We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay, Good in a Pinch, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Atlanta/North Druid Hills
Ranked #101 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay, Good in a Pinch, but...”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at the Doubletree while I was in Atlanta for a craft show. It was located in Stone Mountain, so we chose this hotel based on its affordability and proximity to where we needed to be.

The staff was very nice, so no complaints there. The warm cookies were a nice touch. The lobby was recently updated and very mod. The elevators however were old as sin. They jerked around a lot and one was malfunctioning. Not cool.

I thought the hallway to leading to the room was very shabby. It was very dim. Someone had left out their room service tray; the smell of the left over food permeated the hallway. The tray was still there the next morning.

Our room was tiny--only one double. The room was awkwardly shaped and at the end of the hall; the bed was up against the bathroom wall, facing the windows. Even my mom commented on it and she's not picky. I got the distinct feeling that we were shafted because we got the room via Priceline. I've never felt that way with the dozens of Priceline hotels we've won in the past.

The walls were pretty thin. We could hear the door for the room located across from us slamming--it sounded like it was in the room. Fortunately, we were at the end of the hall so we didn't hear much after hours. The internet worked fine for low-key e-mailing, etc.

Check-out was super easy and the attendant greeted us with genuinely happy personality. That was a real plus.

We didn't use any of the other amenities. We checked for soft drinks but the machines (and the "pantry" downstairs charged $2 for a 20oz bottle). I actually went out and down the road to the gas station to get something because the prices were high and the selections slim. I was a bit put off by the neighborhood, which is no fault of the hotel. The location was right off of I-85 and was sort of seedy as a result. The gas station on the corner had an all night liquor store attached to it and the clientele looked rough. In fact, I passed the place up and went on up the road to another gas station (that wasn't much better). The area was busy and seemed to attract a "clubbing" crowd (and not the good kind). The hotel sat off the road, down a short street that led to a business park, so that area was safe. I didn't feel threatened going to and from the car.

The hotel was very busy the night we checked in. I sensed that some sort of large family reunion was going on. It seemed like there were a lot of people coming and going who may not have been staying in the hotel, which made me a bit nervous.

A few folks in the public spaces (including the bar) were not attired in the same manner that I would have been if I was hanging out in a hotel lobby, especially of one that is perceived as being more than your typical 2-star hotel. Traipsing through the lobby in your PJs/sloppy sweats just seems to be a bit much, if you ask me. Maybe down the hallway to the vending machines, but otherwise...no. It's not something I've encountered before.

From the signage, it appears that Hilton is trying to spruce up the Doubletree hotels, but they have a long way to go, especially with this hotel. I wouldn't not stay here again, but I would look at other options before I committed to it. I would most definitely not pay full price.

Room Tip: Make sure you get more than one double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldhousejunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    236
    173
    137
    126
See reviews for
272
135
89
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I needed a hotel that was close to my friends home, he has doggies am I'm allergic. This hotel fit the location bill, and my reservations were set. I was greeted with a smile, a cookie, and a mega clean room. It was large, comfy and a very nice place to stay for 6 days. Im a stickler for clean bathrooms, well really who isnt, and was very pleased with the cleanliness. The entire hotel was spotless, hallways, entryways, bathrooms in the lobby, it was all clean, clean, clean.

Every employee I had any contact with was very pleasant, kind and helpful. While waiting for my friend to come pick me up one very hot day, I was offered a free bottle of water. I used the business center to print out some tickets, and the printers were out of paper, something that was quickly remedied.

If I had any complaints at all is that the breakfast was rather limited, but I never went hungry. They dont offer lunch at all, so if your going to be there over lunch, make sure to have some thing to eat in your room. I didnt use the lounge or eat dinner at the restaurant. The elevators are slow slow slow! But really, what is our hurry? Where are we going that we feel the need to rush? So, take a breath, and relax and enjoy life, we only get one go around at this rodeo, so enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolgillygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This double Tree has the classics coming from Hilton and Double Tree. It is old but clean and comfortable. My company has a good rate here. Food is pretty good. I don't like the chicken rice soup though. Too brothy!

Room Tip: The rooms are larger with the rooms that have two Queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Was very disappointed by this hotel. No executive floor lounge and very poor wi-fi were the main problems. The location is not bad - close to Buckhead and Emory which was good for my purposes. The elevators are slow, place needs a renovation. Breakfast offered in the morning in lieu of the exec floor lounge which was OK, but not as nice as the lounge for sure. Room on the 9th floor offered limited or at times no internet as it was too high up - had to go to the lobby which was frustrating. Staff very nice, but many nice hotels just 5 minutes away in Buckhead and would stay there instead.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xiphoid76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The hotel building is not new, but they've done a lot to make it a nice experience. Our room was on the end of a hallway, which was nice as there was a big family reunion using the hotel while we were there. The front desk staff gave us water as we waited to check-in, and of course the cookies! The gym in the hotel was good - all the machines seemed to work and they provided water and towels. The coffee was really good too. Even though we had a view of the interstate, I thought this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kleverkira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

If you are a road warrior like I am, you appreciate being recognized and welcomed back with a smile! The wake up call alone is one reason to come back. "Good Morning! This is Joseph at the front desk. Rise and shine.." The wait staff in the restaurant is friendly the staff will rustle up omlettes and waffles if you don't want the buffet. There always seems to be a manager or someone to greet you and ask about your day.

The hotel is clean and rooms spacious. Nice flat screen TV's and reliable internet.

The location inside the Perimeter makes it easy to get down town or out North with a minimum of traffic hassle (this is Atlanta after all).

Near by are good restaurants in Buckhead. Room service features the DT menu and gets to your room in a timely manner and with a smile.

I love this place. It has personality.

Room Tip: I usually ask for a room away from 85.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I was somewhat worried after reading the reviews, but my stay was guide nice. The hotel has a few years on it but was clean, comfortable and the staff was great. Right off the highway and it was close to the destinations I needed to visit during my stay.

Cookies were great just wish they had onCommand or similar.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leroyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buckhead
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Atlanta/North Druid Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Atlanta/North Druid Hills

Property: Doubletree Hotel Atlanta/North Druid Hills
Address: 2061 N Druid Hills Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30329-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Doubletree Hotel Atlanta/North Druid Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Atlanta/North Druid Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Atlanta
Doubletree Atlanta
Atlanta Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing