We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here ONLY if you're going for a convention”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
Ranked #38 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Stay here ONLY if you're going for a convention”
Reviewed August 2, 2010

My wife and I stayed in Atlanta over a long weekend and got the Hyatt for $70 / night via priceline. I wouldn't pay more than that.

When I was in the lobby, I went to the 24 hour market and was immediately hit up by someone in the market for money. THIS WAS IN THE HOTEL!!!

Downtown Atlanta is HORRIBLE for the regular traveler. I now understand why it is that the Hyatt, Marriott, Hilton, Westin, are targets of the homeless. It's because these hotels host conventions, and with conventions, there are new suckers walking in the door every week.

Unless you MUST stay in one of these locations for a convention, then I understand, but if you are there on leisure, then if you're going to bid, bid low, and if you are going to stay there, anticipate that everyone who speaks to you......is a CON.

The streets at night are desolate and there are no good restaurants in the area other than Morton's. There aren't any bars and the only nightlife is the pimps, hookers, and drug addicts walking the street for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank defore4735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,674
    1,186
    559
    252
    147
See reviews for
433
489
195
2,275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2010

The Hyatt Regency Atlanta was fantastic! Upon entry our children were in awe of the "Willy Wonka" glass elevators in the grand atrium. We often stay at The Ritz Carlton, so our kids can be tough critics when it comes to hotel stays. This hotel passed the test! We booked two connecting rooms at a great on-line rate and received more than our money's worth! We stayed in two beautiful, comfortably furnished, spacious rooms with balconies for two nights in the International Tower. Our corner king with floor to ceiling windows on two walls was connected to a room with two double beds. There was plenty of space for our family of five to spread out and enjoy our mini-vacation in Atlanta. Both rooms were modern, clean and had complimentary mini fridges, coffee makers, coffee and Tazo teas. We enjoyed "The Regency Club" which provided breakfast in the morning including cereals, pastries, fresh fruit, smoked salmon, fruit tarts, pecan pie and other tasty items. The evening hors d'oeuvres included stuffed mushroom caps, sauteed & fresh vegetables, fresh & dried fruit, prosciutto, savory pastries, cucumber finger sandwiches and other delights which pleased all of our family members and was more than enough to serve as dinner one night! Throughout the day hot & cold beverages and snacks, such as trail mix, were available, which was a great plus when traveling with kids who needed a quick, convenient pick me up! The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating (Davonne was especially delightful before & during our trip) and we loved the 2PM check-out afforded to us because we were Hyatt Gold members. The parking was steep at $27/night and a tip with every entry/exit, but well worth the cost to know our vehicle was safe and for staying at such a great property at such a great rate. We didn't have any street noise from our rooms, but could hear the elevator "ding" when lying in bed at night. However, turning up the A/C fan quickly concealed the nuisance and gave us the "white noise" we needed for a pleasant night's sleep. The room was so large and appropriately situated to our connecting room that we could easily watch TV at night without disturbing our children. Our weekend was so action packed with the zoo, aquarium, American Girl Store and visits with friends that we never made it to the pool or the fitness center. So, unfortunately, I can't report on those. While the TV did offer a parental lock to prevent viewing of adult programming when activated, it didn't offer any children's programming such as The Disney Channel or Nick. So, our kids had a TV free weekend, which was actually a good change. I would absolutely recommend this hotel without hesitation and urge anyone traveling with kids to upgrade to The Regency Club. I honestly don't understand the less than stellar reviews given to this hotel by other travelers. We had a great time at The Hyatt Regency Atlanta and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamaontherun3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

It was okay for one night. Pros: Less than one mile from the Fox Theater, got a good price with AAA discount. Cons: floor had not been vacuumed, additional room tax was added at checkout, which was not mentioned in my online reservation with the other taxes.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S4024I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

The Hyatt Regency in Downtown Atlanta provided a comfortable stay for us (2 adults and a one year old).
It's really close to major attractions - the Georgia Aquarium (incredible and a must-see while in Atlanta but be sure to book online in advance to avoid queues), Coca-cola world, museums and shops. As such it is in quite a noisy area and the windows didn't do much to muffle the sirens, car alarms, people shouting etc at 3am... ear plugs provided an easy remedy for this.
The staff were friendly and obliging and the room was spotless.
It is expensive, $27/day parking & breakfast is not provided, but the proximity to attractions makes it a good investment for short term stays where you don't want to do a lot of traveling to see things.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Oiledhingessis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Very nice hotel and everyone that worked there was exceptional. As far as the 27.00 parking it was OK for us, but then again we only stayed one night. Pool OK , Walking distance to the attraction grat

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ustravelerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2010

I read reviews about this hotel...some good, more bad. Hotel was not horrible, but could have been better. Thank goodness for the discounted rate I received booking through Resorts Plus International or I might not have stayed here. Upon arrival, staff were nice and lobby seemed clean. Rooms could use some sprucing though.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustBnFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

I stayed here because of a conference i was attending at the hotel. The lobby area, conference rooms, gym and staff were all very nice but the room itself needed work. I stayed in the main part of the hotel, I say this because there are apparently two other "towers" of the hotel that have been remodeled. My room was spacious but it smelled like a wet dog (yes, that really is the best way to describe the odor). The bed wasn't very comfortable, the bathroom was small and the sink was so low to the ground that at first i thought i was in a handicapped room (I wasn't). The toilet paper dispenser was also very low to the ground and as a result, the paper touched the floor. After two nights, I decided to check out and moved to the Marriott Marquis across the street.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agent429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#40 of 173 in Atlanta
3,072 reviews
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
#47 of 173 in Atlanta
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
#92 of 173 in Atlanta
3,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Atlanta

Property: Hyatt Regency Atlanta
Address: 265 Peachtree St NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#16 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#18 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#34 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 1260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Peachtree Street and the heart of downtown Atlanta, Hyatt Regency Atlanta is the premier meeting and convention hotel. The 22-story atrium is an architectural "first" that revolutionize hotel design worldwide! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing