We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weirdly shaped rooms but Select Guest service nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center
Ranked #49 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Pine Brook, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Weirdly shaped rooms but Select Guest service nice”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a two night business trip. The Omni is huge but the diagonal room shape is a bit weird - the TV unit is laid out catty corner to the bed. Everything is a bit old and run down but clean. Old TV, door and drawer handles a bit loose. I joined Select Guest program and got a complimentary beverage each morning which was a nice touch. Better than the Hilton Atlanta but still not great.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weloveziti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,592
    1,607
    802
    399
    250
See reviews for
1,229
969
217
2,566
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

From the reviews below I was worried, but can't imagine where these other folks stayed because it was so different from my experience. I chose the Omni only because I was there for a conference and it was close, but would definitely return. I stayed in the North Tower-- perhaps my experience was different from other in the main tower, but I found the room to have updated facilities, quite clean, and I heard no noise from other rooms or the street. The check-in was friendly and efficient. My room wasn't ready at first, but they called when it was and when I got to my room I found 2 bottles of water and a glass with chocolates and a card apologizing for the delay-- very classy. Everyone who worked there always had a smile on their face and went out of their way to be helpful. The Wi-Fi was included with the conference rate and was fine without any issues. Check-out was also uneventful-- the best kind in my book.
The hotel is in a prime location, next door to the George World Congress (convention center), just down the street from the Phillips Arena, and a couple of blocks from the Georgia Aquarium (don't miss that even if you have to play hookey). CNN is across the street from the north tower and I believe the main part of the hotel is inside the CNN building. There are a number of restaurants within walking distance, I chose the McCormick and Schmick's on site because it was easiest.
My only complaint was the bar/lounge area where I was waiting while my room was ready had only one bartender/server and a lot of people. It seemed predictable to me that on a Sunday afternoon with a large conference group checking in that they would need more staff. Still, the service she gave was friendly-- she did the best she could with a tough situation.

Room Tip: North Tower rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stay here frequently for business, and it has always been a solid, reliable property. Rooms are clean and well maintained, staff is friendly and helpful from the front desk to the valet to housekeeping, and the location is central and convenient. The hotel is usually filled with convention-goers. There is a nice restaurant and often crowded bar on the property, Prime Meridian, plus lots of restaurant choices in the rest of the complex and within walking distance. It is also walking distance to several good attractions for tourists, such as CNN (in the same complex- you don't even have to go outside), and the Georgia Aquarium (just across Centennial Olympic Park). Room rates are reasonable, but overnight parking is expensive ($30/night as of this writing, and valet only, so factor in tips every time you get your car). Based on the great service, decent rooms, and central location, I will continue to stay here anytime I"m in town for business.

Room Tip: There are two towers, the North and South. The North Tower is newer with more recently renovated, mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reilly_Peanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in close proximity to the CNN Center, Georgia Dome, Georgia Aquarium, and other destinations. Service was attentive, the rooms was very nice, spacious and clean, and I could walk the short distance to the Aquarium where I was attending a business conference. Free Wifi for select club members.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night as a part of our 36th anniversary celebration after going to a concert at Symphony Hall. We splurged an got corner room of North Tower overlooking Centennial Park and the Atlanta skyline. Clean, nice rooms.
Overnight valet parking VERY expensive. Good place for special occasion.



  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
1,311 reviews
444 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 627 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I had stayed at this hotel a few years ago and had a good experience, so I was looking forward to my return. Unfortunately, since my list visit, the hotel's quality has slipped.

My service experience was excellent. Check-in was welcoming and very fast. I ordered room service on the first night of my stay, after a fairly late arrival, and it arrived quickly (~20 min.), was hot, and tasted good; the person who delivered it was also very nice. The hotel has the typically appealing features of Omni's "SelectGuest" program: an item pressed for free and (my favorite) morning coffee delivered to your door. Check-out was similarly efficient and polite. So, I have no complaints whatsoever about the hotel's staff--each interaction was excellent.

Where the hotel fell short was in the quality of the room. My room was in the main tower (the South Tower). It appears the rooms have not been renovated in several years, and they badly need renovation. The style is outdated. The carpet is drab and in need of replacement. The desk chair (which was a hard wooden chair, not an office chair) was terrible--it had faded fabric and had lost support in the cushion so badly I had to set on a pillow for decent support. The wallpaper was faded and starting to peel at the seams. The television was an old box-style set with grainy pictures; it was housed in a huge, old-style armoire with swing out doors. There was a shortage of plugs. I also found the room's layout a bit odd--the beds are on angles and there is a lot of wasted space in how the room was configured.

With a substantial renovation, this hotel could be great (again), but it's past due for an overhaul.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very disappointed in the cleanliness of the room (Room 720 in South Tower). Wall cracks, holes around sprinkler in ceiling, makeup and maybe blood stains on wall in bathroom. No light in shower. Awkward bathroom setup. Loud rooms, uncomfortable beds, no fitted sheet used so mattress was exposed. TV's are old and stations were fuzzy. Limited tv stations. Would not stay here again unless I had to. Went to spa but no one was there. Front desk seemed surprised. Fitness center was advertised and newly remodeled state of the art. It was a basic small hotel fitness center that is too small to accommodate the number of guest rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planner_010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Downtown
Hilton Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
#89 of 171 in Atlanta
3,806 reviews
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#43 of 171 in Atlanta
3,094 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#38 of 171 in Atlanta
3,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center

Property: Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center
Address: 100 CNN Center, Atlanta, GA 30303-2762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#21 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#24 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#26 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#27 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1067
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel At Cnn Atlanta
Omni Hotel Cnn Center
Omni Atlanta
Omni Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing