We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
Ranked #43 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Sheraton is a typical chain hotel, decent sized rooms and very comfortable bed. Staff are very accommodating and friendly. Parking and hire cars are almost next door so you don't have to pay the extortionate (but typical) fees for valet parking. Pool area looked nice as did restaurant but we didn't use them. The best selling point for us was that it is just ideal for the downtown areas - Centenial Park, Sports venues, Peachtree Street restaurants are all just a short stroll away. Midtown a quick Metro hop or taxi ride. Martin Luther King areas, a little further but all within striking distance. Nice modern city and a good choice of hotel base for a short stay.

Room Tip: All the same basically.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scrummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for your review! We love hosting our neighbors from across the pond and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us in downtown Atlanta. It sounds like you particularly enjoyed our convenient location and comfortable guest rooms. We hope to see you again the next time you find yourself in Atlanta. Until then, safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,119)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,211 - 2,217 of 3,119 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for a night a few weekends ago. The King Bed room was great. The bed was comfortable, and the room was plenty spacious. So it's basically what you would expect out of a 3-4 star hotel. However, the pool was disgusting. It sits in the middle of the property with a retractable roof. The room is basically muggy, and while there is a small tiki bar, the ambiance was lacking. The biggest fail of this hotel was the pool water. Warm, sticky, smelly... It was like taking a bath in luke warm amonia. The staff was generally pleasant, but not outstanding. The parking garage is so far from the front room that it took about 5-10 minutes to get to our car every time we left. So if you, spend the money for valet. It is not fun to walk through the garage every time you leave. You almost get hit by cars and it takes like 10 minutes to pull your car to the actual exit of the hotel. I guess that's the price of having a hotel downtown?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We appreciate your kind feedback on our guest rooms and signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bedding. We are very surprised by your comments on our Garden Courtyard pool as most guests find this to be the highlight of their experience and one of the best features of our hotel. The retractable rood allows guests to enjoy the weather on nice days and still be able to utilize the pool area on days when it rains. We hope you decide to give us another chance in the future to give you a true Sheraton Atlanta experience. Until then, safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The hotel was good. The beds were quite comfortable. We had a lunch at one of our meetings and the food was excellent. I didn't like not being able to use internet in the room unless we paid $12.95 a day, but that seems to be the standard in big hotels these days. I didn't get to enjoy the pool, but it looked great. The service was EXCELLENT. Especially Andre at the Concierge desk. He was always helpful with the best restaurants to get some good southern food and was able to get us reservations and coupons. All staff were helpful and nice. The hotel is within walking distance to many great restaurants, pubs, Centennial Park and the Georgia Aquarium.

Room Tip: Try not to get a poolside room unless you want to be at the pool when it is open in the evening. The...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay with us over your conference, particularly our service levels. We appreciate you mentioning Andre by name as he is a superstar on our Front Office team and a true asset to our guests. We pride ourselves on having the best concierge program in Atlanta. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Only stayed 1 night at this hotel. We were working at convention center so location was not that great. We moved closer to CNN center next day. I did not have to check out more of the hotel, but my room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for your review. While we regret we were not able to host you longer, we are pleased you found our guest rooms to be clean and comfortable. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future, next time for longer! Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had some issues when we got here...the pool was closed, the phone in our room did not work. We were upgraded to another room, tv didnt work.
The staff was EXCELLENT.
A special shout out to Jerome and Paul at the Sheraton . They were unbelievably accomodation !!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review with us and please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered in your guest rooms. It sounds like our staff was able to compensate you for your inconvenience and make a lasting, memorable impression on you in the meantime. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon. Until then, safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

At this hotel internet is an additional $12.95 per day and parking is an additional $22 per day. Easy ways to get around that is to go to the lounge on the third floor and use the 2 hours of free internet there. If you are taking a timed test like I was being booted off and having to re-log in was annoying. To avoid paying the $22 fee, I parked at the Georgia-Pacific Center, for 4 days and 3 nights it was $27.00. The pool area is beautiful, it is like a tropical oasis.

Customer service was great we had to use them several times because our rooms were not quite right. The first room we (my sister and I) stayed in, something started leaking and in no time our entire floor was wet. We were moved from the 6th floor down to the first floor, at 11:30 at night. The first floor room has bad phone reception and I was unable to navigate through to the lobby without using the back of the house service elevator or walking outside then around the building to get to the lobby. My sister complained because it is not as nice down there and we were then moved to an 8th floor suite. The hotel delivered (on the house) a birthday cake and a bottle of wine, because we were staying at the Sheraton for my birthday. Nice hotel but no free internet in your room was a deal breaker for me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us. We regret to hear you were inconvenienced by our parking and Internet costs. You will find that these services are typically always accompanied by a fee at downtown properties of our size. Please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced in your guest rooms. We appreciate you accepting the suite upgrade, birthday cake and bottle of wine as a token of our condolences and appreciation for your business. We hope you managed to enjoy your birthday stay with us and hope to see you again. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The room was decent, the service could be better. The view made up for that, although a beautiful city, Atlanta is not a city to wander at night. I made that mistake thinking it was as safe as my home city of Louisville. All and all the hotel was pretty good.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reviewstrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your overall experience, but are surprised that you were not more impressed by our staff and service levels. As you can tell from the majority of our reviews, our staff is our number one most complimented attribute. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again and provide you with an even better experience. Until then, safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Downtown
Hilton Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
#89 of 172 in Atlanta
3,858 reviews
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#38 of 172 in Atlanta
3,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
#47 of 172 in Atlanta
1,095 reviews
Ellis Hotel
#45 of 172 in Atlanta
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Atlanta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Atlanta Hotel

Address: 165 Courtland St NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1750
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#15 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#15 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#18 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: $134 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Atlanta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 763
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, located in the heart of Georgia's capital city, minutes from the Georgia World Congress Center, Georgia Aquarium, Philips Arena, Centennial Park and the Georgia Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Atlanta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Atlanta
Atlanta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing