by offices and a large mall far from Atlanta center. It is a convention center. I have used this hotel for a couple of years and it is a good business hotels. Nice large rooms, wifi, restaurants and even a small Starbucks. So it is perfect for the business traveller. I would not recommend it however for a leisure trip, unless you have too.

Front desk is mainly attentive but I have had a couple of problems in the past with their attitude, but this was more down to the individual than the hotel.

Potential issue is that the center of the hotel is a great open space with all rooms around up to the ceiling and it could be noisy when they run conferences, presentations and the like in this space, but I have never experienced late meetings. The bar downstairs is a gathering place for all conventions and you can always meet interesting people.

Room Tip: Elevators are located only in one side of the "patio", so if you get the rooms opposite th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Wonderful staff easy checkin. Concierge Karon is wonderful

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speederinred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cumberland
Wyndham Atlanta Galleria
Wyndham Atlanta Galleria
#49 of 174 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Atlanta Waverly Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Atlanta Waverly Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Renaissance Atlanta Waverly Hotel & Convention Center
Address: 2450 Galleria Pkwy SE, Atlanta, GA 30339-3130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#18 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#21 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#25 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#36 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Atlanta Waverly Hotel & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Atlanta Waverly Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Atlanta
Atlanta Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing